25 Reviews

This is an awesome recipe. You must try it. It takes 40 minutes to bake and 15 minutes for my family to eat it.lol.It is the easiest pie to make and the most delicious.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lila 1953 west May 19, 2002

this recipe is a very good example of country baking!!it is very good, and wholesome... more children should learn to go back to the basics,,and eat like g'ma and g'pa did!! thank you for sharing it with us.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shirley branham May 06, 2002

My husband is a die hard strawberry rhubarb pie fan, so I thought I'd give this a try for a change. He grew up on rhubarb, and will eat it raw (yuck). Anyway, I told him this was a new recipe and I wanted his honest opinion - he said he'd need another piece to really make a good analysis. After his second piece, he said it was terrible and that no one else should have any. That's what he always says when he doesn't want to share something he loves. Thanks for posting.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom November 04, 2002

This is a great old fashioned pie. It is very easy to put together and tastes great too. If you have to use skim milk try adding an egg.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steingrim May 30, 2002

Our family, which has been using this simple recipe for at least 100 years now, has never had any difficulty with the custard in this pie being "runny." The rhubarb causes the custard to thicken, as well as the eggs, so I suspect that perhaps the recipe was not followed correctly (or maybe imitation eggs or skim milk were substituted?) if the pie didn't thicken.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesong May 30, 2002

the pie tastes great but the custard was very runny. difficult to serve and definately not for company.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke May 29, 2002

I was going to use a frozen pie crust, but when I pulled it out of the freezer it was in pieces, so I just baked this in a dish without the crust. The custard is delicious! The only other difference is that I used frozen rhubarb and had to cook it for longer than the recipe called for. I suspect that the person who had a problem with runny custard didn't know to check the center with a knife.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl June 14, 2002

I orginally had a great review written for the recipe as is - one of my favorites. Thanks Julesong But I have now experimented a little more. You can make 6 wonderful mini desserts in ramikens (without crust) just follow the instructions as written but divide everything equally in each Ramiken. Then only cook them for 30 minutes. I added a little whip and fresh raspberries and they were quite elegant and easy.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annika's Granny May 22, 2009

Did not like. I also had problems with it being runny and I followed all of the reviewers suggestions (used whole milk, checked with knife). Maybe it was just me????

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trixiecat March 13, 2003
Grandma Rampke's Easy Rhubarb Custard Pie