Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Graham Cracker-Oatmeal Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Graham Cracker-Oatmeal Crust

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2013

      This is a good crust as it doesn't get soggy, but the oatmeal doesn't cook quite enough to blend in well, taste-wise, with the cookie crumbs. Will use again, though, as it holds up well and is easy to make. Thanks for sharing! Update: made this again for a strawberry pie and this time coarsely ground the oatmeal in a mini-food processor before adding to the crumbs. Used white sugar, as had no brown. Also, it only took 10 whole graham crackers for me to make 1 1/3 cups. These changes made the taste perfect and have changed the rating from 4 to 5. Thanks again for a crust that can truly stand up to a juicy filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      Really appreciated this recipe! Hubby wanted a low fat pudding pie for Christmas dessert, but I really don't like the store bought graham cracker crusts! They break so easily b/f I can even use it! This recipe was a life-saver. I used low fat cinnamon crackers & pressed the crust up the sides as well as on the bottom of the pie plate. I needed to bake it for 10 min, not 7 to get it crispy enough. I DID have a little problem w/ it being a tad crumbly, but no complaints. I used the "rolling pin" method to crush the graham crackers (worked great) & I think I needed to get the crumbs a bit more fine. Thanks AGAIN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Loved this! I've never been able to get a Graham Cracker crust to hold together without crumbling apart. This one held up beautifully with the Lemon Meringue pie I made. Thanks for sharing. It's a Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This crust turned out great! It is chewy and soft, next time I think I will bake about 9-10 min to get it a little firmer because the filling softens it up anyways. I used lowfat B&B yogurt butter and I processed the graham crackers and added oats last and pulsed it a few times to break them up a bit. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This was an awesome recipe and will not be using a different one again. I made it with a vanilla cream pie recipe I found on zaar (did the coconut version) and it was amazing! I am now going to use it for my Thanksgiving pie crusts! I doubled the vanilla because I like vanilla and used an extra TBSP of butter. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I will never make a classic graham cracker crust again. This one is firm and yet soft, cuts great and doesn't get soggy even after a couple of days. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Excellent! I use this with a key lime pie recipe and I get rave reviews. It also works really well with chocolate graham crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      This is excellent! I was feeling lazy today and wanted lemon meringue pie but didn't feel like making pastry, so I used this. It was perfect. It wasn't the least bit soggy. I can't wait to try it with an apple filling or peach or even cheesecake! This will be my only graham crust from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      A winner! Moist, chewy and firm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      This was by far the best graham cracker crust I have ever made or tasted. It was thick enough and actually stayed together when cut, not to mention delicious. Excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Just made this and before I even give them a chance to devour it, I'm going to say WTG and THANK YOU!!!!! This is the first graham based crust that ever ever turned out well for me. It's durable! YAY! I did, however have to use light brown sugar and used rolled oats, which didn't make any difference. Thanks again for the terrific technique/recipe! Only one for me for now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Excellent crust! The whole family loved it. The oats in it are great and I think the brown sugar and vanilla give it such a good flavor. Yummmy. I made it with Fresh Strawberry Pie #16881 and can't wait to have the leftovers tonight. Not sure if I'll make any other graham cracker crust recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      This crust was exceptional! My husband and I both really enjoyed it - he said that he could just eat the crust on it's own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      This formed the basis for a spectacular apple pie... the Thanksgiving clan gathering made short work of it. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      I really enjoyed this crust. I too have never had success with a graham crumb crust and this turned out perfect. I used it for a keylime pie (#109918)-yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      I picked this one because it had the amount listed as I wanted to use some crumbed cereal instead of graham crackers. But I don't think it worked with the cereal. There wasn't enough liquid to hold it together and while it had a nice flavor it didn't hold anything in. I liked the taste though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      Wow! This is a great crust! The dark brown sugar and vanilla do make it taste like a cookie. Great texture, enough crumb mixture to make a generous pie crust. I simply can't think of anything this would NOT be good with, but am dreaming of cream pies like butterscotch, vanilla, caramel...or maybe chocolate or peanut butter...or maybe fruit. I think that about covers it. Thanks, s'kat, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      Loved this crust for Bert's Strawberry Pie. I loved the addition of the oats. This was by far the best graham cracker crust I've ever made--I usually don't make them because I hate how they turn out. Not this one! Loved how substantial and sturdy it was., Thanks S'kat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2004

      OOps! I accidentally reviewed the graham cracker coconut pie crust instead of this one. This is the one I actually made and I loved it. It was delicious! I will use this one often. It tasted like an oatmeal cookie and my husband really liked it. So did the two missionaries I fed it to for supper. Thanks! (and I will try your coconut pie crust next, I have just the recipe for it!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Graham Cracker-Oatmeal Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1484.1
     
    Calories from Fat 681
    45%
    Total Fat 75.7 g
    116%
    Saturated Fat 39.2 g
    196%
    Cholesterol 152.6 mg
    50%
    Sodium 1248.3 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 186.2 g
    62%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    33%
    Sugars 88.8 g
    355%
    Protein 17.7 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites