38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This frosting was awesome... I doubled the frosting and made a 9x13 white cake and chocolate cake and had the right amount of frosting. The only thing I changed was I used cream bouquet instead of vanilla. My whole family loved the texture and flavor. My daughter took the recipe home with her. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamerLex December 27, 2009

We made just a half batch and it was delicious. Just what I needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 August 04, 2009

The best vanilla frosting around! I won't use any other from now on! So easy to whip up, it's a keeper! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryGourmetQueen June 25, 2009

The best thing about this frosting is how easy it is to make - I had everything on hand, didn't have to cook anything, and just mixed it up with my hand-mixer until it was smooth and creamy. I couldn't keep my fingers out of it! SOOOOO good! Rich vanilla flavor. Will use this recipe again - thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady June 03, 2009

Great recipe for very stable frosting to decorate cakes. I did not enjoy the flavor of the shortening (hydrogenated oil). It has a chemical flavor that I don't like. Nice stability, will keep in the fridge for weeks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaterBug! :) May 10, 2009

If it is easy, tasty and foolproof, it's five star. Made this to go on top of a Christmas dessert--no pieces of cake left.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers December 21, 2008

This is a great cake decorating frosting. I made 4 times as much as the recipe called for and it was not only a breeze to make but a breeze to color and use. The best thing about it is that it isn't too sweet. So even a large piece of Elmo cake didn't taste like a glob of frosting with a wee bit of cake ... Thanks Grammie Bea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie November 13, 2008

I saw this frosting and with the great review just posted, I simply had to make it. I started looking through Linda's recipes and found Grammie Bea's Chopped Apple Cake, so decided what better cake to make it on than Grammie Bea's :) What a delicious frosting and cake! I will be using this frosting from now on. No more of that sweet sweet frosting for me. This one is a stellar recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriendlyChefy October 04, 2008

Best frosting on earth!!!!!! Tastes great on Wacky cake and on Red Velvet Cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird October 02, 2008
Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting