14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was excellent. I am not a huge cranberry fan, nor is most of my family, but this recipe disappeared. One note - it does taste much better if made ahead, and allowed to sit in the refrigerator for a day or so.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ClarkeCC December 13, 2010

Fabulous! I've made this the past 2 years on Thanksgiving, and it's been loved by all. I did halve the sugar, because it just seemed like way too much to me. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelli703 January 03, 2015

I really enjoyed the cranberries prepared this way. My dh had cranberries in a can while I had cranberry bliss. Seriously, they were so good. They made our Christmas dinner that much better. Thank you so much for sharing a recipe that I will make for years to come. Made for Sweet December 2014

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 31, 2014

Excellent! This was my first attempt at making a cranberry sauce and it was a big hit! You can't go wrong with Grand Marnier. I did add a tad bit less of the GM and thought it was perfect for us. I couldn't believe how darn easy the recipe was! Thank you! P.S. I did put the casserole dish on top of a cookie sheet while in the oven - the cranberry sauce did bubble out a tiny bit and the cookie sheet caught it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood November 28, 2014

As I tagged this recipe I did not realize that I needed fresh cranberries, we have only the dry ones here. After searching in the internet I decided to use dried cranberries and add boiling water to restore the water had been removed. After adding water and waiting for a while I decided to add 2 tablespoons of frozen black-red currants mix to give a nicer color. I halved the recipe here the quantities I used: 2 ounces dried cranberries, 2/3 cup water 5/8 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon orange zest (made myself from very tasty Cretan oranges), 1 tablespoon Grand Marnier. I placed the mixture (except liquor) in the oven for about one hour, removed it from the oven placed in a jar and added the Grand Marnier. After quick stirring I closed the jar. Today the liquid was very thick and almost gelatinized and sooo wonderful delicious! I was surprised that the berries were not destroyed or mush, they were still there and the consistency was perfect. I give to this recipe 5 stars (even if I made major changes) for the inspiration of adding Orange Liquor and the cooking way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde November 24, 2014

I love cranberry salads and this is my new favorite. I do add more sugar. Otherwise I cook it as the recipe suggests. It has been a big hit at my group meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladyhawk24 December 23, 2012

Very easy and delicious - makes the house smell like the holidays while it's cooking. I added a tiny pinch of ground cloves to complement the citrus flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen November 27, 2012

Made this earlier today and just had a taste. It is excellent. I will be taking this to Northern Ontario for Christmas dinner. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan2012 December 19, 2008

I've never been much of a cranberry fan -- just took a few bites at Thanksgiving because it seemed un-American not to. But this was downright fabulous!!! Not a single cranberry hater was swayed, but two of us who were very neutral about them before suddenly learned to love 'em. Thank you for sharing a very special recipe, lazyme!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton November 28, 2008

October 30, 2008: A recipe so simple yet tastes out of this world!!!!!! This is a wonderful cranberry sauce with a delicious hint of Grand Marnier!! I will definitely make this recipe over and over, it is one of the best cranberry sauces I have tasted. I used just regular orange juice instead of the concentrate and it turned out great! I used it to add to Apple-Cheddar Turkey Burgers tonight but I can definitely see serving this one at Thanksgiving. Do follow the suggestion of the oven liner because it does boil over a little bit while baking. Thank you so much for posting this wonderful recipe!! Update: Thanksgiving, 2008; made for my Thanksgiving meal and it was a total hit!!! Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee November 27, 2008
Grand Marnier Cranberry Sauce