19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a good crust as it doesn't get soggy, but the oatmeal doesn't cook quite enough to blend in well, taste-wise, with the cookie crumbs. Will use again, though, as it holds up well and is easy to make. Thanks for sharing! Update: made this again for a strawberry pie and this time coarsely ground the oatmeal in a mini-food processor before adding to the crumbs. Used white sugar, as had no brown. Also, it only took 10 whole graham crackers for me to make 1 1/3 cups. These changes made the taste perfect and have changed the rating from 4 to 5. Thanks again for a crust that can truly stand up to a juicy filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mapaklenk August 07, 2013

Really appreciated this recipe! Hubby wanted a low fat pudding pie for Christmas dessert, but I really don't like the store bought graham cracker crusts! They break so easily b/f I can even use it! This recipe was a life-saver. I used low fat cinnamon crackers & pressed the crust up the sides as well as on the bottom of the pie plate. I needed to bake it for 10 min, not 7 to get it crispy enough. I DID have a little problem w/ it being a tad crumbly, but no complaints. I used the "rolling pin" method to crush the graham crackers (worked great) & I think I needed to get the crumbs a bit more fine. Thanks AGAIN!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS January 03, 2013

Loved this! I've never been able to get a Graham Cracker crust to hold together without crumbling apart. This one held up beautifully with the Lemon Meringue pie I made. Thanks for sharing. It's a Keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe June 08, 2010

This crust turned out great! It is chewy and soft, next time I think I will bake about 9-10 min to get it a little firmer because the filling softens it up anyways. I used lowfat B&B yogurt butter and I processed the graham crackers and added oats last and pulsed it a few times to break them up a bit. Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! February 21, 2010

This was an awesome recipe and will not be using a different one again. I made it with a vanilla cream pie recipe I found on zaar (did the coconut version) and it was amazing! I am now going to use it for my Thanksgiving pie crusts! I doubled the vanilla because I like vanilla and used an extra TBSP of butter. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GzNKz4evr November 24, 2009

I will never make a classic graham cracker crust again. This one is firm and yet soft, cuts great and doesn't get soggy even after a couple of days. THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarySC October 05, 2008

Excellent! I use this with a key lime pie recipe and I get rave reviews. It also works really well with chocolate graham crackers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki123 July 19, 2008

This is excellent! I was feeling lazy today and wanted lemon meringue pie but didn't feel like making pastry, so I used this. It was perfect. It wasn't the least bit soggy. I can't wait to try it with an apple filling or peach or even cheesecake! This will be my only graham crust from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleinSask April 27, 2008

A winner! Moist, chewy and firm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiramisu November 23, 2007

This was by far the best graham cracker crust I have ever made or tasted. It was thick enough and actually stayed together when cut, not to mention delicious. Excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nexonicole November 05, 2007
Graham Cracker-Oatmeal Crust