Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma Ople's Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2009

      This is an awesome apple pie. The best! I am a novice, but I don't have to look for another recipe EVER! It has been a huge hit the two times I have made it. I will become known for my apple pie now that I've found this recipe....(-: I poured some of the sauce into the bowl I had the apples in, mixed them up, and then put the apple into the crust. You can also leave some sauce after you pour it into the lattice spaces, reduce it even more, and then add it on top of the pie once it is nice and thick. It ends up like a caramelizing on top like a soft candy after it's done cooking. I also brushed egg white on the crust before putting the apples in like some of the others here suggested. A cookie pan on the rack under the pies is a great idea to catch any drippings. I am about to take 2 of these to my family dinner and I know they will be a big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      I found this recipe at the same site, and have made it often. Don't forget to add 1 tbsp. cinnamon and 1 tbsp. brown sugar to the apples if you want it to taste like traditional apple pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      I have this same recipe I found on another website. It is the ultimate apple pie! My father-in-law declared it the best apple pie he'd ever had. He was not too popular with my mother-in-law after that!Note: I always spiced it up a bit by adding about 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2014

      This is a wonderful recipe! I have made apple pie before, however, was a little skeptical about making the sauce, and was very surprised how good the taste is. My family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      This is the Best. Ever. Apple pie. Here are my organic health freak edits to make it work for us. :) First of all I am not a dyed-in-the-wool apple pie fan (weird, I know) but I LOVE this pie and so does everyone else. We went through two at Thanksgiving dinner yesterday. I don't like cinnamon and I'm really finicky about the crust (must be butter and sweet-ish.) This one is fabulous, and here are my subtle changes to make it more organic, and gluten-free friendly. Of course you'd have to have the right pie crust for that...<br/>I make the pies 2 at a time and only make enough crust for 1 double-crust pie, and make the bottom crusts suuuuper thin. That way there's more yummy apple than crust, so what's there adds value and isn't just dead weight in the pie. <br/>I use whatever fresh organic apples are available grown locally. instead of 1/2 and half white and brown sugar, I use 3/4 organic cane sugar and 1/4 organic coconut sugar. It's super fabulous! The caramel taste is best that way. Also I use lentil flour for the filling--it tastes better (more buttery, less dull, not pasty like wheat flour) has protein, and is gluten free in case you need that for one of your holiday guests. Also--use Kerrygold butter! Grass fed, hormone free and absolutely the best taste by a mile. It makes a difference in the pie. Unfortunately I don't have a good gluten free pie crust recipe for you. And can't recommend anything in a package as yet. Anyway this recipe is totally amazing, gluten or not! BTW, I did make this recipe once without edits so can make these recommendations wholeheartedly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      I found this recipe on allrecipes.com too and could not believe that it was not on this site. It is SO good! Thanks for bringing it over here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      Love love love this pie, I did change one thing. I pre baked the bottom crust so it stayed nice and crispy and flaky! 2 thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Yum, wish I had a slice right now! This pie is so good and I did add cinnamon, vanilla and nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Hands down the best Apple pie, ever!!! I'm a new cook, and I have made this pie 3 times now, and every single time it's a hit! The other reviews were spot on when they talk about adding Cinnamon and Nutmeg. I also add 1/4 tsp of Vanilla extract as well. Great hot or cold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      This is my best apple pie,made it without spices for a contest.Will sure make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      It is the best pie EVER!! lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      My HB said it is 5 star good! Me, as an apple pie professional eater, I gave it 6 stars !!( hehe.. It is very good.) by thewya, the only change I add is to add a TA sp of cinimon powder into the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      This is the first time I have ever made an apple pie. The reason I did is because my brother gave me some apples from his tree. My daughter said that the apple pie was the "BOMB". I took some to work and the people at work bought me some apples to make a whole pie to bring to them. They told said "watch out Mrs. Smith".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      It was my best apple pie ever. I have tried quite a few recipes. Now my search is over. I really liked this pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      BirdyBaker, this was the best apple pie I have ever eaten. It beats Mrs. Smith, Grand Traverse Pie Company, Baker's Square and all others by a mile! I bought Pillsbury crusts and substituted 2 gala apples (6 granny smith and 2 gala). The galas added dimension, and I thought they tasted even better than the granny smiths in this pie. Like others, I added 1 Tbsp of cinnamon to my sauce. I did not add anything to my apples. The mound they made was enormous. I'm glad I did a lattice top to cover it all! I sliced my crust into strips using a pizza cutter (just a tip to make it easy). It was easy to pour the hot sauce by using a Pyrex measuring cup with a spout. You really do have to go very slow and concentrate on getting the sauce in the gaps of the lattice. Even then, I had some spill overs. It helps to do the pouring over a cutting board so you can simply scrape up the drips and add them back in (use a spoon - this sauce will burn your fingers). Definitely use a cookie sheet under the pie plate. You will likely have spillage. Mine had 3 or 4 spill over areas, but that just made a nice crispy snack when I flaked it off the sides of the plate. Yum. I put a foil tent over the top at the same time that I turned the oven temperature down to 350 degrees. I got a golden brown, incredibly gorgeous crust as a result. No burning here. This pie also held up very well. It was not too runny, the bottom crust did not get too soggy, and the flavors melded more beautifully with time and refrigeration. I highly recommend this with butter pecan ice cream. I love it and cannot wait to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      This was a good pie, made as is. I let the liquid cool for a few minutes before pouring. Chef Dee is right, it does need the addition of at least some cinnamon. Watch the top for burning. On mine, where the sugar remained wanted to turn black so I covered it with a foil tent. Nonetheless, a tasty pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      I add 1 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tbsp. vanilla, and 1 tbsp. cinnamon to the sauce. The best way to describe this is carmel apple pie. The best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma Ople's Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 544.3
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    45%
    Total Fat 27.4 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 251.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.6 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 44.8 g
    179%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites