12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to post a review in response to a former review; to any one who has been here longer than June of this year, 2010, they will know that the changeover from RecipeZaar to Food.com threw up numerous glitches, one of them being alterations in ingredients and their measurements, as well as the plural being used instead of the singular in the ingredients list! So, a low review based on the faults of the software on this site and NOT based on the taste of the recipe, is a little unfair! The order of the recipe ingredients also changed as well as basic punctuation - but NOT the taste of the delicious recipes that are posted here. I will be making this myself over the next week and will report back with my TASTE findings. I had to mention this! Thanks! FT:-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart November 11, 2010

I made this today for brunch, and my whole house still smells delicious! This is a great recipe! Easy to fix and I love the dough, easy to work with. I had several kinds of apples, so decided to use all of them! Sometimes the apples don't get cooked enough IMHO, but I was truly delighted that these apples were perfect! I just noticed something, and would like to just say this: When someone makes a comment on the recipes at this site, they would be taken much more seriously if they have their own recipes posted here. Otherwise, it could look like someone's just going through the recipes and picking them apart. I would hate to see that.
WI, thanks so much for a great fall recipe that will be made many times, especially this season!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER November 11, 2010

I too wanted to come in and review this wonderful recipe.I had apples to use up so I thought I would make this. OMG its wonderful. The apples are tender and that crust is just amazing. I like easy recipes and this is it. Taste unblievable!!!!! I bet its even better with ice cream on it. WI its the best recipe, and its a keeper. Though my photos are a little light I still wanted to post to show you I really did make it.......So if anyone is looking for that right recipe THIS is it! LOVED IT!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coffee lover November 11, 2010

These are the type of recipes that stand the test of time. Even if the ingredients might be out of sorts, one would just realize that this recipe is [unfortunately] part of a software glitch that misplaced ingredients listed, deleted some ingredients, and made funny looking measurements; ie - 1/3 cinnamon and 1 eggs, starting in July of this year. Having made many, many recipes from this author - I know to take a moment and check with the chef on the correct ingredient placement. This is one chef you can count on, time and time again for perfect recipes that are absolutely awesome! Will make this as well this week and report back with photos. Thanks for posting, WI!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm November 10, 2010

I have this in the oven now and it will most likely be pretty good. Unfortunately, the recipe itself needs some editing. Step 2 calls for salt to be mixed with other dry ingredients, yet no salt is listed in the ingredients. (I used 1/2 tsp.) The ingredients list 1 eggs -- I'm sure it meant to use 1 egg. The ingredients are not grouped well. The ones for the sugar/cinnamon topping should be the last ones listed, yet they are mixed in with the rest of the ingredients and I also question the amount of cinnamon. 1/3 tsp couldn't possibly be noticed when mixed with 3/4c of sugar. I used 1-1/2 tsp. I'm sure this will be pretty sweet, but I must say that unless it turns out tasting really good, I won't be bothered making this one again. I don't care to rewrite recipes -- especially the first time making one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvs2bakeinSF November 07, 2010

I haven't had a Kuchen since leaving North Dakota and although this style is a little different than what is done back home, it was very yummy! Back home a very thin dough is rolled out for the crust and the body of the kuchen is more like a custard dessert. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vera_ewash February 16, 2009

I love this recipe and it will be replacing my old one. I did think it was heavy on the sugar, will reduce it to 1/3 or 1/2 cup next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickahominys October 05, 2008

The dough is very yummy. I used 3 granny smiths. But I would have like to have more apples. I feel that one row was not enough. I wanted to put more on top. For us it's too sweet but we still like it. But if I do it again, I'll reduce the sugar. And put more apples. I like the Granny Smith in this. DS who's almost 3 years old loved this. Thanks Wi Cheesehead. Made for Kid Friendly tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 06, 2008

Simple, delicious, homey, no unusual ingredients, what more could you ask for? The crust is similar to shortbread, came together like a dream. Could use this crust with canned or fresh peaches, pears, blueberries, etc. Good warm or cold. All 6 in my family gave it a thumbs-up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulvid May 26, 2008

Excellent German apple cake! DH is German and this is very close to the way his Mother makes it. Mine did need to cook the full 45 minutes. This is very buttery and sweet. I did use the tart Granny Smith apples. It took 3 good size ones to cover the top of the dough. DH had a slice after dinner and told me not to take the rest to far cuz he was going to need another slice before bedtime. Thanks WI Cheesehead for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas March 31, 2008
Grandma Geldner's Apfel Kuchen (Apple Kuchen)