Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma Varga's Hungarian Cucumber Salad (Uborkasalata) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma Varga's Hungarian Cucumber Salad (Uborkasalata)

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2010

      Thank you for posting a genuine Hungarian recipe .This is the way my Grandma Vajda used to make her cucumber salad.So many recipes are being lost forever as the old folks pass away.We must keep them and celebrate our wonderful hereitage.This recipe is excellent and very refreshing during our hot summer months.Thank you again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      Just the way 'we' make it!!!! This recipe comes from the old country. It's one of my favorite ways to eat cukes.We ate Paprikas & goulash every Sat. nite. That's why I have tons of recipes here. This salad was made often in our home. I never grew tired of it. My kids love this as well. Thnx for sharing a time honored recipe with all of us..glitter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      This is the old country way, and the only way for the great taste, excellent! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      I thought the garlic listed was just a bit too strong for me. If I change this to 1 clove garlic it is certainly 5 star and certainly a keeper!! Absolutely delicious. It really is a must to leave it sit in the fridge for the flavours to meld because the next day, even with though still garlicky, it was very good. Perfect to make for a day ahead for a party. Thanks for this Anthony.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Just like my Polish grandmother used to make! Excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Everyone loved this from the 7 year old and up. A great addition to our Shabbat lunch...thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Dear Anthony ... I am Hungarian on both sides of my family. This cucumber salad is the real deal ... just like my Grandmothers' recipe. I always love it .. easy and refreshing. Thanks for posting it! Judi Horvath

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Crunchy, creamy, and delicious! I now know what to do with the cucumber bounty from my garden! This is a recipe I will be making again and again. Many thanks to Lorac for posting this outstanding recipe. Linda in Missouri

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      This is the first cucumber salad that my husband liked. The cucumbers were crunchy and the sauce was creamy. All the other recipes I have tried ended up with soft cucumbers and a runny dressing. Weighting and draining the cucumbers makes a big difference. I used hot hungarian paprika and it was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2006

      This was wonderful! Even better than I've had at local restaurants.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      This was the first time I have ever eaten cucumbers that weren't raw and unadorned! very nice - something a bit different. I had to go easy on the dill because my mum was eating it and she doesn't like it, next time I'll put in all the recipe recommends.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      My grandma Torok was from Fertoszentmiklos. I still make this recipe once or twice a week during the growing season...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      My grandmother and grandfather were also Varga's from Hungary. It is wonderful and I will add this to my Baba's recipe's that I inherited.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      This is a salad that my Hungarian father used to make but without the dill. I never thought it could be improved upon but the dill gives it a different twist. Always my favourite salad

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      Wonderful flavor. Not a huge fan of cukes in general but this was a big hit at a party we threw recently. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      This was soo good! I'm glad I read the recipe through early, though so I could plan the extra 3(1+ draining & 2 chilling) hours needed to make it. This will appear regularly on my table!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      I grew up on this recipe. My mother's parents were from Hungary (and incidently their last name was Varga). I love this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      Gorgeous! I used Moroccan cooking salt in place of the kosher salt and sweet Moroccan paprika. We ALWAYS have some sort of salad here with a meal summer and winter and this is a keeper! We use the salads (slatas) to cut through the richness of our Moroccan cooking; much the same reason that it would be served with paprikas. Yummy, thank you Lorac! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      I had to use up some cucumbers I had in the frig so I gave this a try. To my dismay I had no dill but it was still terrific! Thanks for the great recipe, I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2004

      This recipe was terrific! Followed all the ingredients and added the sour cream mixture a little at a time because I didn't have a lot of cukes. This was quick and easy to make and the directions were easy to follow. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma Varga's Hungarian Cucumber Salad (Uborkasalata)

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.4
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    52%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 3566.3 mg
    148%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites