18 Reviews

This soup was a pleasure to make just because it is so colorful. The fact that it has wonderful flavor does not hurt it this reviewer one bit either. Here are a few notes on the way I fixed my roux since megnbrycesmom had some trouble with hers. I put the onions in a small saucepan because I wanted them to sweat as they sauteed. I then added the flour and starch and yes it did get very pasty. But I continued to cook the roux for 2 minutes. Mind you that was not the easiest thing to do but it can be done. I proceeded to add 2 cups of milk into the pan and whisked the best I could since it was a small saucepan. I then strained that into the soup pot with a Tupperware plastic strainer since it had large holds. (Do not use a fine strainer.) Added the onions and what lumps were left back into the saucepan along with the last 2 cups of milk and just went on whisking out those lumps. This worked great! Added the cheese and now I'm enjoying a very nice bowl of broccoli soup with no floury after taste. Thanks Grammy :-) I hope this review will be helpful to those who might not be use to making a thick roux. Made for *1 2 3 Hit Wonders* game 2007

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J December 27, 2007

I just love this soup! I used skim milk, but added lots of cheddar and seasoned with salt and pepper to our personal taste. This is an excellent cheesy broccoli soup that I will be sure to make again! Thank you so much for posting your mom's famous recipe, loof!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev December 01, 2007

I've been eating a lot of soup of late and this is right up there in my top fav's. I chopped the veggies quite small, used 2% milk and old cheddar for a delicious and creamy tasting bowl of goodness. I'd glad I made the full amount. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 22, 2014

This is a great soup. My son liked it so much. It's so yummy with the cheese sauce. Thanks loof :) Made for All you can cook buffet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 15, 2012

Made this as given in the recipe & followed Charlotte J's lead on the roux preparation, ending up with a most wonderful tasting soup! We love soup, whether winter or summer, & this will be a great recipe to keep around! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike January 19, 2012

Cold weather calls for warm soup and this fit the bill nicely. Made as posted and found the soup light and delicate in taste, surprising for the amount of broccoli in there, so glad it didn't overpower the light cheese sauce. Made for RS#51.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive April 12, 2011

Simply delicious and oh, so comforting...nice on a chilly night.

Made for Football Pool, 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamela t. October 29, 2010

It is really cold here in Florida right now and this hit the spot for our lunch today!!! I followed exactly as written, but changed the serving to amount to 1/2 for the 2 of us, as 17 yo DS wouldn't even think to eat this soup, lol. I really like the way the the veggies were cooked in the chicken broth first before adding in the roux mixture. I also agree with Megnbrycesmom's review, never made a roux using cornstarch, only equal amounts of flour and butter and that is why this isn't a five star for us. I couldn't get the flour mixture to brown as there wasn't enough butter to brown it in, and ours tasted like flour, so I added some salt, pepper and onion powder along with some more milk to thin it out. I will definitely use this recipe again, but tweak it by using equal amounts of flour and butter and just cooked the onion in with the rest of the vegetables and am sure this will become a 5 star for us using your method and amounts, other than my tweaking!!! Thanks loof!!! Made for Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 January 03, 2010

Apparently I think that a bunch of broccoli is the same as a HEAD of broccoli! LOL! I have more broccoli than is listed, but I just added a bit more stock and made the rest as listed, including low fat milk and low fat cheddar. Making 8 servings, this counts as 4 WW pts. Made for TYM. Thanks loof! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif November 25, 2009

Fabulous soup! I'd add some pepper...red, black or white. Also added a little sprinkle of salt. For cheese lovers, I'd top with cheese. For me....it was perfect as is. I thought I'd cut the recipe in half, but made a full batch. SO glad I did! Made for Zaar Stars tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 03, 2009
Grammy's Broccoli Soup