Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Apple Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Apple Muffins

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2002

      These muffins were easy to make and taste delicious. I made them for my 3 year old son and he loved them. Taste much better than box muffin mix. Very moist! Enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      i had to use skim milk but i did use real homemade butter. i also used 1 3/4 large gala apples since i'm of the opinion that fruit muffins should contain **FRUIT!** and not just fruit. everything else i went by the recipe. this filled 12 muffin tins to a little overflowing but i like it that way since it means nice full fluffy muffins. these didn't expand as much as i was expecting but they were still a good size and not overly sweet. i think they would have been better with granny smith apples or another tart, sturdy type and maybe a bit more cinnamon but these were really tasty. more summery tasting than fallish but that's ok. might taste more like fall if i added a bit of cloves and nutmeg for depth. thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      WOW!!!!! I am 16 weeks pregnant and was craving something baked with apples...this hit the spot!! These are so moist and flavorful!! I used a granny smith apple, added some walnuts, and am a little worried that I might eat the whole dozen right now!! Baby and I are in 7th heaven ; )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2014

    • on May 30, 2010

      I trippled this recipe for a bakesale and they were delicious. Fresh from the oven they were so good but could be heated for 10 seconds in the microwave also. I used Granny Smith apples and grated them instead of chopping. Very moist and perfect. They freeze well too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Delicious!! Grated 2 Green delicious apples and cut sugar by 1/4 cup white. Otherwise followed the recipe. Moist and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      What's not to love!!! These are moist and oh so tasty!! Used low-fat milk and a little less sugar and added 3 small apples. Baked at 350F for about 25 minutes. Thanks Cheryl! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      These are my favorite muffins. I add two apples for more apple flavor and moisture. They're every bit as good as those big ones you get at Costco, especially if you add a streusel topping. They taste good fresh out of the oven, but I think they are even better the next morning, If you can make them last that long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      I used 2 apples, doubled the cinnamon, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I might add 1/2 c. soaked raisins next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Really light and yummy, perfect for brekkie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      great muffins, I doubled the apple as well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I made these last night after wondering what to do with a HUGE bag of apples. I made 2 batches and followed the recipe exactly. Very easy! I used my mini chopper and pretty much pureed the apples since the kids hate chunks.They are delicious. My kids ate them for breakfast! I think I will make a few more batches and freeze em! Thanks Cheryl and Cheryl's grandma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Excellent muffins. I followed everyone else's advice and halved the sugar while doubling the apple, and added the steusel topping as well. I also added a handful of chopped walnuts to the streusel, which created an excellent texture contrast. I will probably reduce the butter next time to make them more healthful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      I was looking for a good muffin recipe to use some very ripe apples with...so quick and easy to make, I read the comments and adjusted to 1/2 cup of white sugar instead of 1, and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, plus added two apples chopped...they are delicious! As an apple orchard owner, these are the best apple muffins I have made yet! Yummy :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      UPDATE: These taste much better a day or two after. I will still scale back on the cinammon and sugar. Thanks. Thanks for the recipe. I followed the recipe precisely, and made no adjustments. My husband and I found them to be too sweet and the Cinnamon was a bit overwhelming. I might try this again with some adjustments. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Nice and moist...I used 2 more apples and it seemed to be a good amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      My toddler is chowing on one right now! This recipe is fabulous and easy. I've made them 3 times in the past month already. Other people have tried it and asked for the recipe so I'm printing it out now. Thank you CherylE for sharing this GREAT recipe. The only thing I altered is substituting 1 cup of all-purpose flour for 1/2 cup of wheat bran and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour for a slightly healthier version. Also one day i didn't have eggs so I replaced it with an overripe banana! Still turned out wonderful. Cheers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      I'm the minority on this review but I must say I didn't like them much at all. They came out dense and within hours weren't worth eating, not even my dog would eat them. Incredibly easy to make and perhaps it would be worth trying again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      These were soooo good. The only change I made was to use half brown and half regular sugar, and only a cup total. I may decrease the sugar even more next time, maybe 3/4 of a cup. My sons gobbled them up! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      Delicious, easy - I have nothing bad to say about these muffins! I did half and half with the brown sugar and white, used mostly rye flour and some white, substituted coconut oil for butter and rice milk for the milk. And they were really delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Apple Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 230.6
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    25%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 31.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 205.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 22.7 g
    90%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites