Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grammie Bea's Boston Baked Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grammie Bea's Boston Baked Beans

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on July 16, 2008

      I have made these bean from a recipe book called "Cooking Down East." To take the "toot" out of these beans, I soaked them overnight then parboiled them until the skins wrinkled. When they were at that boiling point I dumped some baking soda in. You will find them froth and bubble which removes the gas. I then rinsed them and proceeded with this delicious recipe. I cook mine in a crock pot on low 6-7 hours, keeps the house cook and saves on energy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      Yes, this is a very good recipe! In fact, except for the directions it is exactly how my family has been enjoying baked beans for generations. I have been baking beans professionally for over 35 years! More often than not, following directions such as found in Linda's recipe will not be problematic. Case-in-point, I had a big catered event last week and tried to make Boston Baked Beans like my Gram used to make. Well, it was a disaster. Turns out that here in Bethel Alaska we have very hard water with a high calcium content. which resulted in even harder beans. You need to be careful when using dry beans! Check out this article and find out how to avoid getting tough beans: http://www.kitchensavvy.com/journal/2005/02/tough_beans.html Good eating... Michael Callahan Executive Chef YKDRH. Bethel, Alaska http://ChefCallahan.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      very good, I used thick sliced bacon in place of the salt pork and also added in 2 heaping teaspoonfuls of crushed chili flakes, I also added in 2 heaping tablespoonfuls of fresh garlic and a green bell pepper, thanks for sharing Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Great flavor but took a long time in this high altitude. I did a quick soap but boiled for 5 min. then set for 4 hours. Drained and fresh water and ingredients, cooked for 8 hours and the next day cooked 4 more and the day of serving 2 more hours to thicken up like I wanted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      We loved these beans! Not too sweet and full of flavor, just like we like them! I did soak the beans overnight, drained and put the beans into pot, then followed the directions. I added boiling water to cover the beans and then baked them at 200 degrees overnight for 8 hours. They were perfect and not mushy at all. I did have to get up a couple of times to add water to the top of the beans, so they didn't dry out. Great beans Linda!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      Delicious and easy! I've made this twice with slight changes and it is great! I soaked the beans overnight before putting them in the crockpot. The original was too sweet for me, so I reduced the sugar slightly and used 1/2 brown sugar. I also added some barbeque sauce and used diced bacon instead of the salt pork. I cooked it for 8 hours in the crockpot on low. They came out perfectly! I want to try this using maple syrup for the sweetener!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      Great recipe! I have made this several times now. I always soak them over night, boil them for a few minutes, then put in my bean crock in the oven for the 8 hours. Taste delicious!! Thank you for an easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      Totally, completely worth the time. I don't eat pork, so I added about a tsp of liquid smoke at the beginning. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Wow! I really enjoyed these beans and like the sugar flavor. I normally use only brown sugar and don't eat much refined sugar at all. Perhaps that's why. Now the recipe is no longer "naked." I posted a photo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      So good. I did use a ham hock in place of the salt pork and it worked wonderfully. I let these cook for 9 hours and they had delicious flavor. What an old fashion dish that is so good. I loved these and plan on using them alot more, as I always have dried beans in the house. Thank you for sharing this family recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      Great recipe. I did, though, soak the dry beans over night and since I didn't have molasses I added hiney as it's substitute and added more brown sugar than it had ask for. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      What am I doing wrong? I've made this recipe twice now - following it to the letter. The first time I cooked the beans for 8 hours, and realized the next day that I forgot to put the lid on the pot. Whoops! My bad. This past Friday I made them again, with the lid on at 200 degrees. When the water got low I added a bit more. At 8 hours I took a taste and saw that they were still crunchy so I ordered pizza for my roomie and I and cooked them another 5 hours. We had them saturday night, and before serving I heated them in the oven again and "boiled" them at 450 for awhile. They were still crunchy - not hard just a bit over al dente. I think this recipe isn't for me as it has now defeated me twice. Any suggestions on how to work it, because it sounds so yummy and I hate admitting defeat. Thanks M.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      I made these today and the taste was wonderful, the reason for 4 stars is I started my beans at 8:00am and we ate at 7:00pm the they still were not as soft as they should have been. I followed the directions exactly. I will try this again but next time I will soak the beans all night to soften them and see if that makes a difference. Great flavor and definately worth making again, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This is just like my grandmother's recipe. I appreciate you sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Super Super recipe! One of the best I ever got from Zaar. The only change/addition I made was to put 2 strips of bacon on top of the beans when I put them in the oven. I will short the water just a little next time so the sauce will be a little thicker. Loved the technique, so little work! For such good beans! Linda, thanks soooo much! Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Great recipe, a little too sweet for us ( we are just like that thou! ) ... I have printed this off and will make this again this winter : D Thanks for posting this recipe : D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      I have to tell you, these are some good beans! I made some to go with The Blue Mill Tavern Loosemeat Sandwich, and it is a great combo to have together! These beans are the best and deserve 5+ stars from this peanut gallery!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      These were excellent baked beans and ones we enjoyed very much!! We had these as a side for our dinner with ribs, chicken and coleslaw. This recipe really blew me away and has fast become my favorite. I will be using this when I have catering jobs and competitions in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      These beans had great flavor. It was my first time trying to make baked beans. I did use a crock pot and I think I added too much water but they were still delicious. I think I'll try baking them as directed next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I have to tell you these beans went over very well with my family. We had along with some ribs and this was such a nice addition to our meal. The beans were so flavorful and everyone thought they were just terrific! This is my go to bean recipe from now on. They are just right!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grammie Bea's Boston Baked Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 759.3
     
    Calories from Fat 288
    37%
    Total Fat 32.0 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 32.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 944.2 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.7 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 27.3 g
    109%
    Sugars 25.9 g
    103%
    Protein 25.0 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites