11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a very moist and delicious cake. Sweetness of it was right on. It was so very light. Used cool whip on top and it just made it. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn August 21, 2010

Not too sweet; an excellent treat! I made these as muffins this morning for breakfast. My DH ate 3 & I hate to admit it, but I did too. I used 3 apples & a heaping tsp of cinnamon & they were fantastic. This recipe made 16 muffins for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EB1Kenobi April 25, 2009

I made following the recipe, and the spices were right on. I did add 1 c. chopped walnuts. My cake looked nothing like the picture posted, in texture or color. It must be because Bayhill used lots more spices and cut the oil. Mine was lighter in color and super moist. I used Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting to ice the cake, since I was making her cake, and this cake was in a class all it's own. 5 stars all the way for this delicious fall treat! We will make this again and again because it's so wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriendlyChefy October 04, 2008

It's pretty good. I'd use less sugar and more spice, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook September 23, 2008

Delicious! We loved this moist, lightly spiced cake. I used "heaping" amounts of the cinnamon and nutmeg. Also, to reduce the fat a little, I used 1/4 c. oil and 1/4 c. applesauce instead of the full amount of oil. My family loved this and gave it 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful cake...it is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill January 31, 2008

the texture is great but for our tastes it needed more spice, I did add in 2 teaspoons Mexican vanilla but next time I will add in more cinnamon and nutmeg, I will make again, thanks Linda!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 25, 2008

Oh Linda, this cake is "Heavenly"! We had it with French Vanilla ice cream for dessert and we couldn't leave it alone. It's almost gone! Thanks so much for sharing it with all of us. Becky

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckyjacobs54 January 15, 2008

I made this today for a baby shower and everyone thought it was incredibly delicious! This is my first recipe to be made on this site, so I am really looking forward to trying some more. Great recipe Grammie Bea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlllin9 November 03, 2007

My husband and I are really enjoying this cake. My only comment is that I found it difficult to get it cooked properly. It was getting very brown on top before the center was completely done. I have to say, though, it tastes good with the extra-moist center! Great flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maggiepcs October 10, 2007

Outstanding is dcefinitely the word to describe this. I made cupcakes and had to eat about four of them to be sure I had actually made something THAT delicious. I did change it a little bit, only using a heaping half-cup of sugar, a quarter-cup of oil (with some applesauce to make up for the rest) and subbing cardamom for the nutmeg. Frosted with cream cheese frosting, it was the best cake I've had in recent memory AND it stayed moist for two days in and out of the fridge! Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vye367 September 06, 2007
Grammie Bea's Chopped Apple Cake