11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

With more natural pectin (it's in the apples), this jells faster than plain jellied cranberry sauce. The apples also add sweetness, so it takes less sugar. Cranberries are sold in 12-oz bags these days. I use 2 apples, 2 c sugar, and 1 c water with a 12 ounces of cranberries.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ccferne December 22, 2011

Loved this cranberry relish. The addition of apples really sets it above the rest. I'm glad it is a smooth sauce too after sieving. Big hit at our Thanksgiving table this year! Thanks for sharing your family recipe with the rest of us! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom November 27, 2010

Very good, this was a big hit on Thanksgiving, everyone loved it. The apples add a nice texture and sweetness. I also like that it is strained through a sieve to remove the peel. I will use this recipe from now on!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chipfo November 27, 2009

Delicious! It's cranberry applesauce! But thicker than applesauce. I like jellied cranberry sauce, so this is perfect for me. I added a cinnamon stick to the cooking fruit, which gave a nice subtle spicy to the finished product. After cooking, I processed the fruit in my food mill just like I do when making applesauce, which worked great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn November 26, 2012

This was the first time I made cranberry sauce and everyone loved it! It was very easy and the color was beautiful. These were the adjustments I made to the recipe: 12 oz. bag of cranberries, 2 apples, 1 cup water- used a food mill to strain which worked beautifully; added 1 1/2 cups sugar (300 g)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aviva November 23, 2012

Stuck to the recipe with the exception of the sugar. Cut it in half as I found 3 cups sounded like a lot! I had trouble with the sieve. The mixture was too thick and/or the holes in the sieve were too fine. I ended up separating the Granny Smith peel but keeping the cranberry peels, as these last were quite cooked and difficult to discern. I did love the recipe. It turned out fine, and others really enjoyed it too. Took it to a Thanksgiving potluck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiger's Paw November 28, 2011

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha November 23, 2009

This is great! I am not a huge cranberry sauce fan, but I really did enjoy this. I am making it again for Thanksgiving and I am sure that my family members will be asking for the recipe. I enjoy the combination of apples and cranberries in this and it's oh so easy to make! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 November 25, 2008

I haven't served jelled cranberry sauce for a long, long time, but this might just make me rethink that! At the very least, this is a tasty sauce is a great substitute for when a can of jelled sauce is required ~ Much more taste to this! This IS VERY NICE over cottage cheese as well as frozen yogurt! Thanks for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 01, 2008

Super easy and very tasty - I used a 12 oz bag of cranberries, 2 apples, 1 1/12 cups of water and 2 cups of sugar and it was great. Thanks to you and Grandma for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. February 10, 2008
Grandma's Cranberry Sauce