38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This frosting is really sweet, it goes very well with my healthy version cupcakes, since they're not super sweet. I think paired with a sweet cake/cupcake recipe it might be a little too much. Very yummy and very simple.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseyluu2005_11125829 February 20, 2011

I put this frosting on my spiced apple cake!!! ""omg"" deelish!!!! Luv luv this recipe!!! Thankyou for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tammyriccijulian December 14, 2010

I'm sorry to say I just don't see what the fuss is about. To me this was just about the same as any other buttercream type frosting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma November 24, 2008

I tried this frosting and have to say that there is too much salt in the recipe. I don't even know why salt would be in a frosting recipe anyway. Would not recommend this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JMS14450 September 28, 2012

I have made this recipe twice. The first time I made it with Crisco, vanilla and almond extract. The second time, I made it with half butter and half Crisco plus vanilla and almond extract. It sets up best with 100% Crisco, of course. But what I forgot when I made it the second time is that there is way too much salt in the recipe. I'd say that 1/8 teaspoon is just right, but 1/2 teaspoon is just too salty. I added a few drops of red food coloring to the milk to tint the icing pink.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
persnicketyanne August 31, 2012

Delicious! This tasted great on recipe # #429814 Birthday Spice Cake. I took it to Guadalupe House and got great reviews.
Thank you for posting.
I put it on a chocolate cake this time - delicious again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thejonesgal June 15, 2011

AMAZING!!!! Tastes so good! Will be using this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookqueen/mom January 15, 2011

I used this recipe and although it was similar to my vanilla frosting recipe, this was much creamier. I am going to use it on cookies this weekend with my grandchildren. Thanks for a great easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumdrop March 02, 2010

I made this frosting to top Valentine Cookie Pops for my kids for Valentine's Day. Of course I had to sample one and this frosting was just what I was looking for. It hardened up just enough so it didn't stick to the wrap I wrapped the cookies in. I look forward to using this frosting often on cakes, cupcakes etc. It's great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Angie** February 12, 2010

great frosting-I tried another recipe and this is much better. I used this to frost a chocolate cake with strwaberry filling-thanks nat

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover January 03, 2010
Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting