Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Cheese Straws Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Cheese Straws

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2010

      I used this recipe to make 5 dozen cheese straws for a wedding shower. Huge success! Instead of 3 tsps water, I substitued Tabasco. Instead of paprika, I used Cayenne pepper. This gives it the "kick" it needed. Men seem to prefer these hotter. I used a previous reviewer's idea about rolling it out and slicing like cookies. Then I pressed a fork down to imprint it cross-cross.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      I made this into 36 little rounds with a fluted biscuit cutter. I used cayenne pepper and added a whole egg with the water to bind the dough. They turned out very yummy indeed. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      These are delicious! I made the straws using a cookie press with the star disc, and didn't have to chill the dough. Thanks so much..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      I added a lot of red pepper to this because we like these hot. This is just like my mother's recipe. I rolled this into a cylinder in plastic wrap and sliced it into round crackers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I have made these twice now and they have been a huge success. I do turn them during baking to get a more even color. I cut out in shapes using a cookie cutter, maybe I'll do some festive ones for the holidays. I know I will be making these for years to come. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      Makes a really good cheese straw. I recommend baking about 5 minutes longer to dry them out a touch more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2004

      Yum, these are really tasty. More-ish is probably the best way to describe them, you can't eat just one. Very easy to put together and excellent served with a nice glass of wine or cold beer. Thanks Lusil for posting a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      This was my first attempt at cheese straws and they were wonderful. I followed the advise of other viewers and used Tobasco Sauce in place of the water and cayenne pepper instead of paprika. It definitely took more water to make the dough come together. Can't help but think the recipe should read 3 Tbsp water rather than 3 tsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      My mom's cheese straw recipe is packed away in storage but this is the same one. We made 2 double batches. Everything went wrong from the oven getting turned off while they were in to the oven being turned up to 400. (Way too many folks in the kitchen) Through it all - the straws turned out wonderful! These are a must have for any occasion!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Awesome recipe, Grandma! Added sesame seeds, poppy seeds, garlic powder, and some Frank's to up the ante. It required probably about 1/4 cup of water to make it into a flaky dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      These are great, taste just like Cheese Nips which is a compliment coming from a girl who practically lived on Cheese Nips growing up. I made some for my grandson last weekend, and had to wrestle them away from my husband to take with me. They are excellent, and I'm about to go make a batch just for hubby so the big baby will feel special, lol. Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      These are very good! I haven't had cheese straws before but I have a feeling I'll be having them often now. DS loved them and I feel better giving him these rather than Cheese-its or goldfish. I didn't only had medium cheddar on hand but I had some guyere so I replaced a couple of ounces with that to make it tangier like the sharp would have been. DS asked if I could make some with bacon bits added...hmmm, not a bad idea. Thanks for your Grandma's recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      This reminded us a lot of goldfish crackers. Next time I'll probably double the red pepper (cayenne). Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      These turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly and they are delicious! My 10 month old couldn't get enough and neither could I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Great Receipe. Next time I am going to use more red peppers and spice them up. Had sort of a biscuit texture since I did not roll them so thin. They still had a great taste. Very easy and was enjoyed by all. Thanks for sharing this with everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      excellent! I had to add a lot more water than suggested though. This might be the cheese - I used a very old Dutch Gouda which is very dry. I also made the booboo of not rolling them out thin enough so they had to be cooked longer. Even so though they are pretty much fool-proof. Will definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      these were sooo good! addictive!i had to make some changes bc of necessity tho. i basically had all of the ingredients except the important part, the grated cheese so i used a bag of finely shredded mexican blend. I think thats why the dough was crumbly, i had to add a few more teaspoons of water.i also added some garlic powder and omitted the paprika. i didn't sift the flour either(no sifter) i mixed it all by hand (no spoons/mixers) and made them into little cookies. I had to bake them a little bit longer as a result. oh yeah i didnt chill them for an hour either. pretty much these were fail-proof! lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      This is a great recipe. I've attempted cheese straws before and they just seem so greasy - this one has a good proportion of butter and cheese. I used extra sharp cheddar from a local dairy and added an additional scant 1/4 cup of flour (just my own preference), then baked for about 14 minutes. Terrific! Thanks for the recipe! (Oh - I cut them into star shapes for the holidays instead of straws and they looked gorgeous.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      I really like these cheese straws. They have a nice flavour but are not too cheesy. I chilled the dough for just 45 minutes but they still turned out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      These are wonderful! I shaped them into cookies because they would be easier to carry and for lunches. The straws tend to break and crumble for me. But the taste of these can't be beat. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Cheese Straws

    Serving Size: 1 (550 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1207.2
     
    Calories from Fat 761
    63%
    Total Fat 84.6 g
    130%
    Saturated Fat 53.2 g
    266%
    Cholesterol 241.2 mg
    80%
    Sodium 1694.3 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.2 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 38.5 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites