Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grammie Miller's Swedish Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grammie Miller's Swedish Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2011

      It's apple season again and I stashed this away to make when the apples were the best. I used Macintosh apples, that were right off the tree. This is about the best dessert I have ever had! Everyone here told me to double the recipe next time so they can bring some home!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      This was wonderful! Real comfort food - and very quick and easy to throw together. I wasn't sure what to expect from the topping. It actually made a kind of 'paste' that I was able to spread over the apples and it cooked into a wonderfully light and crispy cross between a batter and a feathery light sponge. I did make some changes to the recipe, but they were minor. Firstly, I made only one pie, using a pyrex pie dish and 4 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and sliced. In deference to the fact that apples just don't have the taste they had in Grammie Miller's time, I tossed the apples with 1 dessertspoon of lemon juice, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and a good pinch of ground cloves. This, I piled into the buttered dish, then sprinkled over the 2 tbs of sugar (which I didn't halve because I'd used lemon juice). I DID halve the ingredients for the topping, using 170g melted butter. As suspected, the juice did spill over a little as it cooked so I was glad I put the pie dish on a baking tray. A wonderful recipe which I am very glad to add to my collection.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      Linda, my husband said this was the best apple pie he's ever eaten! I halved the recipe and had only 4 apples (seemed to be enough) . Beat sugar and egg till creamy white, then added melted butter (didn't have margarine) and beat more. Added a bit of nutmeg to apples and less cinnamon (personal taste: I always put less cinnamon/cloves recipes ask for) . Baked in a deep, round dish. and covered apples neatly with the thick batter. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      I made this pie to bring to my grandmother's house for our Thanksgiving dinner which we had early this year. This pie was the talk of the table as we ate each bite. The flavors are just awesome and everyone around the table gave it thumbs up! I loved the nuts with the apples and topping. This is easy to prepare and oh so good! Served with ice cream it will be enjoyed time and again all year long at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Boy, did I get the ooh's and aah's from this recipe! I only made 1 pie and I sure wish I would have made the 9 x 13. My family just loved it. Many thanks for making my day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

    • on September 06, 2008

      When I saw Swedish Apple Pie I had to check if it was the same as my mom's recipe. It is and it is indeed wonderful. My mom's secret was to add a dash or two of rum extract too. Try it! It's terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I have been into cooking some Swedish recipes and this one looked real good Linda. I made it when we had company and let me tell you they were very impressed with the great flavor of this delicious Apple Pie. Not your usual pie for sure. Much better IMHO :) I served our dessert with a good helping of Vanilla ice cream and we ate right down to the last bite! Roni

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Simply wonderful! I enjoyed this so much! Apples makes some of the most wonderful and satisfying dessert! This combination is not only delicious, but comforting as well. I love the addition of the walnuts. I made half the recipe, filling one pie pan. Thank you, Linda's Busy Kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      wow, somehow i forgot to review this. It was great! I scaled this in tow and used reduced fat butter for the margine and 1/2 splenda 1/2 sugar for the sugar. Instead of nuts i used dried cranberries to replace the volume

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • I made an excellent choice making this pie last night for dessert. We couldn't leave it alone, and it got rave reviews from all. I can't wait to share the recipe with my friends and family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      One of the best pies I have ever had. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      I made this yesterday and took it to work to share with the girls. It was just wonderful! Everyone wanted the recipe! I used two different kinds of apples and 2 tbs. cinnamon instead of 2 tsps. Baked in a large 15 by 11 pan and it took about 1 hour to bake. DELICIOUS! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2004

      thank you, this is great. I cut the recipe in half and used raisens instead of walnuts. My husband said please make this again. It would be good with custard sauce on it also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grammie Miller's Swedish Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 470.1
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    36%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 160.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.1 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 51.4 g
    205%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites