Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gourmet Mushroom Risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on July 18, 2007

      7-10 STARS!!! My only caveat is that I didn't use ALL the broth. I was shy about a cup, thinking I didn't want to over cook. Better over than under, I say. DELICIOUS DELICIOUS DELICIOUS. Smells amazing while cooking (after the wine, I used a champagne/sparkling wine). The chives and wine and butter are a winning combination. I used an oninon in place of 2 shallots. and canned mushrooms for half the mushrooms (not cooking them but adding them to the others) and a bit more parmesan cheese and slightly more chives. Don't forget the addition of salt and pepper, espically the pepper. USE ALL THE BROTH!!! One of my favorite recipes on the Zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      This was the first time I ever made risotto, and it truly came out restaurant-quality fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly, but browned some cubed prosciutto and added it at the very end with the shrooms - made a really amazing main dish. My more advanced-palate friend and my meat-and-potatoes boyfriend both loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I used some extra parmesan cheese (because I like it alot). Also, a good substitution is some goat-cheese in favor of the butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      Very good and easy risotto recipe. This recipe serves as a good base for variations. The second time I made it I added an step in between the mushrooms and shallots; sauteing a bunch of asparagus and finishing with the juice of one lemon. I left out the chives and added the zest of the lemon. Great lemon-asparagus risotto as well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      This was FANTASTIC! My husband and I fought over the last of it. I use cooking sherry instead of white wine. I could eat this every night of the week!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2014

      Great risotto! Didn't use all the broth either but I did use sliced shitake and oyster mushrooms (we have an Asian store and have reasonably priced fresh mushrooms). Shitake gave the dish a nice smoky flavor and the parmesan and butter rounded it out beautifully. I made a lot and didn't have any leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      I want to give this recipe 10 + stars. After cooking this awesome dish I felt like I was Gordon Ramsey. My family eats this as a side dish when ever I cook chicken marsala

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      This is an AMAZING recipe! We were wanting to use up the mushrooms that we had, an this was the perfect recipe! Tastes great with steak and broccoli; if I had one complaint, it would be that it is quite an arm workout, but it is deffinitely worth it in the end! So delicious, will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      Delicious flavours! I am used to cooking my risotto very very slowly and only adding more liquid when the previous ladle had been fully absorbed. I found that by the time the rice had cooked and thickened up, I had around 1.5 cups of stock left so I did not add it in. I also added a handful of mushrooms to the rice mix after the first third of the stock had been absorbed - this changed the colour of the risotto and also made for a rich mushroom flavour. Again was a lovely recipe, thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      Great risotto! Easy to make and I even cheated and bought sliced mushrooms. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      Extremely time consuming for me but amazing recipe. DH gave 5 stars and said it's a keeper as long as it's once in a while. LOL! The only changes I made were adding 1 tablespoon minced garlic, 2 tablespoon shallots (instead of just 2 shallots) and I added half cup of parmesan cheese. Unfortunately, I only have half the amount of mushrooms but the next time I cook this, I will have the right amount! Thank you, RE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      First time making risotto ever! This recipe looked simple and yummy enough that I had to give it a try! My boyfriend is the risotto expert though and when he noticed that I was putting in 1/2 c ladles of broth, he told me it wasn't enough liquid and that I had to add just enough that it barely covers the rice. So I started doing that even though I was already half way thru my broth. It still turned out very well! The chives...I could barely taste/notice it? Is it just for color?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Love this! Unbelievably decadent risotto but oh so easy! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

    • on April 11, 2011

      DW checked out the reviews and proceeded to follow the recipe exactly to see how it came out the first time following it exactly. It came out P-E-R-F-E-C-T for us. Man, was it delicious! Thanks! Tony

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      This was so delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, but added more parmesian since I love cheese so much. The chives actually added a great flavor, which was suprising. This will be my go- to risotto recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Time consuming but tasty left out the chives and extra parmesan cheese

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Wonderful! I use this as my go-to risotto recipe every time. No changes needed, but it lends itself well to interpretation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      I've made risotto on several occasions previously and found this recipe to be pretty good. I was making it as a main dish, so I ended up doubling the amount of arborio rice used. I didn't double the rest of the ingredients- simply added a bit more broth, wine and shallots. I also used more parmesan because that's my favorite part about a risotto- the creaminess that comes from the cheese. This is a pretty straight forward recipe- a great comfort food main dish or side dish that's easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      FANTASTIC! My first time making risotto (although I have had it copious times in restaurants). This is as good as a restaurant! Seeing it was my first go, I was hesitant to use all the mushrooms, so I halved them. I also can't lie, I added more wine (about double). And therefore didn't quite use all my broth. Also followed someone else's advice on here and added 3 cloves of garlic. This was a hit in my house. I will be making it again! Thanks, you made our day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.6
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    38%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 25.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 909.0 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes