Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-38 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2008

      Seriously some of the best icing I've ever had! All of my friends love it too, and even my super-picky sister. Thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Here's an update: I have used this frosting several times now and just have to spread the word that it is definately my favorite! I love the taste, how it can be molded on the cake with a knife and the fact that it's not overly sweet like some of the other recipes I have. This is the one I am using from now on. Amazing no matter what cake you put it on! Thanks Linda again! --------I made this to top a cake that Linda posted for Grammie Bea's Crisco Yellow Cake. This frosting and cake were wonderful! I will be making this frosting on lots of cakes in the future, including more of Linda's cake recipes. Thanks Linda for another satisfied sweet tooth! Sally Cooks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      This makes such a lovely frosting that we truly enjoyed on our Wacky Cake that I made. The frosting set on the cake and we loved the fact it wasn't that sicky sweet gooey frosting that so many frostings are. I will treasure this recipe now that I have it. It is so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      didn't care for the frosting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Absolutely love this frosting! It sets up nicely and is not overly sweet like a lot of other frostings. I made to top our Wacky cake and it's a winner all the way to the table! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      This frosting was incredibly easy to make and it tasted great too. One thing to note is that the frosting sets/dries pretty quickly. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      This is the recipe my mother-in-law used for 30 years when she had a bakery. It was her frosting of choice for wedding and birthday cakes. We used this when we decorated the wedding cake for my husband and I. This frosting is lighter and lasts a bit longer than buttercream. For flavor variation, you could use 1/2 to 1 teaspoon orange or lemon extract, according to preference. Thank you Linda for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I'm absolutely amazed at how good this is! I used non-dairy creamer in place of the milk, also butter-flavored Crisco. Followed another reviewer's recommendation and put everything together in bowl then beat for 5 minutes. Used it on Eggless Vegan Carrot Cake Cupcakes. This is tasty and creamy and I'm delighted to have discovered this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I have made this recipe several times now, as everyone keeps asking me to make it! Made with Linda's recipe for Grammie Bea's Crisco Yellow Cake. We absolutely loved this frosting with the cake. I will use this often on all the cakes I bake, as this frosting is not as sweet and gooey as many are. Great frosting and one we truly enjoy on many of the cakes I make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      So delicious and rich! I made Wacky Chocolate Cake Wacky Chocolate Cake, and topped with this frosting. Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      really great frosting! used this on cupcakes and it was marvelous! just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I made Grammie Bea's Yellow Crisco Cake and made this frosting to go with it. Excellent frosting and one that I will be using often. Next time I think I will try adding some cocoa to it to try Chocolate frosting. Great recipe Linda! Charl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This icing was so awesome! I made it to go on a chocolate cake. I made a 9x13 pan and it was the perfect amount! It looks kind of like a glaze once it dries. It went into my favorite recipe folder. It's a keeper! Thanks for passing you gram's secret on to us! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      I made this today to go with a cake I was making for a baby shower and it was just wonderful! Thank you for posting it here for us Linda. This really is the best! Now I can't wait to use it with some of my other cake recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This recipe is almost identical to the one I have been using since 1975 that I found in the Wilton Cake decorating book! It has been my gold standard for years. I have stopped using Crisco and subbed unsalted butter when I learned about Trans-fats. But now Crisco makes a No Trans-fats version, so I am back using Crisco. If you want a perfectly white icing then go with Crisco, but if that is not an issue, you can also use half butter, half Crisco, which gives it a nice flavor. I use Evaporated skim milk which makes it creamier (with slightly less fat). One other thing that I have learned over the years that simplifies this, is to put all the ingredients in the electric mixer all at once, and let it run for 5 full minutes, scraping the sides every so often. It incorporates more air and the frosting is lighter and makes the consistency just perfect for spreading. I suppose Grammie Bea is of my generation, and I agree with Busy Kitchen that this is "The Best" frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      this frosting must be good,as it was reccomended on my Wacky cake recipe along with 11 others.will give it a try sometime.Rose

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Found reference to this recipe on 12 different reviews posted on September 26 and just had to take a look for myself! This is very similar to a recipe I use to make . . . a copy cat of Fred Sanders Bakery in Detroit! I'll have to see if I can find it and see if it's the same!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Excellent! I had company coming last evening and was looking for a really good cake to serve along with ice cream. I made this frosting to go along with the cake recipe Grammie Bea's Crisco Yellow Cake. I have to say this frosting really added to this wonderful cake. This frosting is one of the best I have ever tried, and different from many others I have tried in the past. I liked it a lot! I will definately be filing both these recipes into my favorites to make again and again. Thank you Grammie Bea, and Thank you Linda for sharing it with us here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (483 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1916.6
     
    Calories from Fat 481
    25%
    Total Fat 53.4 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 1200.5 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 363.0 g
    121%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 353.1 g
    1412%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites