Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma Geldner's Apfel Kuchen (Apple Kuchen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma Geldner's Apfel Kuchen (Apple Kuchen)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2010

      I have to post a review in response to a former review; to any one who has been here longer than June of this year, 2010, they will know that the changeover from RecipeZaar to Food.com threw up numerous glitches, one of them being alterations in ingredients and their measurements, as well as the plural being used instead of the singular in the ingredients list! So, a low review based on the faults of the software on this site and NOT based on the taste of the recipe, is a little unfair! The order of the recipe ingredients also changed as well as basic punctuation - but NOT the taste of the delicious recipes that are posted here. I will be making this myself over the next week and will report back with my TASTE findings. I had to mention this! Thanks! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      I made this today for brunch, and my whole house still smells delicious! This is a great recipe! Easy to fix and I love the dough, easy to work with. I had several kinds of apples, so decided to use all of them! Sometimes the apples don't get cooked enough IMHO, but I was truly delighted that these apples were perfect! I just noticed something, and would like to just say this: When someone makes a comment on the recipes at this site, they would be taken much more seriously if they have their own recipes posted here. Otherwise, it could look like someone's just going through the recipes and picking them apart. I would hate to see that.
      WI, thanks so much for a great fall recipe that will be made many times, especially this season!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      I too wanted to come in and review this wonderful recipe.I had apples to use up so I thought I would make this. OMG its wonderful. The apples are tender and that crust is just amazing. I like easy recipes and this is it. Taste unblievable!!!!! I bet its even better with ice cream on it. WI its the best recipe, and its a keeper. Though my photos are a little light I still wanted to post to show you I really did make it.......So if anyone is looking for that right recipe THIS is it! LOVED IT!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      These are the type of recipes that stand the test of time. Even if the ingredients might be out of sorts, one would just realize that this recipe is [unfortunately] part of a software glitch that misplaced ingredients listed, deleted some ingredients, and made funny looking measurements; ie - 1/3 cinnamon and 1 eggs, starting in July of this year. Having made many, many recipes from this author - I know to take a moment and check with the chef on the correct ingredient placement. This is one chef you can count on, time and time again for perfect recipes that are absolutely awesome! Will make this as well this week and report back with photos. Thanks for posting, WI!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      I have this in the oven now and it will most likely be pretty good. Unfortunately, the recipe itself needs some editing. Step 2 calls for salt to be mixed with other dry ingredients, yet no salt is listed in the ingredients. (I used 1/2 tsp.) The ingredients list 1 eggs -- I'm sure it meant to use 1 egg. The ingredients are not grouped well. The ones for the sugar/cinnamon topping should be the last ones listed, yet they are mixed in with the rest of the ingredients and I also question the amount of cinnamon. 1/3 tsp couldn't possibly be noticed when mixed with 3/4c of sugar. I used 1-1/2 tsp. I'm sure this will be pretty sweet, but I must say that unless it turns out tasting really good, I won't be bothered making this one again. I don't care to rewrite recipes -- especially the first time making one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I haven't had a Kuchen since leaving North Dakota and although this style is a little different than what is done back home, it was very yummy! Back home a very thin dough is rolled out for the crust and the body of the kuchen is more like a custard dessert. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I love this recipe and it will be replacing my old one. I did think it was heavy on the sugar, will reduce it to 1/3 or 1/2 cup next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      The dough is very yummy. I used 3 granny smiths. But I would have like to have more apples. I feel that one row was not enough. I wanted to put more on top. For us it's too sweet but we still like it. But if I do it again, I'll reduce the sugar. And put more apples. I like the Granny Smith in this. DS who's almost 3 years old loved this. Thanks Wi Cheesehead. Made for Kid Friendly tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Simple, delicious, homey, no unusual ingredients, what more could you ask for? The crust is similar to shortbread, came together like a dream. Could use this crust with canned or fresh peaches, pears, blueberries, etc. Good warm or cold. All 6 in my family gave it a thumbs-up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Excellent German apple cake! DH is German and this is very close to the way his Mother makes it. Mine did need to cook the full 45 minutes. This is very buttery and sweet. I did use the tart Granny Smith apples. It took 3 good size ones to cover the top of the dough. DH had a slice after dinner and told me not to take the rest to far cuz he was going to need another slice before bedtime. Thanks WI Cheesehead for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      I substitute half potion of white sugar with brown sugar, then Ambrosia apples instead of Granny Smith. The taste is a bit milder but aroma of Ambrosias is a lot better than simple Granny Smiths. Love this Apfel Kuchen ^_^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      We enjoyed this kuchen! The pastry was so easy to make in the food processor. A light shortbread type crust that is also tender and flakey with a great butter flavor. I used Empire apples and added a few more but I think I would have preferred a bit tarter apple. This would be very easy to put together for unexpected guests or put in the freezer to bake at a later time. Thank you WI Cheesehead for a nice treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma Geldner's Apfel Kuchen (Apple Kuchen)

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.5
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    42%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 61.9 mg
    20%
    Sodium 204.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 26.3 g
    105%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes