Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Chicken-Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Chicken-Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 23, 2014

      awesome recipe. I used Quick Barley and drained the tomatoes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I plan on freezing the extra in individual sized containers for the a quick dinner another night. I did find it to be to thick so I added 3 cups of water and 8oz extra of chicken broth. Also I used fresh basil from my garden and only used 3 medium carrots. I used baby bella mushrooms and they were great! Wonderful recipe. Love the barley and mushroom combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      Really a nice soup. Loved the barley and mushrooms together. Made for Football Pool, Week 1, 2013 Season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      Very tasty soup for cool sunny day! Surprised me, not dh, that chicken thighs were okay have always hung back from them. Economical too. Don't know much about barley, bought quick but next time will buy medium, as the quick barley disintegrated into broth. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      Yum! Delicious combo of flavors! I made this soup in my crock pot and it worked out perfectly! I used two bonein chicken thighs, and the only other change I made was I diced up a fresh tomato. I cooked it for 6 hours, then removed the skin, bones and cartilage of the chicken thighs and cooked the veggies for two more hours. Then I dumped the meat back in just before serving so it wasn't over cooked. Amazingly delicious and true comfort food. Considering today was the first day of Spring, it was very cold outside. Tomorrow they are calling for snow and this soup will be perfect for lunch. We had it for dinner tonight along with grilled cheese sandwiches. Made for Spring 2013 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      This is such comforting soup. I loved the flavors! The barley really gives the soup substance. I'm tucking this into my best-of-the-best file. We loved it. Thanks! Made for Football Pool in the Cooking Tag Games forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      What a tasty and comforting soup! I used 2 huge bone-in, skin-on breasts instead of the 4 thighs, otherwise made just as directed. I really liked the richness the tomatoes added to the broth; mushrooms were an unusual addition to this kind of soup but I really liked them too. Thanks for sharing Grandma's recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      What a wonderful soup! It was so easy to make, very hearty, and easy on the waistline. The tomato really added some richness to the broth that typical chicken soups don't have. We served with some cheese bread for a full meal. I can't wait to have the leftovers later!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      I did make one change in this recipe when preparing it, but only because my other half wanted the mushrooms, & I'll only eat those buggers if they aren't cooked to death! So I prepared the mushrooms separately, sauteing only until slightly tender before adding them at the last minute & serving the soup! Worked for me, & we absolutely loved this generations-old comfort food! Thanks for sharing this great keeper! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      Ok, I'll admit that I was leary of tomatoes in this But Mikekey has never let me down so I forged ahead....it's delicious. I only had whole roasting chickens or chicken breasts in the freezer so breasts ir was (cubed, because I'm basicly lazy). This turned out to be a grand tasting, tummy filling and soul comforting dinner with biscuits on the side. Thanks for sharing this one Mike :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Chicken-Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (389 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.6
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    37%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 39.4 mg
    13%
    Sodium 645.6 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes