Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grammie Bea's Chopped Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grammie Bea's Chopped Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2010

      This is a very moist and delicious cake. Sweetness of it was right on. It was so very light. Used cool whip on top and it just made it. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Not too sweet; an excellent treat! I made these as muffins this morning for breakfast. My DH ate 3 & I hate to admit it, but I did too. I used 3 apples & a heaping tsp of cinnamon & they were fantastic. This recipe made 16 muffins for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I made following the recipe, and the spices were right on. I did add 1 c. chopped walnuts. My cake looked nothing like the picture posted, in texture or color. It must be because Bayhill used lots more spices and cut the oil. Mine was lighter in color and super moist. I used Grammie Bea's Special Vanilla Frosting to ice the cake, since I was making her cake, and this cake was in a class all it's own. 5 stars all the way for this delicious fall treat! We will make this again and again because it's so wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      It's pretty good. I'd use less sugar and more spice, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Delicious! We loved this moist, lightly spiced cake. I used "heaping" amounts of the cinnamon and nutmeg. Also, to reduce the fat a little, I used 1/4 c. oil and 1/4 c. applesauce instead of the full amount of oil. My family loved this and gave it 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful cake...it is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      the texture is great but for our tastes it needed more spice, I did add in 2 teaspoons Mexican vanilla but next time I will add in more cinnamon and nutmeg, I will make again, thanks Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Oh Linda, this cake is "Heavenly"! We had it with French Vanilla ice cream for dessert and we couldn't leave it alone. It's almost gone! Thanks so much for sharing it with all of us. Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      I made this today for a baby shower and everyone thought it was incredibly delicious! This is my first recipe to be made on this site, so I am really looking forward to trying some more. Great recipe Grammie Bea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      My husband and I are really enjoying this cake. My only comment is that I found it difficult to get it cooked properly. It was getting very brown on top before the center was completely done. I have to say, though, it tastes good with the extra-moist center! Great flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      Outstanding is dcefinitely the word to describe this. I made cupcakes and had to eat about four of them to be sure I had actually made something THAT delicious. I did change it a little bit, only using a heaping half-cup of sugar, a quarter-cup of oil (with some applesauce to make up for the rest) and subbing cardamom for the nutmeg. Frosted with cream cheese frosting, it was the best cake I've had in recent memory AND it stayed moist for two days in and out of the fridge! Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      This cake was excellent, light and moist. I brought it to work and it was gone in about 10 minutes. Everyone just raved about it. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grammie Bea's Chopped Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.6
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    39%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 17.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 208.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 18.9 g
    75%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites