Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grandma Bessie's Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grandma Bessie's Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2002

      A bottle of ketchup comes in so many sizes as we know. So I added 2 cups in the first time, we enjoyed it but I feel 1 cup would be sufficient. Will fix again using less ketchup. UPDATE: One week later...I wanted to inform you that, Grandma Bessie''s Beef Stew was a complete success this time. The one cup of ketchup was just the right amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2001

      I'm sorry yours turned out like it did. I have personally made this for over 30 years and NEVER once has it tasted like Ketchup. I don't know what you did wrong but I am truly sorry. This is really very good. Granted, it does make a lot. Growing up in a large family you learn to cook for an army.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2001

      This was very easy to make and very good! It does make a big pot but beef stew is easy to freeze. I will definitely make again and keep in my recipe file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2001

      I hope I'll never serve 15. Sounds great. I'm glad that somebody besides myself isn't afraid to use ketchup. The vinegar, and spices. Great stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2002

      Thanks Lali, this turned out so very good. We had company over and Everyone Raved about this. Not much in the way of leftovers either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2001

      This one was a train wreck. I cut the recipe in half and was glad not to waste more ingredients. It had the worst flavor of ketchup. No one in our large family would eat it and had to throw the entire thing away. This was one of those recipes that we wonder how anyone could make this and think it's good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2002

      This recipe turned out great for me. I was particularly drawn to it because my dear grandmother was named Bessie....anyways...turned out wonderfully...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Just a tip about the size of ketchup bottles (since this recipe only calls for "1 bottle," without any specific measurements). A small size glass bottle of ketchup measures about 1 1/4 cups (300ml) and weighs 14 ounces (397grams). Hopefully this will help out those wondering how much ketchup to add when they have a more modern sized ketchup bottle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I made this for my family for Christmas. I doubled the recipe except, I used 1/2 bottle of ketchup, 1/2 a large onion and added fresh bell peppers. I also marinated the beef in a mesquite marinade for 24 hours before cooking. Once together with the veggies, I let it simmer on the stove for 10 hours. It chilled over night in the frigde and was re-heated on at my mom's in about 20 minutes. My family is very picky about what they eat and they have turned down things that I have made for them before, but this time they eat every last drop. Then, my grandmother asked me for the recipe! This is a winner with a few tweeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grandma Bessie's Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.4
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    15%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 38.7 mg
    12%
    Sodium 208.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes