Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2011

      This frosting is really sweet, it goes very well with my healthy version cupcakes, since they're not super sweet. I think paired with a sweet cake/cupcake recipe it might be a little too much. Very yummy and very simple.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      I put this frosting on my spiced apple cake!!! ""omg"" deelish!!!! Luv luv this recipe!!! Thankyou for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I'm sorry to say I just don't see what the fuss is about. To me this was just about the same as any other buttercream type frosting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      I tried this frosting and have to say that there is too much salt in the recipe. I don't even know why salt would be in a frosting recipe anyway. Would not recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      I have made this recipe twice. The first time I made it with Crisco, vanilla and almond extract. The second time, I made it with half butter and half Crisco plus vanilla and almond extract. It sets up best with 100% Crisco, of course. But what I forgot when I made it the second time is that there is way too much salt in the recipe. I'd say that 1/8 teaspoon is just right, but 1/2 teaspoon is just too salty. I added a few drops of red food coloring to the milk to tint the icing pink.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      Delicious! This tasted great on recipe # #429814 Birthday Spice Cake. I took it to Guadalupe House and got great reviews.
      Thank you for posting.
      I put it on a chocolate cake this time - delicious again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      AMAZING!!!! Tastes so good! Will be using this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I used this recipe and although it was similar to my vanilla frosting recipe, this was much creamier. I am going to use it on cookies this weekend with my grandchildren. Thanks for a great easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      I made this frosting to top Valentine Cookie Pops for my kids for Valentine's Day. Of course I had to sample one and this frosting was just what I was looking for. It hardened up just enough so it didn't stick to the wrap I wrapped the cookies in. I look forward to using this frosting often on cakes, cupcakes etc. It's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      great frosting-I tried another recipe and this is much better. I used this to frost a chocolate cake with strwaberry filling-thanks nat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      This frosting was awesome... I doubled the frosting and made a 9x13 white cake and chocolate cake and had the right amount of frosting. The only thing I changed was I used cream bouquet instead of vanilla. My whole family loved the texture and flavor. My daughter took the recipe home with her. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I used this frosting to frost Grammie Bea's Crisco Yellow Cake, and it was a great frosting that really went well together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      We made just a half batch and it was delicious. Just what I needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      The best vanilla frosting around! I won't use any other from now on! So easy to whip up, it's a keeper! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      The best thing about this frosting is how easy it is to make - I had everything on hand, didn't have to cook anything, and just mixed it up with my hand-mixer until it was smooth and creamy. I couldn't keep my fingers out of it! SOOOOO good! Rich vanilla flavor. Will use this recipe again - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      Great recipe for very stable frosting to decorate cakes. I did not enjoy the flavor of the shortening (hydrogenated oil). It has a chemical flavor that I don't like. Nice stability, will keep in the fridge for weeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      If it is easy, tasty and foolproof, it's five star. Made this to go on top of a Christmas dessert--no pieces of cake left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      This is a great cake decorating frosting. I made 4 times as much as the recipe called for and it was not only a breeze to make but a breeze to color and use. The best thing about it is that it isn't too sweet. So even a large piece of Elmo cake didn't taste like a glob of frosting with a wee bit of cake ... Thanks Grammie Bea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I saw this frosting and with the great review just posted, I simply had to make it. I started looking through Linda's recipes and found Grammie Bea's Chopped Apple Cake, so decided what better cake to make it on than Grammie Bea's :) What a delicious frosting and cake! I will be using this frosting from now on. No more of that sweet sweet frosting for me. This one is a stellar recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Best frosting on earth!!!!!! Tastes great on Wacky cake and on Red Velvet Cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (483 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1916.6
     
    Calories from Fat 481
    25%
    Total Fat 53.4 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 1200.5 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 363.0 g
    121%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 353.1 g
    1412%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes