Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma Dolores' Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma Dolores' Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2011

      Fantastic recipe! I made it exactly as presented except didn't have currents/caraway seeds so used ~1/2 cup raisins. Delicious...every other recipe I've tried for Irish Soda Bread has been crumbly and dry, this was moist, crispy crust, beautiful color. Pouring the milk over the lemon juice resulted in a thick smooth result, gave bread a tangy flavor. Cannot say enough about your Grandma's recipe, absolutely perfect! Will make again and again, thanks so much! Served with Irish Stew...mmm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      I love this bread. I'd never had soda bread, but wanted to make something "Irish" for St. Patrick's Day this year. I used this recipe because I didn't have buttermilk. I wonder how it would be with buttermilk, though. I didn't use the raisins or caraway seeds, but it was still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I love soda bread and it's so simple. This is very close to my husband's grandmothers traditional Irish soda bread. I make half with and half without the raisins, currants and caraway seeds because my husband doesn't think it's authentic with (from his childhood anyways).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      This was delicious bread. I used whole wheat flour and soy milk instead, as well as an extra tbsp butter and 1/4 cup raisins. I used golden raisins because I prefer the flavor. The bread was delicious, though a bit crumbly for me. Some other recipes I've seen use an egg, so I think I'll use an egg next time. I added approximately 1/4 cup of flour during the final needing step, which may have contributed to the texture I got. I've never had or made Irish Soda Bread before though, so admittedly I don't know what would be considered "right". Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Best ever!!! It is a scone-like recipe, so must be handled gently. I have never had Irish Soda Bread that wasn't dry and sort of stale tasting, until I made this. I don't know what it tastes like the next day....it is all gone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Lovely and easy to make. I ended up using a different dried fruit as I realized that we didn't have any raisons, but it worked out just fine. Thank you for posting and then recommending this recipe to me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      I made this today as specified (without raisins or caraway- I increased sugar to 1/2c. because I like a little sweet-next time will do 1/4c & with lots of raisins!!Came out sooo good. Great instructions.I have been searching and making different recipes for this recipe since an Irish lady I know makes a wonderful irish soda bread & refused to give me her recipe. I understood it was a family recipe. Anyway THIS is IT & better than hers! Thank-you so much. I'll be making this one from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma Dolores' Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (652 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 204.0
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    25%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 15.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 410.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites