Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Chicken 'n' Dumpling Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Chicken 'n' Dumpling Soup

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2011

      Great soup! The dumplings got a bit gummy, but the soup itself was great! Used corn instead of celery and served over egg noodles, but followed the recipe otherwise.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I used your recipe and tweaked it a bit. Omitted the cloves and potatoes and used Bisquick dumplings instead of making homemade. I also sprinkle seasonings on my dumplings while they are still raw. Besides that it's the recipe as written. I love the combination of the broth and creamed soups! That's a great idea! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This had good flavor, balanced by how easy it was. I did actually chunk and brown the meat, rather than just boiling it. Also, I added probably a half cup of pepper, because I like my sauce to be very bold. Overall, it turned out well, and I liked all the veggies in it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      love this recipe. Thick, creamy. Added corn. It turned out a little salty. I think I would hold back on the salt. I used an extra bouillon, maybe that was part of it. OMG - will be making this again. Warm, hearty, YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      This was great!! I didn't use the bullion cubes and just salted the water about 2-3 tsp. and. it was perfect. To make things go faster I used 3 pounds of chicken tenderloins and it cooked much quicker. I added more veggies and I used whole wheat flour (sifted) for the dumplings. Great flavor all around! I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Excellent! The canned soup concerned me somewhat, but it was wonderful. I didn't have the cloves, but it was very flavorful without it. I also cut the season salt in half. My teaspoon full dumplings were huge, so next time I will half the size of those. Very good, thank you for a tasty soup on a chilly day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Excellent! One of our favorite soups and I find it relaxing and fun to make this on a cold /rainy day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      I'm not a huge clove fan so I left those out and it was still really great. To speed up the cooking time I also used a steamer in the pot where I cooked the chicken and steamed the vegetables above the cooking chicken so that when the chicken was done I could just cut it up and dump the vegetables and dumplings in all at once. This reduced the cooking time down by over an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      I made turkey dumpling soup with Thansgiving leftovers. Very good except that the dumplings were kind of boring...maybe they just needs some herbs or salt added to them? I don't know, I never made dumpling before!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I recently made this soup for a Baby Shower I was hosting. I doubled the recipe and everyone went nuts for it! I expected enough left overs to freeze, but it was such a hit there was nothing left! It was fabulous and EASY. I also made the chicken a few days in advance and froze it. Will definately be making this regularly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This was very, very good. Made a couple changes to make it healthier: -3 lbs boneless skinless thighs -instead of bouillon cubes, low sodium chicken broth as a base -for dumplings, 1 cup wheat flour, 1 cup whithe flour also, because I do not like cream of mushroom soup, I subbed a can of cream of celery soup instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I came across this recipe while I was preparing my own chicken and dumplings to see what other ideas I could find. The cream of chicken and mushroom soup was just what I needed to make mine better, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      I was hunting for a dumpling recipe to go with Treo Pheasant Stew and came across this one. Everyone seems to love these dumplings and so did we. Next time I will try the soup too. Thanks, Margo59 for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      LOVED THE DUMPLINGS!!! So 5 stars, but the soup, I didn't care for the cloves or bay leaf flavor, so I will leave those out next time and add a little poultry seasoning. so 4 stars for the soup. Will make the dumplings often. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      This soup was fabulous. What a wonderful find. Probably the best soup I have ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      This was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly except I left off the peas. My husband is not crazy about them. Next time (and there WILL be a next time!) I will leave out the potatoes as well, but otherwise this is the best homemade chicken soup I've ever had! *Update 12/11/06: I've made this several times since my initial review, and I have a couple of comments to add - first, this makes a LOT of dumplings. Not a problem for me, but mine always turns out more like a stew because the amount of dumplings soaks up most of the broth. Second, I've tried a couple of times to halve this recipe and though the proportions are correct, for some reason halving it doesn't seem to work very well. But make the whole thing - the leftovers are just as amazing as the soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Simply the greatest!Comfort food at it's best. This is just what the doctor ordered.My chicken was nearly 5lbs and I used my usual method for making chicken broth. I even have enough chicken left over for chicken salad! I left out the potatoes,peas and carrots because I didn't have any. I didn't miss them one bit!I also used 1/2 of a large onion and 3 ribs of celery. I must not leave out how awesome the dumplings are! They are my mom's recipe only doubled.I always thought there was never enough when she would make them. Hmmmm.Now that I've had my second (small) bowl I'm going to go lie down for a nap....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      I rate the dumpling recipe 10-stars - Excellent. I was in a pinch with some soup that I made and could not find my dumpling recipe, but came across this and my goodness, I'll never use another. Super-easy to make, excellent taste. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      This is the best chicken dumpling soup I've ever made. Since we prefer white meat I used 1 lb chicken breasts and 2 lbs wings. The wings did not go back in the soup, but in the oven to brown and snack on later. I don't like mushrooms, so I used 2 cans cream of chicken. The dumplings were light and fluffy and there were plenty to go around. The leftovers were reheated and tasted even better the next day. If I could give 10 stars I would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      Two thumbs up for this. It does take some time, but is well worth it. My sister was envious when she stopped over because the house smelled so good. I added more herbs but didn't change anything else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Chicken 'n' Dumpling Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (442 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.9
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    43%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 91.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 708.5 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 21.3 g
    42%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes