28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

great muffins, I doubled the apple as well

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylsimpson January 15, 2009

I made these last night after wondering what to do with a HUGE bag of apples. I made 2 batches and followed the recipe exactly. Very easy! I used my mini chopper and pretty much pureed the apples since the kids hate chunks.They are delicious. My kids ate them for breakfast! I think I will make a few more batches and freeze em! Thanks Cheryl and Cheryl's grandma!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beginnerchef October 08, 2008

Excellent muffins. I followed everyone else's advice and halved the sugar while doubling the apple, and added the steusel topping as well. I also added a handful of chopped walnuts to the streusel, which created an excellent texture contrast. I will probably reduce the butter next time to make them more healthful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oenophilly August 05, 2008

I was looking for a good muffin recipe to use some very ripe apples with...so quick and easy to make, I read the comments and adjusted to 1/2 cup of white sugar instead of 1, and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, plus added two apples chopped...they are delicious! As an apple orchard owner, these are the best apple muffins I have made yet! Yummy :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jolynnphoto January 10, 2008

UPDATE: These taste much better a day or two after. I will still scale back on the cinammon and sugar. Thanks. Thanks for the recipe. I followed the recipe precisely, and made no adjustments. My husband and I found them to be too sweet and the Cinnamon was a bit overwhelming. I might try this again with some adjustments. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fofi November 17, 2007

Nice and moist...I used 2 more apples and it seemed to be a good amount.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose September 30, 2007

My toddler is chowing on one right now! This recipe is fabulous and easy. I've made them 3 times in the past month already. Other people have tried it and asked for the recipe so I'm printing it out now. Thank you CherylE for sharing this GREAT recipe. The only thing I altered is substituting 1 cup of all-purpose flour for 1/2 cup of wheat bran and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for a slightly healthier version. Also one day i didn't have eggs so I replaced it with an overripe banana! Still turned out wonderful. Cheers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HiromiDaActor March 15, 2007

I'm the minority on this review but I must say I didn't like them much at all. They came out dense and within hours weren't worth eating, not even my dog would eat them. Incredibly easy to make and perhaps it would be worth trying again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brayden'sMoM October 12, 2006

These were soooo good. The only change I made was to use half brown and half regular sugar, and only a cup total. I may decrease the sugar even more next time, maybe 3/4 of a cup. My sons gobbled them up! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth October 01, 2006

Delicious, easy - I have nothing bad to say about these muffins! I did half and half with the brown sugar and white, used mostly rye flour and some white, substituted coconut oil for butter and rice milk for the milk. And they were really delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunshinestarr August 23, 2006
Grandma's Apple Muffins