45 Reviews

7-10 STARS!!! My only caveat is that I didn't use ALL the broth. I was shy about a cup, thinking I didn't want to over cook. Better over than under, I say. DELICIOUS DELICIOUS DELICIOUS. Smells amazing while cooking (after the wine, I used a champagne/sparkling wine). The chives and wine and butter are a winning combination. I used an oninon in place of 2 shallots. and canned mushrooms for half the mushrooms (not cooking them but adding them to the others) and a bit more parmesan cheese and slightly more chives. Don't forget the addition of salt and pepper, espically the pepper. USE ALL THE BROTH!!! One of my favorite recipes on the Zaar!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel July 18, 2007

This was the first time I ever made risotto, and it truly came out restaurant-quality fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly, but browned some cubed prosciutto and added it at the very end with the shrooms - made a really amazing main dish. My more advanced-palate friend and my meat-and-potatoes boyfriend both loved it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djbarnez September 01, 2011

Excellent recipe. I used some extra parmesan cheese (because I like it alot). Also, a good substitution is some goat-cheese in favor of the butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Remy #186273 December 27, 2008

Very good and easy risotto recipe. This recipe serves as a good base for variations. The second time I made it I added an step in between the mushrooms and shallots; sauteing a bunch of asparagus and finishing with the juice of one lemon. I left out the chives and added the zest of the lemon. Great lemon-asparagus risotto as well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 February 16, 2008

This was FANTASTIC! My husband and I fought over the last of it. I use cooking sherry instead of white wine. I could eat this every night of the week!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craftymama June 27, 2007

I made this for dinner, to go with grilled pork chops and asparagus. It was a huge hit. The long cook time is most definitely worth the effort. My DH has asked me to make it a regular part of my menu rotation. Thanks for an excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamabear451 July 28, 2015

So yummy! I used half a sweet onion in place of shallots, and oyster mushrooms for their texture. Make sure to taste at the end because it will need salt and lots of fresh pepper. Thick, creamy, and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robert G. June 13, 2015

I had been looking for something to do with my dry porcini mushrooms and this was the perfect fit. I reconstituted them with milk from my goats and added some crimini mushrooms as I got them free at Ralph's! I followed the recipe to a T after that. It was so delicious I had to take another bite when I was putting the leftovers away even though I was stuffed!!! This is a keeper!! Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babychops April 21, 2015

Great risotto! Didn't use all the broth either but I did use sliced shitake and oyster mushrooms (we have an Asian store and have reasonably priced fresh mushrooms). Shitake gave the dish a nice smoky flavor and the parmesan and butter rounded it out beautifully. I made a lot and didn't have any leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilquiz April 24, 2014

I want to give this recipe 10 + stars. After cooking this awesome dish I felt like I was Gordon Ramsey. My family eats this as a side dish when ever I cook chicken marsala

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy Hirsch-Eversole March 15, 2013
Gourmet Mushroom Risotto