14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It's apple season again and I stashed this away to make when the apples were the best. I used Macintosh apples, that were right off the tree. This is about the best dessert I have ever had! Everyone here told me to double the recipe next time so they can bring some home!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MixingItAllUp September 28, 2011

This was wonderful! Real comfort food - and very quick and easy to throw together. I wasn't sure what to expect from the topping. It actually made a kind of 'paste' that I was able to spread over the apples and it cooked into a wonderfully light and crispy cross between a batter and a feathery light sponge. I did make some changes to the recipe, but they were minor. Firstly, I made only one pie, using a pyrex pie dish and 4 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and sliced. In deference to the fact that apples just don't have the taste they had in Grammie Miller's time, I tossed the apples with 1 dessertspoon of lemon juice, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and a good pinch of ground cloves. This, I piled into the buttered dish, then sprinkled over the 2 tbs of sugar (which I didn't halve because I'd used lemon juice). I DID halve the ingredients for the topping, using 170g melted butter. As suspected, the juice did spill over a little as it cooked so I was glad I put the pie dish on a baking tray. A wonderful recipe which I am very glad to add to my collection.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kookaburra June 11, 2005

Linda, my husband said this was the best apple pie he's ever eaten! I halved the recipe and had only 4 apples (seemed to be enough) . Beat sugar and egg till creamy white, then added melted butter (didn't have margarine) and beat more. Added a bit of nutmeg to apples and less cinnamon (personal taste: I always put less cinnamon/cloves recipes ask for) . Baked in a deep, round dish. and covered apples neatly with the thick batter. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsK July 15, 2012

I made this pie to bring to my grandmother's house for our Thanksgiving dinner which we had early this year. This pie was the talk of the table as we ate each bite. The flavors are just awesome and everyone around the table gave it thumbs up! I loved the nuts with the apples and topping. This is easy to prepare and oh so good! Served with ice cream it will be enjoyed time and again all year long at my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImAGourmetChef November 19, 2010

Boy, did I get the ooh's and aah's from this recipe! I only made 1 pie and I sure wish I would have made the 9 x 13. My family just loved it. Many thanks for making my day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY October 22, 2009

When I saw Swedish Apple Pie I had to check if it was the same as my mom's recipe. It is and it is indeed wonderful. My mom's secret was to add a dash or two of rum extract too. Try it! It's terrific.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
npreardon September 06, 2008

I have been into cooking some Swedish recipes and this one looked real good Linda. I made it when we had company and let me tell you they were very impressed with the great flavor of this delicious Apple Pie. Not your usual pie for sure. Much better IMHO :) I served our dessert with a good helping of Vanilla ice cream and we ate right down to the last bite! Roni

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunny In Florida August 22, 2008

Simply wonderful! I enjoyed this so much! Apples makes some of the most wonderful and satisfying dessert! This combination is not only delicious, but comforting as well. I love the addition of the walnuts. I made half the recipe, filling one pie pan. Thank you, Linda's Busy Kitchen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev February 22, 2008

wow, somehow i forgot to review this. It was great! I scaled this in tow and used reduced fat butter for the margine and 1/2 splenda 1/2 sugar for the sugar. Instead of nuts i used dried cranberries to replace the volume

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba February 11, 2008
Grammie Miller's Swedish Apple Pie