Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Barbecued Cocktail Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Barbecued Cocktail Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2002

      This appetizer was a hit at my husband's all-guy party! I followed the recipe exactly (so nice that I had everything on hand, no extra trip to the store!). The combination of flavors is a winner and these were tender and delicious. So easy to do ahead - I made these early in the day and just left them in the crockpot on "warm" as suggested. Thanks, CG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      Excellent! I had the pre-mixed Italian seasonings so I used that instead of the plain oregano and thyme. Also skipped the minced onions because someone doesn't like them, but I did use some dried onion flakes. I served some plain, some w/bbq sauce, and also marinara sauce to make meatball subs. These tasted great even w/o the sauce. Please thank Grandma Audrey for sharing this awesome recipe...it's definitely a "keeper" lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      This recipe is great! I have used this for a large get together and everyone loved them! this recipe is very easy to put together and once it is in the corck pot your work is done! Very tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2004

      Wonderful! I didn't change a thing when I made these meatballs, except I made them a few days in advance and froze them. When it was time to use them, I simply thawed the meatballs, then placed them in the crockpot with the barbeque sauce. (I used Dianna's BBQ Sauce). These were definitely a hit since there wasn't one meatball left! I'll bet they would be great with spaghetti too! Thanks for posting this tasty recipe, CG !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      Excellent recipe! Very moist and very easy to do. I used Diannas BBQ sauce and they turned out fantastic! Thank-you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      My family loves meatballs, especially my kids. We all thought these had excellent flavor and a great tender texture. I used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce and let them warm in the crock-pot all afternoon. Dinner was a breeze and the kids were tickled pink the we were having meatballs for supper. Thanks CG.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      I have made this dish 2 times now and it's always a hit. I follow the recipe to the T and it turns out excellent. Thanks for a GREAT recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      Great flavor and easy to make. I substituted basil for the thyme. We enjoyed them very much. Thanks for the recipe! This will be an often used recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      These were good. I was a little worried because I tasted them right out of the oven and they tasted like hamburger and weren't that meatball texture you expect. BUT - after about 3 or 4 hours simmering in the crock pot, they absorbed the bbq sauce and the flavor AND texture was much more like meatball. I would definitely suggest letting the meatballs simmer for several hours before serving. They weren't spectacular in my opinion, but they were good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Awesome! My DH made these for NYE and they were fantastic! The house smelled wonderful while he was cooking them. We lost our crockpot when we moved (I know - how does that happen?), so he cooked it in a cast iron pot and then kept it in the oven at 200 until ready to serve. We will definitely make again, thanks canarygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I made these for Christmas and everybody LOVED them! Very tasty! I didn't change a thing! I will be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Excellent and so easy. I've made meatballs similar to this before but it didn't have quite the complete flavors of this one. I just used my teaspoon measure and the came out a perfect size for this use! Tom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Yup..very good.. Made yesterday to marinate in BBQ sauce til today. I used homemade onion soup mix in lieu of fresh onion and onion powder..fresh oregano (the last of my unfrozen herb garden). all else as written.. Made relatively small. Great flavor. Nora

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Great football food! I served this on Superbowl weekend. (And, Yes, I AM running a bit behind on reviews!). I made way more than I tought I was going to need, and they were all gone by the end of the day. I made & cooked the meatballs a day prior and dropped them in the crockpot the morning of the event. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      I have to respectly disagree, the BBQ sauce was a little too overwhelming. For some reason they seemed a little too mushy compared to others I have prepared.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2004

      These were great but I think a good BBQ sauce is important--I think I devalued the meatballs by drowning them in cheap sauce I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2004

      I made these to take to work for a potluck and they were a big hit. I followed the recipe exactly and used Diana's barbecue sauce. This will be the meatball recipe I will be using from now on. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Barbecued Cocktail Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.8
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    39%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 83.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 764.1 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 20.2 g
    81%
    Protein 19.2 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites