18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Pretty good recipe to try, especially when you run out of eggs and want to make some kind of cookie. A few suggestions to dress up the graham crackers a little: 1) Prick the tops with a fork before baking. 2) Spread honey on the tops before baking; or wet the tops with a little water, and then sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar before baking.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Scone October 12, 2001

I loved it. I have been looking for a graham cracker recipe for the longest time. It was easy to prepare and I did sprinkle a little cinnamon and sugar on the top before baking. Thank you so much!!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dayla September 20, 2002

Honestly, I was leery after reading the reviews. I needed something for my 2 year old to snack on so decided to try this. I upped the milk from 1/4 to 1/2 cup. It is really dry here and so I ended up adding another 1/4 cup for a total of 3/4 cup of milk to the recipe. You'll know when you have the right consistency. I also took the suggestion of brushing the tops with butter and sprinkling with cinnamon sugar. I rolled out the first batch to 1/4 inch but you really need it to be 1/8 of an inch to get a nice crispy cracker instead of a cookie. I do not like graham crackers but these tasted great! I think this is an excellent recipe that just needed a few tweaks to it. Next time, I am going to top them with honey. This is definitely a keeper, I may even make a few batches to pulverize for graham cracker crumbs. A much better version than the cardboard type you buy in the stores. Try it, you know you want too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 March 24, 2010

This really is wonderful! I might never need to buy graham crackers again. :) Like other reviewers, I used 1/4 more milk, and about 1/4 more, since I live in such high elevation and it's dry here. I used butter in place of shortening, as I feel it is healthier and these are for my daughter. I found these cooked best for about 12-13 minutes in oven, and hardened slightly more after cooling. I experimented with honey on top, honey and cinnamon-sugar, cinnamon-sugar and nothing at all. I found I really liked nothing at all - or just cinnamon-sugar. Honey seemed to soften the cookies a smidgen, and I prefer them hard. (I used aguave) I cut each cracker with a cookie cutter and made a ton of hearts, which my kids adore and my husband cant wait to use these for smores. I think I'll make these again and again. A bit of work, but fun change, and healthier than the stores. (If you can call a cookie healthy lol)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook! May 23, 2014

I loved this recipe. I used it for this upper scale version of a s'more for an friend that was asking his girlfriend to marry him. I did change it a little after trying the original. I used room temp butter instead of the shortening because I wanted it to be a little crisper. I also made it 1/2c of milk. Brushed it with an equal amounts of butter, honey, and lemon juice and they were a HUGE hit! I then just layered them with toasted marshmallows and fresh raspberries and then drizzled the whole thing with dark chocolate! A SUPER simple dessert with a HUGE "WOW" factor. Thanks SO MUCH for a recipe that will definitely go in my personal cookbook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookinwithsoul October 02, 2007

I had a little trouble getting the dough together, but I'm pretty sure it was my fault, I substituted butter for the shortening, and ended up adding about 1/4 cup more milk to it. I rolled out the first batch, but then i decided to make cookies out of them, and i actually liked those better. i flattened them out with a fork, kind of like making peanut butter cookies. We all enjoyed them, and I plan on making s'mores later! Thanks Mark O. for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
89240 March 14, 2004

I love Graham Crackers but can't buy them here in Europe :-( So this recipe solved my problem! The Crackers are awesome.This recipe is definetly a keeper and I will make some for a Graham Cracker Crust soon! I used some tipps from previous post like sprinkling cinnamon and honey on top, I also ended up adding another 1/4 cup milk to the dough

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfm March 04, 2012

They turned out fine, but didn't really taste like graham crackers. I suggest adding some honey to give it a softer texture (they were quite dry) and lend it a deeper flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Happy June 14, 2010

Thanks for the recipe! These are great! The texture is wonderful!I've been looking for healthy recipes for my little ones to snack on! These are perfect! I'll be passing this recipe on! Thanks!!!!! I did sub butter for shortening since I don't have any. And I did add an extra 1/4 cup of milk. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belabean October 04, 2009

Definitely too dry, and that's what most people say. Read the reviews. Many people doubled the amount of milk. I had to increase the amount also. At 1/4 cup milk, the dough wasn't even holding together, much less needing refrigerated. I increased the milk to get the dough to hold together, but had to guess at how wet to get it. In the end, the dough was hard to handle. Tastes alot like a graham cracker, but texture off.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherHH September 25, 2009
Graham Crackers