Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Grainy Vegetable Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grainy Vegetable Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2002

      I added more grain and used tapioca instead of rutabaga, resulting in a delicious stew-like concoction. Great stuff! Thanks for this delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2002

      This is a real stick to the ribs soup. Great flavor - the flavor is rather hard to discribe it is almost spicy but yet suble, it must be the just right combination of veggies and herbs. As said inexpensive and very satisfying. It is a meal in a bowl and produces 6 generous servings. I used a combination or brown rice, Barley & mixed lentils Thanks Lernnie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2002

      This was wonderful! I added a can of Rotel tomatoes and I used broccoli instead of the rutabagas. I may add some mushrooms next time. It is super easy and the very flavor rich. I highly recommend it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      Sorry, this was just okay for me. I guess I should've left out the thyme (used only a little) as I really don't care for it that much and it was still overpowering. It was a good thickness and a good way to use up some extra veggies in the vegetable drawer. Makes some good Lenten lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

    • on February 01, 2010

      Although I made a few substitutions due to ingredients on hand, i.e., kashi, bulgur & brown lentils for grains, extra vegetables and cumin to the spice list..... this was fabulous!!!!!! Probably the best vegetable soup I've ever made. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      This is delishous, hardy stew. I added 1 tsp. of cumin, just because, and used split peas instead of lentils. Sticks to your ribs. thanks for the great recipie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I normally make big batches of soup on the weekend and freeze them in individual serving sizes for lunch. I didn't have any soups in my freezer to grab for today's lunch so I got up early to make this soup. I am eating it now for lunch and it is soooo good and satisfying. I used celery instead of the rutabagas. I will definitely add this to my lunch rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I loved the texture that the different grains gave the soup. I used wild rice for the regular. I did not use rutabagabut used celery instead. I did brown one pound of ground beef and added a can of cream of celery soup and white beans at the end and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      Used kumara instead of rutabaga, left out the cabbage (none on hand) and threw in some leftover roast chicken. Delicious! Definitely making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      I actually made this a long time ago but forgot to rate it - sorry! This is a staple for me now. Very easy, full of healthy veggies, and a great way to use up small amounts of grains. I also found it easily adaptable. Thanks for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      Sorry about that Lennie, wrong soup:) We did make this soup, it was very filling. I'm not fond of barley so we just upped the rice a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grainy Vegetable Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (377 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.5
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    23%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 391.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites