25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Grandma Rampke knew how to make a good pie and that's for sure! This was a most delicious custard pie!!! I really like rhubarb and this was a great way to use it...as I have lots of it!!! The red and green! :) I made this for the Undercover Pie Photo Event! I am proud of how it came out too! Just lovely! And very very good tasting! Thank you! Jelly :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HotPepperRosemaryJelly June 09, 2010

This was just perfect. I didn't have whole milk so I used 1/2 skimmed milk and 1/2 cream,I made a graham cracker crust for it and we had it with a dollop of ice cream, It was very very yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anxi July 07, 2013

Yes, indeed this is a great recipe. Grandma Rampke was my Grandma and I have cooked like her for years, but until my cousin put this on Food.com I hadn't made it for a very long time. It was fun and delicious and brought back many memories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
It's Me Dee May 25, 2013

What a wonderful pie, julesong. It was perfect!
Five stars plus!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juliesmom August 07, 2011

I baked this for 15 minutes extra and it still didn't fully set. Luckily this dessert wasn't for company so I still enjoyed it and it tasted wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u June 20, 2011

Fresh rhubarb is VERY scarce in Orange County, at least in Orange, so when I actually had THREE stalks left over after making a different pie, I went in search..I love rhubarb, and I LOVE CUSTARD. Turns out 3 stalks was EXACTLY the amount I needed chopped for the pie! I used a frozen whole wheat crust I had in the freezer, added a bit of vanilla and baked it in a water bath to leave the custard creamy...INCREDIBLE! Thank you for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacklyn54inCa May 28, 2011

OMG.......this is SO good! I did use a little less sugar and I loved it. I will be making this pie a lot!!! Also love the fact that it is so easy to make. I used a store bought pie crust and frozen rhubarb from my garden. My new favorite recipe.......thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy May 16, 2010

Delicious! I made 11/2 times the filling for a full 9" deep dish pie & would decrease the sugar a bit next time...because our family likes things tart. I remember my Grandpa making this when I was little & loving it! Went searching for a recipe, found this and made it for a family gathering where all my Aunts & Uncles pronounced it "just right!" Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KerryB5 May 14, 2010

I was looking for this recipe in my zaar cookbook yesterday and I thought I had written a review. I don't know why I didn't because I have made several times. This Rhubarb Custard Pie is WONDERFUL! And so easy to put together when using a premade pie crust I also use half and half and 2 cups of the rhubarb. It takes me about 8 minutes. Last time I used frozen rhubarb and I wasn't sure about the extra liquid it had on it so I sprinkled with a little instant tapioca granules and it worked great. I love the flavor and the texture thanks so much for sharing your Grandma's recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young July 30, 2009

Made this exactly as stated (using fresh rhubarb). It never did fully set up even though I baked it much longer than stated. The flavor wasn't as I remembered from other rhubarb custard pies ... I'll keep looking and probably won't make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker May 28, 2009
Grandma Rampke's Easy Rhubarb Custard Pie