Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grammie Bea's New England Boiled Dinner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grammie Bea's New England Boiled Dinner

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2009

      Since I'm a native from New England I just had to try your recipe for boiled dinner! We love ham more than corn beef, so this was right up our alley! I used a 9 lb. smoked shoulder that yielded lots of meat. I made a pea soup with the leftovers. My family inhaled this meal and went back to the fixings more than once! Other than sprinkling the cabbage with a little vinegar, and adding butter and pepper to my carrots and potatoes, nothing needed anything else to bring out the simple flavors of this delicious combination! Yes JCC I have to agree, this is outstanding and something even the beginner cook can make with much success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2014

      This is the way my Mom and I usually cooked this in New England. One change though. After boiling shoulder, I pour water into cabbage and potato mixture in another pot instead of throwing it out. Then I add fresh water to the shoulder to finish cooking. The ham flavor is infused with vegetables and gives it a wonderful taste. No need to add spices since shoulder's water already has the salty flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      This recipe is outstanding! I changed the water twice to make sure the Ham Shoulder was not salty. I added parsnips and turnip to list of vegetables. The meat was so tender and not salty and the veggies were perfect. Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      My Mom always served this with a horseradish white sauce like a gravy. Amazing! We are making it for Christmas!! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      I made this for friends last week. They loved it! Love the idea of boiling and draining at the beginning to make the ham less salty. This is especially important if you are forced to buy a brand that you haven't purchased before and don't know how salty it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      i love the recipe,i'm from Maine and it's just like the ham boiled dinner my mother used to make.glad that i found this particular recipe.thanks Grammie Bea i just love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      The flavor from the ham shoulder was fantastic! It wasn't salty which is a big plus with us, and the flavor of the ham really came through. We made sandwiches with the leftovers, and they were great too! What a great Sunday dinner Linda. My whole family thanks you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This is very similar to my familys recipe and very good. We used what was called a cottage-ham and added garlic and cooked every thing all at once. Very good recipe, simple and tasty. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grammie Bea's New England Boiled Dinner

    Serving Size: 1 (1148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1278.1
     
    Calories from Fat 481
    37%
    Total Fat 53.4 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 17.7 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 312.4 mg
    104%
    Sodium 7927.4 mg
    330%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.5 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 13.2 g
    53%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 114.9 g
    229%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites