Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Clam Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Clam Dip

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2008

      Oh happy day, my childhood is back! As a native of Maine, clam dip was a staple at ANY party/picnic/bbq. Now I live in the Midwest, and even seeing a clam in a supermarket is a rarity. This dip is "wicked good!" My ONLY suggestion is to add a bit of mayonnaise. The cream cheese only version is a bit too dense for my liking. If you are used to a typical "ranch" or "french onion" style dip, I highly suggest adding a tablespoon or two of good ol' mayo. Also, I too was not sure if I was supposed to add the clam juice from the can. I added 2 or 3 tablespoons, and I think this turned out perfect. Note- The clam taste does take a few hours to blend with the cream cheese, just give it time. When in doubt, save the clam juice and add more if need be. The man of the house never tried clam dip before, claims he hates clams, but LOVED this dip. A MUST for anyone! You will definitely be the hero of any potluck gathering! ***** 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I thought this was very very good. But, the issue with the can of clam and not knowing how much juice to keep was a problem. I ended up draining half the juice and it was about right. I really would have rated it 5 stars but I hate guessing. Also, added an extra dash of tobasco sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      This versatile dip is excellent with potato chips (as suggested), but is equally delicious as a spread on a cracker or a spread for a bagel. Next time, I'll probably add more clams, worcestershire, and hot sauce, because we love really zingy, zesty flavors, but this is a delicious dip as is, and is perfect for football season parties and even summer potlucks. Excellent recipe, Kirstin!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      This is a really tasty dip recipe, but the simplicity of it is what impressed me the most. Super-easy to prepare, and very few ingredients. I too added the fresh garlic, about 3 cloves, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. We snacked on this with some Ruffles, and it was really great, we just couldn't quit munching! Thanks for a real keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      My first attempt at making clam dip and and what could be simplier.We were having appies while watching the game and I mixed this up about 2 hours before serving. I did add 2 gloves of minced fresh garlic and 1 tbs parsley for color. This is a great dip! Much better than any I have tried. Will be making this often during football season. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2002

      I love Clam Dips! This is a great clam dip recipe. I was extreemly delighted to find a clam dip recipe with taste. The flavors really seem to compliment each other. I did add the "dash" of Tabasco sauce, which was optional. It was much better then I could have bought ready made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Probably one of the quickest clam dips to make. I used fresh garlic in place of powder. I blended everything before adding the chopped clams because I wanted clam chunks in the dip. I reserved about 2 tbsp of the clam juice and added it to the dip (the recipe does not indicate if clams should be drained or not). I think I would increase the other ingredients to be more than a "dash." Overall, its good and quick. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      A simpler version is:
      2 cans of chopped clams, drained and save the joice
      1 8 oz package of cream cheese - warmed for 40-45 seconds in microwave
      Worcestershire sauce to taste

      Drain the juice from the clams into a container.

      Place cream cheese in a bowl and mocrowave
      Mix the clams and the cream cheese
      Add a small amount of clam juice and Worcestershire sauce to tatse

      Serve with wavy lays potato chips.

      Simple, fast and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      This is the first time I ever made clam dip and it came out soo good. Thanks to the other reviewers for doing all the trial and error. I added in the 2tbsp of sour cream and clam juice and I let it sit for a few hours and boy was it tasty. Will definitely do it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      This stuff is SO GOOD! I used chopped fresh garlic, an additional two tbs of sour cream, about two tsp creamed horseradish, and added (the suggested, in the reviews) two tbs of reserved clam juice. i had to (unfortunately!) wait to give it a whirl until the next day, but BOY, did those flavors meld! the spice, even with both the hot sauce and horseradish, was hard to detect. I served with it townhouse crackers, but I would LOVE to try this with ruffles! I'm not sure where my random craving for clam dip came from, i AM sure that I'm glad that I found this recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

    • on October 04, 2009

      This is great dip or spread...i also use it on english muffins ,,spread on muffins and broil until brown.Great durring lent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I made some up and ate it with some chips while watching TV. Delicious dip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This is good. I had never had clam dip and we really liked it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This was very good. I used neufchatel cheese, 1 clove of real garlic and 2 tablespoons of sour cream. I drained the clams and added back enough juice (about 2 tablespoons) until I got the right consistency. I let it chill for 3 hours for the flavors to mix. I served with ruffles potato chips. Everyone loved the dip and I will make it again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      The family loved this dip. Made exactly as recipes reads, and served over Cocktail Sauce (Shrimp) Cocktail Sauce with Ritz crackers. It was all devoured within 30 minutes. I know DH will be requesting this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Brought this to my last get-together and it went over really well. I couldn't figure out if I should drain the clams first, and I added all the juice too and it was too runny, so I added 4 oz. more of cream cheese and another can of clams. I would drain the clams next time and definitely use minced like another reviewer suggested, the chopped ones are just too large. Great flavor overall.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      Addicting dip! You can taste the clams, but it is not overpowering. We served it with Baked Ruffles and used a good amount (20+ dashes) of Tabasco and it was not spicy, just flavorful. If you are bored with basic ranch dips, this dip is for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I have been making this for many years.I usually double the recipie and add additional clams also I use minced garlic and several dashes of hot sauce. Everyone asks for it at all the gatherings I go to . A delicious easy and economical dip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      I'm not sure if this is the exact duplicate of my grandma's, but if not it's pretty darn close. My mom makes this for every family gathering since I was a kid. It's so amazingly yummy! You definitely need good ol' fashioned salty potato chips for this. UTZ are my favorite, but Ruffles or Lays would be a great choice, too! ~ Update...I checked with my mom, and this is virtually the exact recipe of my grandmother's. I made it last weekend for a bbq with people who had never tried it and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Clam Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.5
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    69%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 84.9 mg
    28%
    Sodium 633.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 14.3 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites