45 Reviews

This is an AMAZING recipe! We were wanting to use up the mushrooms that we had, an this was the perfect recipe! Tastes great with steak and broccoli; if I had one complaint, it would be that it is quite an arm workout, but it is deffinitely worth it in the end! So delicious, will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorbek September 30, 2012

Delicious flavours! I am used to cooking my risotto very very slowly and only adding more liquid when the previous ladle had been fully absorbed. I found that by the time the rice had cooked and thickened up, I had around 1.5 cups of stock left so I did not add it in. I also added a handful of mushrooms to the rice mix after the first third of the stock had been absorbed - this changed the colour of the risotto and also made for a rich mushroom flavour. Again was a lovely recipe, thank you very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngeNZ September 11, 2012

Great risotto! Easy to make and I even cheated and bought sliced mushrooms. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan August 18, 2012

Extremely time consuming for me but amazing recipe. DH gave 5 stars and said it's a keeper as long as it's once in a while. LOL! The only changes I made were adding 1 tablespoon minced garlic, 2 tablespoon shallots (instead of just 2 shallots) and I added half cup of parmesan cheese. Unfortunately, I only have half the amount of mushrooms but the next time I cook this, I will have the right amount! Thank you, RE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7Seven July 15, 2012

First time making risotto ever! This recipe looked simple and yummy enough that I had to give it a try! My boyfriend is the risotto expert though and when he noticed that I was putting in 1/2 c ladles of broth, he told me it wasn't enough liquid and that I had to add just enough that it barely covers the rice. So I started doing that even though I was already half way thru my broth. It still turned out very well! The chives...I could barely taste/notice it? Is it just for color?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eyemadreamer June 17, 2012

Love this! Unbelievably decadent risotto but oh so easy! Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kookiebaker December 18, 2011

DW checked out the reviews and proceeded to follow the recipe exactly to see how it came out the first time following it exactly. It came out P-E-R-F-E-C-T for us. Man, was it delicious! Thanks! Tony

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonythurston51 April 11, 2011

This was so delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, but added more parmesian since I love cheese so much. The chives actually added a great flavor, which was suprising. This will be my go- to risotto recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teenytinybaker February 09, 2011

Time consuming but tasty left out the chives and extra parmesan cheese

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie January 16, 2011
Gourmet Mushroom Risotto