Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grammy's Broccoli Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grammy's Broccoli Soup

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2007

      This soup was a pleasure to make just because it is so colorful. The fact that it has wonderful flavor does not hurt it this reviewer one bit either. Here are a few notes on the way I fixed my roux since megnbrycesmom had some trouble with hers. I put the onions in a small saucepan because I wanted them to sweat as they sauteed. I then added the flour and starch and yes it did get very pasty. But I continued to cook the roux for 2 minutes. Mind you that was not the easiest thing to do but it can be done. I proceeded to add 2 cups of milk into the pan and whisked the best I could since it was a small saucepan. I then strained that into the soup pot with a Tupperware plastic strainer since it had large holds. (Do not use a fine strainer.) Added the onions and what lumps were left back into the saucepan along with the last 2 cups of milk and just went on whisking out those lumps. This worked great! Added the cheese and now I'm enjoying a very nice bowl of broccoli soup with no floury after taste. Thanks Grammy :-) I hope this review will be helpful to those who might not be use to making a thick roux. Made for *1 2 3 Hit Wonders* game 2007

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      I just love this soup! I used skim milk, but added lots of cheddar and seasoned with salt and pepper to our personal taste. This is an excellent cheesy broccoli soup that I will be sure to make again! Thank you so much for posting your mom's famous recipe, loof!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      I've been eating a lot of soup of late and this is right up there in my top fav's. I chopped the veggies quite small, used 2% milk and old cheddar for a delicious and creamy tasting bowl of goodness. I'd glad I made the full amount. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      This is a great soup. My son liked it so much. It's so yummy with the cheese sauce. Thanks loof :) Made for All you can cook buffet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      Made this as given in the recipe & followed Charlotte J's lead on the roux preparation, ending up with a most wonderful tasting soup! We love soup, whether winter or summer, & this will be a great recipe to keep around! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      Cold weather calls for warm soup and this fit the bill nicely. Made as posted and found the soup light and delicate in taste, surprising for the amount of broccoli in there, so glad it didn't overpower the light cheese sauce. Made for RS#51.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      Simply delicious and oh, so comforting...nice on a chilly night.

      Made for Football Pool, 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      It is really cold here in Florida right now and this hit the spot for our lunch today!!! I followed exactly as written, but changed the serving to amount to 1/2 for the 2 of us, as 17 yo DS wouldn't even think to eat this soup, lol. I really like the way the the veggies were cooked in the chicken broth first before adding in the roux mixture. I also agree with Megnbrycesmom's review, never made a roux using cornstarch, only equal amounts of flour and butter and that is why this isn't a five star for us. I couldn't get the flour mixture to brown as there wasn't enough butter to brown it in, and ours tasted like flour, so I added some salt, pepper and onion powder along with some more milk to thin it out. I will definitely use this recipe again, but tweak it by using equal amounts of flour and butter and just cooked the onion in with the rest of the vegetables and am sure this will become a 5 star for us using your method and amounts, other than my tweaking!!! Thanks loof!!! Made for Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Apparently I think that a bunch of broccoli is the same as a HEAD of broccoli! LOL! I have more broccoli than is listed, but I just added a bit more stock and made the rest as listed, including low fat milk and low fat cheddar. Making 8 servings, this counts as 4 WW pts. Made for TYM. Thanks loof! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Fabulous soup! I'd add some pepper...red, black or white. Also added a little sprinkle of salt. For cheese lovers, I'd top with cheese. For me....it was perfect as is. I thought I'd cut the recipe in half, but made a full batch. SO glad I did! Made for Zaar Stars tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      This is very good. I did add a little red pepper and a little mustard powder. We loved it..... thanks for posting, we'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      Since I've never really made a roux before I printed out Charlotte's review also and used it as a guide lol. I used whole milk and chopped my onion into very large slivers so I could pick around it. With just a bit extra cheese this was the perfect broccoli soup. Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This is an excellent soup! It was raining all weekend and we just wanted something to heat us up after the cold weather. I had prepared this in the morning as directed only using Charlotte's suggestions by putting the onions in a saucepan and let them sweet, then added the flour and starch. After the paste was formed I added the milk to the roux and whisked. Strained into a soup pot and whisked the lumps out and continue with the recipe. Then I added to my crockpot on the lowest setting 10 hours and continued to cook. After coming home from a football game this and a loaf of french bread made for a hearty warm and delicious meal. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing! ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      I'm going to review this without stars because I'm not sure if my problems were with the recipe or my technique. I followed the recipe exactly, only I have never made a roux that contained cornstarch before. I must have done something wrong because despite my best efforts, the end result had little clumps of roux in it, and the soup tasted of flour. Other than that, the flavor was good, and it smelled wonderful. Made for the "Went to the Market" tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Thank you for posting your mom's recipe; it is delicious! I like that it's thick and creamy, yet has texture and color. I used fat free half and half for the milk. My 2-year-old needed some help with the spoon, but ate a cup himself then ate about half of mine! I will certainly make this yummy "roccowie" soup again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      the only thing I did different is added some cubed leftover thanksgiving turkey(any other time I my have added chicken breast) to the broccoli mixture. It turned out yummy!!! Great recipe I am sure to pass it along!!! thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      Hi loof, I loved the recipe! I tend to over-shop in the grocery store (don't go there if you are hungry) so I had a large stash of broccoli to use. I now have a large stash of Grammy's Broccoli Soup to finish. I think this is a better situation. The flour and cornstarch roux was a nice touch. The flavor was not at all heavy. I have a new appreciation for broccoli! This is now a routine recipe in my rotation of favorites. Thanks loof!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      FANTASTIC is right!!! Your momma's got it goin' on!!! This soup was just what the "comfort food" doctor ordered yesterday. Everyone in the family scarfed bowl after bowl. I did not make any changes at all and it was delicious. I did add some salt, pepper, cajun seasoning, and brewers yeast after it hit the bowl (as a personal taste preference) and it only made it better - if that's truly possible. (: Thanks, loof. Tell your mama she did good! Made for photo tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grammy's Broccoli Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.6
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    52%
    Total Fat 18.6 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 58.0 mg
    19%
    Sodium 619.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes