14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delicious way to bake ham, and very simple. This is the way we have always done it in my family, but we use Dijon mustard, and add cherries with the pineapple rings. Depending on the size of the ham, I usually use about a cup of dark brown sugar, and add enough Dijon to make a good paste consistency. I have found that the thicker the paste is, the better, because it tends to melt and run off the ham as it bakes if it's too thin.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kibbie March 05, 2002

I made this up acording to everyones comments,This was great my family enjoyed it I cant stop eating it! Im sorry the person who gave this a one was so rude to not even make it or read other peoples comments to figure it out. Duh! we figure it out and love it Thanks a million!!!!!!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happyfrog December 27, 2002

Wanted to try something with a little more kick than our usual pineapple juice and brown sugar. The Dijon mustard I used was just what I wanted. I also used a cup of brown sugar, added enough mustard to make a paste and used about 1/4 to 1/3 cup of pineapple juice. It was a very tasty sauce and I will be using this mixture on my ham from now on.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoAnn September 16, 2002

This was the first ham I have ever cooked, and my family was so surprised at my ability to cook such a fine ham! Thanks for the great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigshirleym April 08, 2007

why only 31/2 stars? This is the best baked ham recipe that I have ever tried. I have used it about 5 times since last year. I am Polish past 60 so you know I have baked plenty of hams in my time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizzie December 26, 2004

LOVE!!!! I received a Dubuque canned ham as a gift and used it with this recipe and it turned out excellent!! I used Dijon mustard mixed with the brown sugar and about a teaspoon of honey and a lil bit of pineapple juice to thin if the paste is too thick....(wich I go according to my likings then actual measurement) but this recipe is great my kids and husband want me to make this for Christmas..and also mentioned they would love it monthly lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princesa7 December 17, 2013

This is delicious. I too started with a cup of brown sugar and added enough dejon mustard to make a paste. I "plastered" the ham with about 3/4 of the mixture, then replastered it again after about 45 minutes. I couldn't bring myself to let any of the paste be unused so I a little water to it and poured it into the bottom of the pan. I forgot to add the pineapple rings, but my family still loved it. Next time I'll try and remember the pineapple. Thank you for a wonderful easter dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rather be Cookin' #2 April 13, 2009

This was good, but a little disappointing. I used dejon mustard with the brown sugar and pinapple rings. It didn't really glaze the ham it kind of curdled on top of the ham but the flavour was good. I really only want to give it a 3 star but it might have been the dejon mustard I don't know, the flavour was worth a 4 star.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf March 24, 2008

Had to come on and review this! Made this for dinner, but used Horseradish mustard instead of yellow, I just can't handle yellow mustard. This was delicious! the "glaze" was perfect. A great mixture of Salty and sweet flavors! Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 March 23, 2008

this was not only the perfect ham but also beautiful!!! I used gourmet whole grain dijon mustard that came in a gift basket. Using chunk pineapple, I poured it over the ham 45 minutes before taking it out. It was gorgeous on the platter with the pineapple chunks surround the ham slices!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianne in Illinois December 26, 2007
Graciela's Baked Ham