Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma Terri's Play Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma Terri's Play Dough

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2012

      I made some of this for the kids during a time when everyone was in town for a funeral. Everyone was so down and this really helped perk the kids up and let them enjoy themselves for a few hours. I wish I still had the pictures of the wonderful creations they made. We discovered that one little girl was really quite the artist. She discovered a talent she didn't know she had. It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      So much better, and cheaper than the kind in the little yellow bucket. Kids loved playing with it. I keep it in the fridge when not using it, and it has lasted for about 6 months so far. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I used Orange Ginger Massage Oil from Bath & Body Works instead of the cooking oil, the smell is intoxicating. I was worried about the clumping when I first started to cook it but it was not a problem in the end. My 4 ½ yr old is rolling and cutting out shapes as we speak. This quick and easy and MUCH better than store bought, I will make a lot more of this for her. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      was leary about cooking it... haven't heard of that before. But if works awesome and the kids loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This is a fantastic recipe! You end up with about four times as much as you get in a can of the bought play-do The texture is fabulous and it lasts a long time. My four-year-old is having a ball playing with it. I used spearmint flavoring for the scent. I added one teaspoon of alum because I had used it previously as a "magic" ingredient in playdough, and it turned out fine. You can double the oil if you prefer a moister dough, but either way works great. Don't double the recipe, because it is a bit unwieldy. One batch is quite a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      This is great stuff! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Great recipe, turned out perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Wow! This is awesome playdough! The other recipe I have is way too sticky. This is perfect! I doubled the recipe because I have 3 kids playing, and they like to make lots of "cookies." :o) Came together very quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      This is great! My son is about to turn two and I needed some little surprise to give him for sleeping in his big boy bed for the first time! So when he woke up I had this ready for him... he was very hesitant at first... not only because he has never played with any type of playdough before, but also because he is very weird about touching things like this... but after a while he really warmed up to it and had a blast squishing it and cutting out shapes with our cookie cutters. I felt the texture was perfectly soft, though I do hate that dried crusty residue that is left on your hands... I made ours pink, and purple... was going for red but didn't put enough coloring in... And I scented ours with cherry and vanilla. It is great to have a new thing to do with my son, and not have to worry about toxins! Ours cooked up super quickly, and I will definitely make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Fun one to do. My daughter liked it - it was fun for her to decide what color and scent she wanted it. Inexpensive as well. Thanks again. We will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Great fun. Super easy. Food colorings blended in little groups by hand on the table, after cooking. I used apricot oil for the cooking oil mixed w/ lavendar and chamemile, to relax hyper nerves. Added a touch of vanilla. Smelled heavenly. Great texture! Kids wanted to eat it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      Great! We used orange extract and blue food coloring (we were going for orange but red and yellow turned it pink for some reason so we added a lot of blue and got aquamarine). My 3 year old DS is enthralled! It does make your hands a little oil coated, but maybe that will stop as it cools off. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      This is wonderful! I like the texture of this playdough alot better than the storebought kind. My kids loved watching it "transform" from a liquid into a solid. We used baby oil and it smelled soooo nice. Make sure you keep stirring and cooking until all the stickiness is gone. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      This playdough is fantastic! Quick and easy to put together! I whipped this up in a matter of minutes!! The kids were playing with some store bought playdough we had on hand...and I surprised them with this playdough...they were delighted! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      excellent! I love the texture of this dough, it's nice and soft for small hands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      easy to make, very quick. i could use ingredients on hand. my kids made a "science experiment" yesterday combining the store bought stuff with smoothie. yuk! i was glad i could find a quick fix instead of going to the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      This was so easy to make and the kids had so much fun helping make it. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

    • on June 12, 2007

      This is a nice smooth recipe. My 1 year old loves it and its okay if she eats it, which usually happens. It's quick and easy to make. I usually cook it on med-hi to speed up the process, but you will have to continually stir to keep it from sticking to the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      Loved this recipe. My child loved the Lemon Extract. Super Easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma Terri's Play Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (542 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 710.9
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    35%
    Total Fat 28.4 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 56599.4 mg
    2358%
    Total Carbohydrate 99.0 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites