Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma Varga's Hungarian Cucumber Salad (Uborkasalata) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma Varga's Hungarian Cucumber Salad (Uborkasalata)

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-34 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2004

      I grew up on a salad just like this. We always had dill & cukes in our garden. The only difference was the paprika. It's a wonderful addition that I wouldn't have thought of (I used Hungarian Hot Paprika). Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      Excellent!The best version I have ever had the pleasures to eat. Dehydrating the cucumbers keeps the sauce from becoming watery so the flavor is not diluted. I made half the recipe as directed.The leftovers were just as good the next day. Thanks Anthony, this recipe goes into my "book of special tricks"!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      This salad is delicious. You must be a wonderful cook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      Spectacular authentic recipe! Thank you so much for preserving it online. I'm Hungarian, but I admit that I make changes to the authentic recipes sometimes. This is one of the times. I uploaded a photo of the yogurt version. I also mince green veggies (whatever I have) into it, this time it was minced broccoli and celery, and I was out of dill, so I just lived with it. I like a little contrast so I also add minced walnuts as a topping. This one and the vegyes (tossed) with sugar-salt-vinegar dressing are my go-to salads for company, but for company, I use sour cream and don't add wierd stuff. According to George Lang, it's traditional to use the liquid of anything you're making, so I'm not dehydrating the cukes before using. I don't think either my mom or grandmother did that either. But whatever works for you. Thanks again for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      Oh can't wait to have this. I miss my mother's Hungarian cooking!! I am 100% Hungarian and must make this soon!!! Köszönöm for reminding me!!! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      The best! It's like my little hungarian grandmothers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      I made this for my son's birthday party along with our family recipe for chicken paprikash and everyone LOVED it! I spent quite a bit of time salting/draining/squeezing the cucumbers of the liquid, but I think it was worth it. The flavors were wonderful and definitely much better than the "ordinary" plain cucumber salad we normally eat. We had a lot of requests for the recipe - including from our Hungarian family members. Will absolutely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      This is wonderful! It's essentially my grandma's recipe too! This recipe I remember from my childhood but didn't know all of ingredients or proportions. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      This is an authentic, delicious cucumber salad, I just normally use less salt for brining., and also add one tsp. of sugar. Made it according to this recipe at first but decided to add the sugar as usual.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      We all enjoyed this salad very much. I made it to go along with our Hungarian themed meal I decieded to make. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Discuss the taste, how difficult it was to make, any adaptations you made or menu suggestions. If you did not like it, please explain why or provide constructive criticism.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      I had fresh cukes from the garden and they were large, so I used 3; and it came out VERY salty and the next morning it turned very gray, still tasted pretty good, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

    • on June 12, 2006

      I ended up with way too salty cucumbers. I think my problem was I used too much salt (imagine that...salty from too much salt). However, I think I used WAY too much. I think I will either try to find another recipe, or else use only a very tiny bit of salt on each layer. I could actually see the salt in the cucumbers. I ended up rinsing them and trying to squeeze some of the salt out. I ended up with something that's edible, but I had to add sugar to it to cut the saltiness. I attribute my failure to it being my first time making something like this, so I'm not going rate this. I might try it again sometime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma Varga's Hungarian Cucumber Salad (Uborkasalata)

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.4
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    52%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 3566.3 mg
    148%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites