Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gourmet Shrimp Enchiladas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gourmet Shrimp Enchiladas

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2010

      Very yummy! I added a small can of hot green chiles, 1/4 tsp cumin and a 2 cloves of garlic to filling. In addition, I subbed cilantro for parsley and used smoked fontina. Definitely will be making this again. Company worthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      What lovely enchiladas!!! Being hispanic, I always approach Mexican food recipes with some trepidation - but these were easy to make and wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly except for at the end. For the sauce, I went ahead and incorporated the minced onion, parsley, salt and pepper to the cream cheese mixture instead of mixing them with the tomatoes. The tomatoes were added alone, followed by the cheese. These are keepers and I can't wait to try them with chicken. I agree with Sous Me - these are company worthy! Thanks for posting, Jekase!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Per other reviewers I also used my favorite salsa on this instead of tomatoes and onions on top (it added a little more kick) and doubled the sauce. I don't know how it could have done without!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This turned out really great, didn't have any red peppers, and of course, as my name stated, I used more cheeese than called for, both fontina and cheddar and it was excellent. Another thing I changed was lobster was on sale, cheaper than shrimp if you can believe, so thats what I used and wow were they good. Our New Years Day dinner. Superb, easy, excellent flavor, just a little bit costly to prepare!!! An easy way to make the filling is if using frozen shrimp (which I did,btw I used large wild caught uncooked shrimp) put the defrosted shrimp in a skillet with small amount of butter. Add the onions, peppers (I also added some serrano chiles for flavor) and saute until shrimp is just pink. Add s & p, dill, and chili powder and lastly lemon juice,( I didn't use lemon juice as I though it was too wet already). Then add your cheeses. Filling is complete. For the assembly, I filled the softened tortillas with shrimp mixture, rolled them up and placed them on top of some of the cream cheese, cream sauce. Then I poured the remaining sauce all over the top of the enchiladas and then I put the tomato mixture of top of that and then I put the fontina cheese on top. Phew!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      These turned out great and were exactly what I was looking for tonight. They are similar to a local restaurant which was cool. Fontina cheese is absolutely key.Tortillas came out perfect, not soggy at all. Even my 5 year olds liked them! Getting the cream cheese to melt in the microwave was interesting. After 3-4 rounds of 30 seconds eventually the sauce came together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This is delicious. As some have suggested, I swapped out the parsley for cilantro and used fresh, drained salsa as the topping. One hint, though. If you are making these ahead and storing in the refrigerator, heat more slowly on a lower temperature. I would recommend 350 for 25-30 minutes. The higher temp is ok for room temperature, just made enchiladas, but straight from the fridge the high heat cooks the outside too fast without giving the inside a chance to heat thoroughly. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      This recipe is truly worthy of its name "Gourmet"! I worred about 8 tortillas serving 4 people, but the portions are perfect. I almost used corn tortillas (normal for enchiladas), but the delicacy of the shrimp taste really calls for the blander flour tortillas. The flavors are robust enough to call this a "Mexican" dish without adding any extra spices and the marriage of fontina cheese with shrimp is made in heaven. I, too, substituted the parsley for cilantro and it tasted more authentic. This was an incredible dish that got RAVE reviews from my guests. I will make it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      This was the best. Made it for company and they all loved it. Used fat free everything excepet for the cheese. Was still very rich and creamy. Also chopped up regular shrimp instead of the baby shrimp. And left out the tomatoes (Hubby hates them), and used red peppers instead. Will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      My kids love this. I have made a few adjustments in the past - I double the chili powder, chop 1 lb of shrimp instead of the baby shrimp, and use cilantro in place of parsley. I've also added sliced white mushrooms when I have them in the fridge. As someone else suggested - salsa on top is a lot easier! Really good after a day of sledding or skiing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      This is absolutely amazing. I've made it several times in the past month and it is a HUGE hit...the flavors are not bland at all...i've subsitituted crab for shrimp (though it can be a bit pricier) with fantastic results. I had a friend tell me that he felt like he had ordered these from a restaurant...the only issue is that is only makes 8, so you may have to use two pans. Thank you so much---this is definitely in my top 5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      This was OK. I thought it was too rich with all the cream cheese and I think it needed some more spices to perk it up. Maybe some cumin, seasoning salt and cilantro in the filling? A little bland for me. But they are something different to make for a mexican night and make for a pretty presentation. I also used cilantro instead of parlsey and chopped up bigger shrimp b/c baby shrimp tend to taste fishy to me. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This was really tasty with a few modifications. I used cilantro instead of parsley and bigger shrimp cut in smaller pieces. I was so pleasantly surprised! I didn't think this was going to go together but everything tasted wonderful! I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      AWESOME! Very good & fairly easy! Next time I would add a little Avocado on top. We also squeezed a little lime over the enchilada! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      These are so delicious! I used cilantro instead of parsley, other then that I followed this recipe to the t.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I made this last night for a couple friends. We all loved it. The only changes that I made were substituting cilantro for parsley and cut up medium-sized shrimp for the baby shrimp. It was a little labor intensive, but I'm looking forward to making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Wow, this was really good. It was pretty labor intensive for me, but certainly worth the effort. I made half chicken and half shrimp, and it works well with the chicken also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      I loved these! Made them as the main course for Cinco de Mayo this year, and they were outstanding. I used a combination of crab meat (store had crab legs on sale) and shrimp. I didn't have baby shrimp, so I just cut up large shrimp into chunky pieces, and it worked well. I added diced green chiles and some green bell pepper to the filling, and used a homemade southwest seasoning blend in place of the chili powder. The sauce was incredibly creamy -- I added a little more half-n-half to the cream cheese, and also added a dollop of sour cream to the mixture. Instead of topping with the tomatoes and onions, I used fresh tomato salsa, spooned out with a slotted spoon to reduce the liquid. I baked mine for 18 minutes, and they were hot, gooey, and delicious. I look forward to making -- and eating -- these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious and pretty too. Stuck to the recipe. Easy enough to make and good enough for company or everyday. I assembled it the night before then popped it in the oven. Fontina is the king of melting cheeses. Thank you, Jekase

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Ten stars!!! Just excellent. The fontina is a great combination with the shrimp. I could have added a tad bit more sauce as I halved the recipe. Thanks your for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gourmet Shrimp Enchiladas

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 517.9
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    47%
    Total Fat 27.4 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 14.1 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 190.7 mg
    63%
    Sodium 1380.9 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 28.4 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes