Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma's Apple Brown Betty Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma's Apple Brown Betty

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe to put to use those apples God made. There are a few things that I found important in making this recipe taste good though. The apples you use can make or break this recipe. I made this recipe with granny smith apples, and it was pretty good, but nothing really special. Now, when I used Missourri galas, it was extraordinary. My mom said it was better than any apple pie she has had in restaurants. The sweetness of the MO galas really made the difference, and the granny smith's paled in comparison with their tartness. I also used Penzey's spices cinammon which is still fairly new (this is a blend of about 4 different kinds of cinammon). If you ever get ahold of that cinammon, you won't regret it. Don't forget to top each piece off with one or two scoops of vanilla ice cream. Choose a fairly normal or old fashioned vanilla ice cream that doesn't have a fakey vanilla taste like you would find in Blue Bunny for example. We actually found a decent, but cheap brand at Aldi called Sundae Shop that worked very well on top of this brown betty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      My kids and I thought it tasted great. Used a combo of granny smith apples and gala. They were quite large so I ended up having to add a bit more of all the ingredients. Doubled the syrup but didn't double the topping so I stuck wanting more of the topping while eating this. Think I'll just double it from now on. Great taste though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      This was delicious and simple. I used Fuji apples. Next time I think I'll try adding a some vanilla bean to help bring out the flavors. Thanks for sharing. Made for No-Nonsense Nibblers Germany/Benelux ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Oh this was better than expected but it was too sweet so I suggest cutting down the sugar unless you like really sweet. I made this gluten free using a rice flour mix (white rice flour half the amount of tapioca starch). I used gala apples and salted butter. I used room temperature spring water which I don't think made a difference. Made for ZWT6 Germany/Benelux region, for my team, The Ya Ya Cookerhood.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      For a dessert, this is total comfort food. The flavor was superb. I was hoping to have some left for my lunch today, unfortunately my family ate every bit of it last night. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      We made trhis tonight but used pears and it was awesome. Just a thought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      Delicious and Yummy. My family loved this dessert. Will be making again. Made as written. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      I was walking the dogs in the park and DD rang begging to have a taste of this dessert. As i had made 3 small ones I said yes and she has given it 5 stars !! I made no changes to the recipe at all. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      I nearly forgot to post here. This was very good and the next time I make it I will add some cranberries and nuts to a wonderful dish. I used Gala apples .Thanks for posting made for Zwt6 for the Xtra Hot Dishes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I served this with Vanilla ice cream and we loved every bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe--sweet and crunchy. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Leslie, this was amazing. I used some of the last granny smiths off of our tree (I can't believe it's June & they're still hanging on, it's freezing), they were just beautiful and zingy. The topping with the sauce is fantastic, a bit crunchy in places and squidgy in others, with lovely unctuous sauce. My DH took half of it in one serving! Thanks so much for this recipe. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      This is a really great way to use up apples and have a great dessert in the process! We loved it! Had along with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

    • on October 19, 2005

      Perfect apple dessert! Reminds me of dh's grandma's unwritten recipe. Dh loved this, as did my father in law. The syrup on top is a nice addition. I will make this many times! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma's Apple Brown Betty

    Serving Size: 1 (2489 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3531.7
     
    Calories from Fat 871
    24%
    Total Fat 96.8 g
    148%
    Saturated Fat 59.0 g
    295%
    Cholesterol 244.0 mg
    81%
    Sodium 921.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 682.3 g
    227%
    Dietary Fiber 50.7 g
    202%
    Sugars 492.7 g
    1971%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites