Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Cinnamon Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Cinnamon Rolls

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2009

      I have a feeling this really is Grandma's recipe written down for someone who had made the rolls with Grandma. Like a "reminder" recipe. It left out a few things for us that hadn't made these before. It's o.k. because I used the internet and Zaar to reference other cinnamon roll recipes. First, I warmed my water for the yeast to 110 degrees F (just a few seconds in the microwave and then stuck my kitchen thermometer to check the temp). Next, the recipe has baking soda in the ingredient list but does not say where to add it and so I left that out, it was really not needed. Also, it says to add salt in the directions but no salt is in the ingredient list so I found that this amount of flour in other recipes took 1 tsp salt so I added that much. I used King Arthur all-purpose flour, Red Star yeast, and double strength vanilla. For the cinnamon filling, I used the same amounts of cinnamon and butter here but I mixed 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar instead of all brown sugar. Used a serrated knife to cut the rolls and it worked great!! I let these rise for 1 hour and 25 minutes in a warm place and I baked them for 25 minutes. I love the icing with the evaporated milk, so creamy!! I am glad I took the time to make these even with the extra research because the sour cream really makes them moist and gooey!!!! I will definitely make these rolls again!!!! Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      Some problems with the recipe, but reading other comment helped me to figure out that I needed to substitute salt for the baking soda, and brush the tops with melted butter. I also proofed the dough before rolling it out. These were tasty and they stayed moist, but I wouldn't say they were amazing. I would make them again, however, with modifications (more or different filling, for one thing).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      I love this recipe! I have tried so many different cinnamon bun recipes and this one is definitely my favorite. The sour cream definitely makes them very moist. For some reason, I usually let cinnamon buns do a double rise - once after the dough is combined and then once again after I've rolled and cut them. This may just be habit from making other yeast doughs (buns, pizza crust, etc) but I do find I get the most volume from the dough this way.

      I usually just make a light glaze to go over them, but if I really want a treat, I'll whip up a light cream cheese icing...

      Thank you SOOO much for this recipe, it's staying in my repertoire for sure!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Mmm these sure were tasty! I messed up the rolling up... the dough was a bit too thick and it wasnt long enough to get as many layers of cinnamon and sugar as in the photo. Also, I halved it and made 6 in an 8x8 pan, but they wern't big enough to touch eachother so the seam popped open for half of them, making them a bit less bun-like unfortunatly. I'm not sure how to fix this... smaller pan maybe? But they were tasty and enjoyed. 1/2 the glaze sufficed for us. Also, I used fat-free sour cream and the dough still came together great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      These were a great way to start a day! I made them for Thanksgiving morning and everyone in my family loved them, they're very moist. I used light sour cream and they were fine. I think I'll experiment with different frostings and glazes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Mmm :) This was my first attempt at cinnamon rolls, and they came out great! It's soft and cinnamony, and smells absolutely divine. Thanks Cullinaryjudge for a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      I really love the dough-light and fluffy. The recipe isn’t the easiest to follow but worth making. I baked at 350 for 16 minutes until they were just golden, used 1/2 reg. and 1/2 bread flour, which gave it wonderful texture. I also added ½ tablespoon more cinnamon as suggested. These cinnamon rolls are quick, easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      this recipe is not very clear in some areas but I just took the best cinnamon rolls ive ever made out of the oven,I think the sour cream made them extra moist.yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      This is a moist and tender cinnamon roll. I doubled the ingredients and made two batches, one for cinnamon rolls, one caramel rolls. I didn't see where to add the soda or salt so left them out but it didn't seem to make a difference...these were still delish. I think I will replace my old stand-by with this sour cream recipe. I did allow a first rise in a greased bowl, then formed the rolls, let rise again for about 1/2 an hour and baked at 360 degrees until just starting to brown on top...didn't want to over bake because we like them slightly "gooey". The flavor is wonderful. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      I am getting the hang of this recipe, and enjoying my alterations. This time I subbed 1 c of ww flour, and raw cane sugar for the brown sugar. I'm starting to see that I need 1/4 more flour to start with, that the baking soda should read "salt", and that it takes about 30 minutes at 350 to get these "lightly browned", i.e. "done". Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      Thank you so much for this recipe. I was looking last night for a cinnamon rolls recipe last night. I have one but do not like the way they always turn out. So I came on here and found your recipe and decided to give them a try. These are FANTASTIC!!!! At first I was a little leary to try them because of the sour cream, but omg!! They are sooooo moist. My husband came home from work last night and I gave him one and he just loved them!! Thanks so much for the awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      I've used this recipe for a year now and my husband just loves these rolls! I use the cinnamon Plus Baking Spice - Copycat Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus Mix and the cinnamon bun icing Cinnamon Bun Icing -both excellent. Recently ran out of reg. flour and used 1/2 reg. and 1/2 bread flour. The texture was even better and I now use this each time. I also sprinkle the sugar/cinnamon mixture on top of rolls while they are rising. Gail Lawton

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      Definately a winner! I could not see where to add the baking soda, so I didn't. Per other suggestions, I added raisins along with the brown sugar and cinnamon, than buttered the tops of the sliced rolls in the baking pan. I was afraid that the brown sugar would make the rolls carmely, but it was wonderful. They really were still moist the second day, but there wasn't much left to test that on. We drizzled on the icing, not using all of it. .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      These are nothing but dry, they stay really moist, even after the second or third day. Try adding dried cranberries before rolling up, or add some maple flavoring to the glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      I added raisins and pecans to the dough, and use cream cheese icing instead of the glaze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      The rolls were a bit dry on top. You may want to brush the dough with butter. Raisins were a good addition because these rolls are not that sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      We have made these so many times, that people have asked us to open up a bakery. They are fantastic because of the sour cream. The only thing we did was substitute salt for the baking soda and increase the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tablespoons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      These were awesome!! Very good flavor and texture!! Will make these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Cinnamon Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.6
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    24%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 15.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 62.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 13.2 g
    52%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites