Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma Rampke's Easy Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma Rampke's Easy Rhubarb Custard Pie

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2002

      This is an awesome recipe. You must try it. It takes 40 minutes to bake and 15 minutes for my family to eat it.lol.It is the easiest pie to make and the most delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      this recipe is a very good example of country baking!!it is very good, and wholesome... more children should learn to go back to the basics,,and eat like g'ma and g'pa did!! thank you for sharing it with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      My husband is a die hard strawberry rhubarb pie fan, so I thought I'd give this a try for a change. He grew up on rhubarb, and will eat it raw (yuck). Anyway, I told him this was a new recipe and I wanted his honest opinion - he said he'd need another piece to really make a good analysis. After his second piece, he said it was terrible and that no one else should have any. That's what he always says when he doesn't want to share something he loves. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2002

      This is a great old fashioned pie. It is very easy to put together and tastes great too. If you have to use skim milk try adding an egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2002

      Our family, which has been using this simple recipe for at least 100 years now, has never had any difficulty with the custard in this pie being "runny." The rhubarb causes the custard to thicken, as well as the eggs, so I suspect that perhaps the recipe was not followed correctly (or maybe imitation eggs or skim milk were substituted?) if the pie didn't thicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2002

      the pie tastes great but the custard was very runny. difficult to serve and definately not for company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2002

      I was going to use a frozen pie crust, but when I pulled it out of the freezer it was in pieces, so I just baked this in a dish without the crust. The custard is delicious! The only other difference is that I used frozen rhubarb and had to cook it for longer than the recipe called for. I suspect that the person who had a problem with runny custard didn't know to check the center with a knife.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

    • on May 22, 2009

      I orginally had a great review written for the recipe as is - one of my favorites. Thanks Julesong But I have now experimented a little more. You can make 6 wonderful mini desserts in ramikens (without crust) just follow the instructions as written but divide everything equally in each Ramiken. Then only cook them for 30 minutes. I added a little whip and fresh raspberries and they were quite elegant and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      Did not like. I also had problems with it being runny and I followed all of the reviewers suggestions (used whole milk, checked with knife). Maybe it was just me????

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Grandma Rampke knew how to make a good pie and that's for sure! This was a most delicious custard pie!!! I really like rhubarb and this was a great way to use it...as I have lots of it!!! The red and green! :) I made this for the Undercover Pie Photo Event! I am proud of how it came out too! Just lovely! And very very good tasting! Thank you! Jelly :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      This was just perfect. I didn't have whole milk so I used 1/2 skimmed milk and 1/2 cream,I made a graham cracker crust for it and we had it with a dollop of ice cream, It was very very yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      Yes, indeed this is a great recipe. Grandma Rampke was my Grandma and I have cooked like her for years, but until my cousin put this on Food.com I hadn't made it for a very long time. It was fun and delicious and brought back many memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      What a wonderful pie, julesong. It was perfect!
      Five stars plus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I baked this for 15 minutes extra and it still didn't fully set. Luckily this dessert wasn't for company so I still enjoyed it and it tasted wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Fresh rhubarb is VERY scarce in Orange County, at least in Orange, so when I actually had THREE stalks left over after making a different pie, I went in search..I love rhubarb, and I LOVE CUSTARD. Turns out 3 stalks was EXACTLY the amount I needed chopped for the pie! I used a frozen whole wheat crust I had in the freezer, added a bit of vanilla and baked it in a water bath to leave the custard creamy...INCREDIBLE! Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      OMG.......this is SO good! I did use a little less sugar and I loved it. I will be making this pie a lot!!! Also love the fact that it is so easy to make. I used a store bought pie crust and frozen rhubarb from my garden. My new favorite recipe.......thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      Delicious! I made 11/2 times the filling for a full 9" deep dish pie & would decrease the sugar a bit next time...because our family likes things tart. I remember my Grandpa making this when I was little & loving it! Went searching for a recipe, found this and made it for a family gathering where all my Aunts & Uncles pronounced it "just right!" Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      I was looking for this recipe in my zaar cookbook yesterday and I thought I had written a review. I don't know why I didn't because I have made several times. This Rhubarb Custard Pie is WONDERFUL! And so easy to put together when using a premade pie crust I also use half and half and 2 cups of the rhubarb. It takes me about 8 minutes. Last time I used frozen rhubarb and I wasn't sure about the extra liquid it had on it so I sprinkled with a little instant tapioca granules and it worked great. I love the flavor and the texture thanks so much for sharing your Grandma's recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Made this exactly as stated (using fresh rhubarb). It never did fully set up even though I baked it much longer than stated. The flavor wasn't as I remembered from other rhubarb custard pies ... I'll keep looking and probably won't make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma Rampke's Easy Rhubarb Custard Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.6
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    27%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 101.5 mg
    33%
    Sodium 184.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 50.5 g
    202%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites