Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gourmet's Roasted Cauliflower Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gourmet's Roasted Cauliflower Soup

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2013

      Delicious! Doubled and it easily fed 8. Used 2% instead of cream...next time I would probably add more shallot and garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      Delicious! I was looking for a great way to use up my CSA cauliflower and I have found it. I like it raw, but am the only one in the house that does, so I am thrilled to find this simple, and flavorful recipe. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      Delicious! I changed it up a bit... used home grown onions instead of shallots and half the cream. Added about a tablespoon and a half of Worcester and a 1/2 cup of white wine. Served with some crusty bread and parmesan cheese on top! Even the boyfriend (who kept saying "but I don't like cauliflower") ate his whole bowl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      Wonderful! Added more garlic and used homemade chicken stock. Next time I think I will increase the shallots too. To reduce calories, I used fat-free half and half. A stick blender makes the soup so easy to prepare. When roasting the vegetables I like to spray the baking sheet to keep the veggies from sticking. I added Tabasco sauce at the table and it helped pop the flavor. So so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      This was a super simple soup to prepare, smelled amazing while cooking, and tasted great! I did add about 1/2 cup cheese at the end, onion instead of shallot, and homo milk instead of cream (1.5 cups). Parmesan would be nice in it too I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      Delicious! The roasted vegetables; especially garlic put this over the top! I prepared it as written, then served with shaved aged cheddar cheese for those that expected the cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Roasting the cauliflower with garlic and onion gave this soup fantastic flavour. I substituted onion for the shallots because that is what I had and used milk instead of cream to reduce the fat. Served with crusty buns on a cool spring day. DH and I both loved it. Definitely a repeat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I used veggie broth instead of chicken broth and water, and also substituted half and half for the cream. Roasting the cauliflower, shallots and garlic did lend the soup a nice flavor, but overall, the recipe didn't wow me. I didn't have any fresh thyme and so used dry, I'm sure that made somewhat of a difference. Maybe not as delicious as a cauliflower soup loaded with lots of cream and cheese, but tasty in it's own right, and probably a lot healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      This soup is excellent! I improvised a bit with it. I had left over from Sunday's dinner quite a large serving of roasted cauliflower (half of an enormous head) with chipotle cheese sauce. Since I roasted it anyway with garlic cloves, I simmered it, cheese sauce and all, with the chicken stock and herbs as noted in the recipe. I continued with the recipe as written, adding whipping cream, salt and pepper to taste. The finished soup was amazing! I will try it at some point as originally written but the cheese and chipotles just add so much to this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I gave my version of this soup 3 stars. I had organic vegetable broth on hand, and used this in place of the chicken stock. I believe this made a big difference in the taste, which was very bland. Next time I'll use homemade chicken stock. I also added milk instead of cream, as I'm trying to keep it light. I will do this again next time. I like the idea of roasting the veggies as this adds a nice sweetness to the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Fantastic! It's like a healthy, lighter soup to go with something you might otherwise put baked potato soup with. I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      This was fantastic! I halved the recipe but used 6 cloves of garlic and no shallots. I used homemade chicken stock and it was delicious. I did add a dash of worchestershire sauce and a dash of nutmeg at the end when I added 1 cup of whole milk. I really liked the roasted cauliflower flavour. No cheese needed in this soup! Will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I made half the recipe and only used a touch of cream at the end. So good!!!!!! Even those who don't like cauliflower will love the this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Well now this is the second time making this soup. I added a few carrots, no onion,and two potatoes, as this is for my one year old grandson. I puree and freeze in ice cube trays. Then when I need it defrost two cubes, but now he eats three, that is when if desired I can add cream or whole milk. He loves this soup, and so do I. Thanks for the simple great recipe Mean Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Roasting the vegs and using shallots makes this soup special. I found it a wee bit bland - added 1tsp worcestershire and 1/3 cup cheddar. I still felt it needed something for a bite. I bet it will be amazing tomorrow. Excellent base though. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      Everyone loves this, me included (and I am a super picky eater). We made this with a mushroom stock instead of heavy cream so it was low fat and lighter. We served this with fresh thyme for garnish which added a nice extra burst of flavor. It was a real hit and we would absolutely make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      Whoa!!! This is a "10"! I am eating this soup as I write my comments. My local market had cauliflower @ $1 each. Needed to make soup for the week. This Roasted soup caught my eye bc roasted cauliflower is the bomb! Made a few minor changes: More garlic. Leeks instead of shallots. 2 bay leaves. FF half & half. Maybe a 1/4c white wine. Liberal S&P. If you have a stick blender, use it. No messy transfering to Food processor. Will definitaly make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Just found this recipe on Epicurious and made it- awesome stuff! A few changes I made: used only one head of cauliflower cause that's all I had. Forgot to add the garlic and used one roughly chopped yellow onion instead of the shallots cause, again, that's all I had. Omitted the bay leaf- I was out and halved evrything accordingly as I only had that one head of cauliflower. Soup was great and came out really thick. I thinned it out with a bit more broth. Excellent flavor. The family loved it. For all those low carbers out there this is a great substitution for potato soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      What a great soap, roasting sure does bring out the flavour of the cauliflower, I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of the cream didn't have any cream on hand,I think it came out Great, and hubby sure liked it. And I will be making this soup again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      This soup was excellent. The only substitution I made was replacing the heavy cream with 1/2 & 1/2. Lots of flavor~! I served with a green salad and sprinkled parmeson on both. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gourmet's Roasted Cauliflower Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (2686 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.7
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    78%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 67.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 157.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites