Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Buttermilk Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2010

      Scrumptious! I've made these 5 or 6 times now and they're always delicious. The best results have been when pouring the batter with a quarter cup measuring cup as the recipe states. When I used a ladle, the pancakes got too big and didn't cook through. These are the my go-to pancakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      These were wonderful pancakes. They had very nice flavor. Tasted like my mom used to make. They are differently worth trying. I don't think you'll be disappointed. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      These were really good. It took a lot of bowls and mixing and such but it was worth it. The batch was huge so it was enough for my whole family and we had the leftovers the next morning. They were nice and fluffy which I like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      My mom makes really good buttermilk pancakes and even though I can't say these are any better, I do think they are just as good. Never in my life did I ever think I would be able to make these from scratch and have them taste just as good as my moms. They were really good. Thanks for the receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Made this the first time (halved) exactly to your recipe and they were heavenly. Only trouble is, we live out in the sticks, rarely have buttermilk on-hand, and I don't want to have to plan ahead a couple days to have pancakes. So we substituted plain yogurt (which my DH makes and we always have around) for the buttermilk, and they were every bit as good. Thanks for this keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      My partner is eating these right off the stove! She says she's never had a fluffier pancake! I did halve the recipe and it looks like it will be enough for us for the entire weekend--perfect! thanks for posting! This is going to be a household favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      These were the best pancakes I have ever eaten and the recipe was not hard at all. I would disagree with the serving size since my family only eats 3 pancakes each and there are 4 of us, I had plenty for 2 spectacular meals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      I have had a buttermilk pancake recipe in my family for as long as I can remember, but I couldn't find it since we moved. I found this one and I hate to admit it, but it's better than Gran's. Awesome recipe, light, and not dry. It was easy to make and the taste is wonderful and light as well. You must try this recipe!! This is our new favorit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      These were wonderful! A must try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Marvelous, simple recipe. Makes delicious and fluffy pancakes that have been a big hit each time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I don't usually like pancakes because they sometimes taste kind of "doughy", but these were excellent! The taste and texture were wonderful. The extra step with the eggs is really worth it. Better than restaurant pancakes, too. I halved the recipe and it was still more than enough for two adults and a toddler with some left over for a snack later. I have saved this and will definitely make again. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      OMG! I didn't really think you could beat my mom's homemade pancakes. Doubted this was worth the extra step. Let me tell you, this was the best pancake I have ever tasted. I followed the directions, except I did half it. It made enough for two adults, plus more. Absolutely the lightest, fluffiest pancake ever. Thank you Sassy, for posting this recipe. This will be my new pancake recipe. It just cant be beat. Did I say OMG?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I cut the recipe in half. They were light and fluffy. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      I was looking for a pancake recipe this morning to make for breakfast and decided to try this one. The pancakes were absolutely fantastic. They were the perfect thickness and absolutely light as a feather. I used full fat buttermilk which gave it a slightly sour after taste. Am going to try it with low fat buttermilk next time as some thought the sour taste was a little strong. Used the recipe as is and was very impressed! Thanks for sharing. Will definitely be keeping this for future Sunday mornings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      These are awesome! I didn't mind the humongous serving it makes because it used almost a whole quart of buttermilk and my kids love leftover pancakes for every meal of the day. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      I made 1/3 the recipe and it fed 2 adults and a toddler with 3 pancakes left over. The flavor and texture are wonderful - this recipe may become my new pancake standard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Buttermilk Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 703.7
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    33%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 302.9 mg
    100%
    Sodium 1853.6 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.4 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 16.9 g
    67%
    Protein 25.6 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites