Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grand Champion Peach Jam Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grand Champion Peach Jam

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2011

      I haven't tried the recipe yet, but wanted to write an answer for Tisme. I helped my mom can peaches for years and years when I was growing up. The way to peal peaches is actually quite simple. First you have a large pot of water boiling on the stove and fill the sink with cold water and ice. Prick the peaches and place the peaches a few at a time in the boiling water for a couple of minutes. You can tell when it's time to take them out when the skins split. Remove them and put them immediately in the cold water. Then the skins will slip right off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      Followed the recipe to the letter with only one exception... I did not have any crystallized ginger on hand. The jam set perfectly, but there are so many spices in this recipe you can't even taste the peach. While I like a little spice now and then, why cover the gorgeous flavor of one of the most luscious fruits in existence? I am really disappointed that I wasted 13 of my beloved peaches on this recipe. I love the way it looks, and sets... but will likely never make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      I didn't make this yet, but I will. Just a note to the soft set jammers - it can take a week for a jelly or jam to set up so don't despair. I made Concord Jelly last week and it is still very soft BUT the jar I have in the fridge is perfectly set. So, patience!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      This didn't set for a long time (days), and I was really afraid I'd messed it up. I finally decided I would try it as an ice cream topping, and lo and behold, it had set up when I wasn't looking. I made the recipe exactly as written, and the flavors meld together to make the best jam I've ever tasted! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      I just made this Jam and it is delicious, but it did not set. I think in needs more the 6 tablespoons of pectin. Next time I made it I will use two boxes of pectin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      Thank you for this recipe! I had to make a few minor tweaks and some tips. #1, it takes about 11 peaches to make 8 cups. I always cut an "x" into the bottom and top of each peach, then dunk them into a pot of boiling water for 2 minutes. I then place the peaches into an ice water bath. The peels should come off very easily. #2, I use my food processor to pulse the fruit. #3, I used a whole box of pectin. I used Sure-Jel. Next time, I will find Pomona Pectin so I can decrease the 7 cups of white sugar. #4, I won't use the clove spice next time. It overpowered the flavor of the jam. Not that I didn't like it, but I want the ginger-peach to shine through. #5, I will add some vanilla to the jam next time, based on some reviews I read. Brilliant! #6, I always add a pat of unsalted butter, which cuts back on the foam. #7 - I freeze a few spoons, so I can dip it into the jam to see if it has thickened enough. Finally: the jam set quite well, but isn't super thick. I'm okay with that. The flavor is delicious...the ginger ratio is perfect. If the clove wasn't there, I'd be even more pleased. I will definitely make this recipe again...in fact I'm putting it on my food blog with a link back to your recipes. Thanks for sharing this one. Love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      This is a fabulous jam! Yummy balance of flavors. When u see allspice etc sometimes u think fall spice ...this is peach 1st with compliment of spices. Onto my experiece...I didn't have powdered pectin so I tried liquid, NOT! I don't know if there is a way but I tried several recommendations for translating liquid:powder and nothing worked for me so I will always use the powder here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      The hardest part of making this wonderful jam is peeling the peaches!
      This is such an easy jam to make, and the taste is just divine.
      Mine set perfectly and the colour is so rich and looks so beautiful.
      Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe mary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Tricks & Warnings: don't chop the peeled peaches, squish them in your clean hands. If the peach is not ripe enough, discard what doesn't come easily off in the hand. This way you'll get both pieces and mashed without any cutting. The warning: I made this with xylitol and not with 7 cups (don't need/want that much sugar) and so used Pamonas Universal Pectin. FOLLOW DIRECTIONS CAREFULLY. first go round I had peach soup and had to open 12 pints and redo the pectin. 2nd warning: CAREFUL with the spices. I got a bit generous and now the undertones of clove etc are overtones. When in doubt, make a small batch and not the double batch I started with. Otherwise it's probably a fine recipe. Only the cook went haywire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      Holy Cow! This stuff is amazing. Like a, where have you been my whole life awesome. The only changes I made was omit the fresh ginger (didn't have any) but added an extra half tablespoon of crystalized ginger. No cloves (hate them) and a weak 1/4t. allspice. I used peaches that I froze last summer and needed to do something with them. As they thawed they were very juicy so I just pureed the entire batch smooth. I have found what I am giving as Christmas gifts this year!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      This was my first time making jam and this jam was absolutely delicious! Unlike some of the other comments, I had no trouble with the jam setting.
      Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Wow oh wow, this is a great recipe! I did make some changes. I used Pomona's pectin which helped me cut back the sugar to only 4 cups. I didn't have ginger on hand, but added Penzey's double vanilla right before I canned the jam. I tested the jam before canning and it was amazing! Hubby had it on a PB&J and really liked it. Can't wait to pass it out to friends. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      The taste of this recipe is AWESOME! However my jam is not setting up by the next day. I am thinking the amount of pectin was not quite enough. I may have to add more pectin and re-jar the jam which is not a step I do not want to have to go through again. Not sure why this happened except that I broke down the peaches in my food processor which created a lot more liquid. I had a feeling when I was comparing this recipes to others that were similar that there would not be enough pectin to make this set up. Still absolutely delicious! I will add an update after I add more pectin if it sets after that.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      I made this today - my very first time making any preserves. Didn't have any ginger, candied or fresh, so I substituted 1 tsp ground ginger. The peaches were Red Havens - Very easy, very beautiful and after taste testing the little bit left in my pot - Delicious! I am so proud of myself and this recipe makes it easy to brag on my jam. Many thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      I love this... I made it 2 years ago and we went through them fast. I want to make again. Perfect on toast for breakfast or a peanut butter sandwich. I have even used it in stuffed french toast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      Wow. My batch is just a few hours old and hasn't set yet, so I can't speak to that, but the combination of spices in this are fantastic. Kudos! I have a feeling I'll be using this one again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      My first try making jam and it came out fantastic! I couldn't be more pleased with the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      All I can say is Fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      My *first* time making jam! And all I've received are compliments! I just made a second batch. Wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      This is wonderful and I made the crstallized ginger recipe (102933) and had that cooking while I cut up my peaches and it was so easy to do, what a cost saver as well. Kudos to you for this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grand Champion Peach Jam

    Serving Size: 1 (2694 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 987.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    83%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 253.9 g
    84%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 250.4 g
    1001%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    powdered fruit pectin

    crystallized ginger

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes