42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Extremely time consuming for me but amazing recipe. DH gave 5 stars and said it's a keeper as long as it's once in a while. LOL! The only changes I made were adding 1 tablespoon minced garlic, 2 tablespoon shallots (instead of just 2 shallots) and I added half cup of parmesan cheese. Unfortunately, I only have half the amount of mushrooms but the next time I cook this, I will have the right amount! Thank you, RE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7Seven July 15, 2012

First time making risotto ever! This recipe looked simple and yummy enough that I had to give it a try! My boyfriend is the risotto expert though and when he noticed that I was putting in 1/2 c ladles of broth, he told me it wasn't enough liquid and that I had to add just enough that it barely covers the rice. So I started doing that even though I was already half way thru my broth. It still turned out very well! The chives...I could barely taste/notice it? Is it just for color?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eyemadreamer June 17, 2012

Love this! Unbelievably decadent risotto but oh so easy! Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kookiebaker December 18, 2011

DW checked out the reviews and proceeded to follow the recipe exactly to see how it came out the first time following it exactly. It came out P-E-R-F-E-C-T for us. Man, was it delicious! Thanks! Tony

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonythurston51 April 11, 2011

This was so delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, but added more parmesian since I love cheese so much. The chives actually added a great flavor, which was suprising. This will be my go- to risotto recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teenytinybaker February 09, 2011

Time consuming but tasty left out the chives and extra parmesan cheese

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie January 16, 2011

Wonderful! I use this as my go-to risotto recipe every time. No changes needed, but it lends itself well to interpretation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hungarian Gypsy December 22, 2010

I've made risotto on several occasions previously and found this recipe to be pretty good. I was making it as a main dish, so I ended up doubling the amount of arborio rice used. I didn't double the rest of the ingredients- simply added a bit more broth, wine and shallots. I also used more parmesan because that's my favorite part about a risotto- the creaminess that comes from the cheese. This is a pretty straight forward recipe- a great comfort food main dish or side dish that's easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PWIII September 21, 2010

FANTASTIC! My first time making risotto (although I have had it copious times in restaurants). This is as good as a restaurant! Seeing it was my first go, I was hesitant to use all the mushrooms, so I halved them. I also can't lie, I added more wine (about double). And therefore didn't quite use all my broth. Also followed someone else's advice on here and added 3 cloves of garlic. This was a hit in my house. I will be making it again! Thanks, you made our day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheff Steff January 17, 2010
Gourmet Mushroom Risotto