23 Reviews

This was very, very good. Made a couple changes to make it healthier: -3 lbs boneless skinless thighs -instead of bouillon cubes, low sodium chicken broth as a base -for dumplings, 1 cup wheat flour, 1 cup whithe flour also, because I do not like cream of mushroom soup, I subbed a can of cream of celery soup instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahechavez January 27, 2008

I came across this recipe while I was preparing my own chicken and dumplings to see what other ideas I could find. The cream of chicken and mushroom soup was just what I needed to make mine better, Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smokey54 October 27, 2007

I was hunting for a dumpling recipe to go with Treo Pheasant Stew and came across this one. Everyone seems to love these dumplings and so did we. Next time I will try the soup too. Thanks, Margo59 for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas April 02, 2007

LOVED THE DUMPLINGS!!! So 5 stars, but the soup, I didn't care for the cloves or bay leaf flavor, so I will leave those out next time and add a little poultry seasoning. so 4 stars for the soup. Will make the dumplings often. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookalot #2 January 20, 2007

This soup was fabulous. What a wonderful find. Probably the best soup I have ever made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeidreJane January 09, 2007

This was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly except I left off the peas. My husband is not crazy about them. Next time (and there WILL be a next time!) I will leave out the potatoes as well, but otherwise this is the best homemade chicken soup I've ever had! *Update 12/11/06: I've made this several times since my initial review, and I have a couple of comments to add - first, this makes a LOT of dumplings. Not a problem for me, but mine always turns out more like a stew because the amount of dumplings soaks up most of the broth. Second, I've tried a couple of times to halve this recipe and though the proportions are correct, for some reason halving it doesn't seem to work very well. But make the whole thing - the leftovers are just as amazing as the soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL December 11, 2006

Simply the greatest!Comfort food at it's best. This is just what the doctor ordered.My chicken was nearly 5lbs and I used my usual method for making chicken broth. I even have enough chicken left over for chicken salad! I left out the potatoes,peas and carrots because I didn't have any. I didn't miss them one bit!I also used 1/2 of a large onion and 3 ribs of celery. I must not leave out how awesome the dumplings are! They are my mom's recipe only doubled.I always thought there was never enough when she would make them. Hmmmm.Now that I've had my second (small) bowl I'm going to go lie down for a nap....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NVirginian October 02, 2006

I rate the dumpling recipe 10-stars - Excellent. I was in a pinch with some soup that I made and could not find my dumpling recipe, but came across this and my goodness, I'll never use another. Super-easy to make, excellent taste. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
home4my2 December 29, 2005

This is the best chicken dumpling soup I've ever made. Since we prefer white meat I used 1 lb chicken breasts and 2 lbs wings. The wings did not go back in the soup, but in the oven to brown and snack on later. I don't like mushrooms, so I used 2 cans cream of chicken. The dumplings were light and fluffy and there were plenty to go around. The leftovers were reheated and tasted even better the next day. If I could give 10 stars I would.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn October 10, 2005

Two thumbs up for this. It does take some time, but is well worth it. My sister was envious when she stopped over because the house smelled so good. I added more herbs but didn't change anything else.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Albany Bridie February 28, 2005
Grandma's Chicken 'n' Dumpling Soup