Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma Brown's Gingerbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma Brown's Gingerbread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2009

      Oh yummy! This was delicious! I upped the ginger to 2 teaspoons (this household LOVES ginger) so it has a little bit of a bite in the after taste. This is soft and moist. I divided the batter into cupcake pans and it made about 15 cupcakes and baked it for about 20-22 minutes (rotating halfway through). I also beat the batter for 3-4 minutes until it thickened slightly after I added the eggs. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Very good, and easy to make! I doubled this, and made 9 mini loaves (3x5), which took around 20 min to bake. Thanks Felix!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Great cake. Very moist. My family oved it and we will making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Absolutely delicious and dead easy to make with ingredients that are easy to keep on hand. Fabulous homemade dessert, I followed the recipe exactly, and served it with a brown sugar/apple cider sauce. So yummy. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This turned out fabulous! I made it with splenda for baking (I live with a diabetic with no willpower) and it turned out perfect! My house smells heavenly...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      I've never had gingerbread before and read several recipes on this site before deciding on this one. It was really good and very easy to make. I halved the recipe for just the 2 of us and baked it in an 8x8 glass dish. I served it with Cool Whip. I found it to be more moist the second day. I covered the cooled cake with Press & Seal which I think helped its moistness. I will retry this recipe again. Next time with fresher ground ginger. Thank you for sharing. We enjoyed it. Marianne

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This has got to be the best gingerbread I've ever had. I cooked it just as the recipe says and cooked it for 28 minutes. I just had a peice right out of the oven with some extra creamy whipped topping...YUMMY! You will not be disappointed with this recipe. Thanks a million Grandma Brown and Felix4067!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Thank you for sharing your grandmother's recipe. It's beyond wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      I can't believe I didn't rate this recipe last year. Shame on me!!! This is outstanding gingerbread, just what I was looking for. Not too heavy, not too dry. I used a light sorghum molasses, followed the recipe exactly. I tend to be baking-impaired, so when I find a good recipe I clutch it to my bosom. I serve this warm and top this with Darlene Summers' Lemon Sauce # 21838. Truly a gastronomic experience. My daughter and son-in-law are addicted. Thanks for a WONDERFUL, easy, fool-proof, idiot-proof, baking-impaired-proof recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      WOW! This recipe was so delicious! Moist and just amazing with whipped cream. Since I'm the only one who likes gingerbread, I made cup cakes and froze most of them for individual servings later on. Made for Sweet December tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      I also increased the ginger. Try this warm with some lemon curd on top. It's delicious. Wonderful recipe. I know I'll be using it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      Delicious! Light and moist. I love PKG's idea of using this batter for cupcakes. I'll be making this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      This is a very good cake. I had to use spelnda for a diabetic but will eventually make as specified. I may have to up the star points when I do. It is moist. I love gingerbread. Not at all tasteless though I upped the ginger and cinnamon for 1/2 recipe a tiny bit. I used 1 tsp ginger and 2 tsp cinnamon. If anyone says timing is off or that it is dry it only shows they do not know how to cook as all ovens are different so timing will be off for some people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      I'd like to start out by saying WOW!!! This turned out SO GOOD! I bake often and I was thoroughly pleased with this outcome. My family and I are about to decorate the Christmas tree and this will sure help getting into the holiday spirit. I added about a teaspoon of nutmeg, and the cake turned out fluffy and moist. I will adding this to "favorites." Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Although I enjoyed the taste of this recipe, I give it 3 stars because a) you need to have more precise timing on it - you can't just say "it'll take more than 20 minutes". and b) it was quite dense and dry a cake and I followed the recipe to a T. I added allspice and nutmeg to give a bit more flavour - I thought it did it well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      Sorry. Not impressed. I made 2 big batches of it, anticipating a run on the stuff, (in light of the reviews), but it was dry, crumbly and surprisingly lacking in spice. Its main flavor seems to be molasses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Love Gingerbread. I can smell it cooking now. Very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2006

      This is exactly the same recipe my Grandmother uses and boy is it good. The best I have ever had. Even my husband, who doesn't eat many desserts loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      Absolutely the BEST I've ever tasted....In fact, the kids have asked me to make this again this weekend!!! I can do that, because it's so easy to make and the ingredients are right here! The spices are delicate and the texture is tender...I served it with a dollop of Cool Whip on top (extra for the boy...) and it was like something from a storybook for me...To be honest, I tried to take photos, but it was eaten up so fast that the photos did not do this recipe justice -- so I will post photos from this weekend, I promise, Felix! Thank you for sharing this family treasure....It's a keeper for us too! :)UPDATE: I just made this again for the 4th time this year! The kids just can't get enough, and now they ask to "help me make it since it's from scratch"....LOL! So cute...I just love the fact that we have a family heirloom to save and treasure...Thank you again, Beth, for sharing your family's recipe!!! It's been such a joy for us...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      Easy, quick to make and great-tasting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma Brown's Gingerbread

    Serving Size: 1 (60 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 180.6
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    31%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 20.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 172.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites