Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Chocolate Fudge Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Chocolate Fudge Frosting

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2007

      This is by far the best chocolate frosting I've ever made! So simple and sooo good! ETA: I just wanted to come back and say that this makes the perfect amount of frosting for 2 13x9 pans of brownies. I used half and put the rest into the fridge. When my brownies came out of the oven I microwaved the frosting for 15 seconds, stirred and it was the perfect consistency to pour/spread over the hot brownies. It sets up nicely once it cools.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      i decided to use peanut butter chips instead of chocolate and it came out superb!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      I've never made frosting before and had no trouble at all whipping this up very quickly. It's really sweet which is fine by me! I frosted a banana cake with it (delish!). I am going to use this for brownies in the future because it has that fudgy texture which would go great on brownies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      Excellent frosting recipe and SO easy! I used this to frost a 13 x 9 cake and it was the perfect amount. Very fudgy and not grainy at all, like some frostings made with granulated sugar. Thanks for sharing! Adding 12/14/07: I now use this frosting on the brownies I sell at our ice cream parlor. Everyone LOVES the frosting, which sets up like fudge. A guy came in last night and bought a brownie. 5 minutes later he came in and bought another because he said he never had a brownie so good in his life. I KNOW it's the frosting that makes people react this way, as the brownies are from a box mix!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Wonderful, Creamy & so EASY! Made this exactly as recipe said. Frosted a warm 13 x 9 Chocolate Cake. Perfect, no need to change a thing. Thanks for sharing homegirl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      This is a great recipe! I caution those of you having issues to remember two things in the directions. Stir CONSTANTLY and REMOVE from heat. I changed it up a bit with Kahlua and it was awesome! The sugar grains are generally pieces of sugar that stuck to the side of the pan or the bottom of the pan being too hot when the chocolate chips went down. Thanks again for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      This is the worst chocolate "frosting" I've ever made. This came out more like a poured ganache than a real frosting. I've been making my own frosting from scratch my whole life and I wish I never tried this recipe! I followed it exactly, too, and it wasn't "frosting" at all. Major disappointment and a waste of ingredients. I couldn't use this and I had to throw it out. I don't recommend making this! I don't know why this has so many positive reviews...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      I am in LOVE with this frosting! It's so fudgy, it tastes almost like brownie batter. Whipping it at the end was a bit of a workout; I think next time I'll let my mixer do that part for me. But the rest of the process was super easy, and this is by far the best chocolate frosting I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      I didn't have any chocolate chips, so I just used cocoa powder and some vanilla essence, it turned out really nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      I really didn't like this frosting. It came out really wet and oily, did not frost well at all. I thought it tasted way too sweet, you could feel the sugar grains in your mouth. Big disappointment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

    • on September 06, 2011

      This icing is fantastic! So easy to make and goes great with chocolate cake. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      I made a yellow cake from scratch and thought I would try this icing.It turned out great and I was asked for the recipe from a 70 yr. old grandma,now thats impressive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      My son Joel helped me make this. "It is excellent," he says. Daddy says it reminds him of the icing a local bakery uses on their chocolate-covered doughnuts. The first time I made it, I used Fleischman's margarine, and it turned out so perfectly creamy that I got a little snooty about reviewers who had trouble, thinking myself to be a most talented cook. The second time, I used a store-brand butter. It took awhile after adding the chocolate chips to thicken -- in fact, it never reached the thickness of my first batch. I finally poured it on the cake anyway, and we guarantee the flavor was not affected in any way! Perhaps the brand or kind of margarine or butter can affect the consistency of the frosting? I used Tollhouse semi-sweet morsels both times. Do not let our disclaimer color your enthusiasm for testing this great recipe yourself. It's wildly delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I just made this to top a box yellow cake and it is so so so good! My husband has been begging me to make him a cake with chocolate frosting and I've been putting it off because I'm not a big fan of frosting but I found this recipe and decided to give it a try and it blew us both away! Absolutely delicious! I didn't have a full cup of semi-sweet chips left so I used half semi-sweet and half milk chocolate and it worked great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Very Good. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      So good! Could easily be eaten alone as fudge (as I have actually done...) and perfect on anything you use frosting on, cake, brownies, anything! Made enough to frost 20 cupcakes with a shot of frosting left over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Super easy and super good! Used to frost a pan of brownies. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I don't know what I did wrong, but my frosting turned into a brick. I boiled the mixture and then added the chocolate chip. I stirred and stirred, but the mixture would not get smooth and the butter separated from the mix and floated on top. After about five minutes of stirring I finally gave up, poured off the floating butter, and dumped the half solid mess into a pan. It hardened into a brick within minutes. But even with all the problems it was still very tasty, tasty enough to served to my guests. Everyone got a kick out of my "frosting fudge".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      frosting was smooth and set wonderfully- but the flavor was just melted toll house chocolate chips- which left something to be desired for me-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Chocolate Fudge Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (520 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2141.4
     
    Calories from Fat 998
    46%
    Total Fat 110.9 g
    170%
    Saturated Fat 68.1 g
    340%
    Cholesterol 164.0 mg
    54%
    Sodium 567.2 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 311.1 g
    103%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 291.2 g
    1164%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites