Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gourmet Dog Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gourmet Dog Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2003

      My Viszla-mix, Sam, has a very sensitive stomach and most treats don't agree with him, but we need treats for his obedience training and I was really at a loss. This recipe is great! No junk (I couldn't believe what goes into most commercial treats...), and I can choose what goes into them.. I made them with sweet potato and chicken flavored baby foods and he loves them so much I had to put the container on a high shelf so he can't reach. I did need to add a bit more flour to make the dough workable, and I used a pizza cutter to cut the dough into small squares small enough to use for training. Also, after the baking time was done, I turned the oven off and left them in so that they came out very crunchy and dry and should keep very well in a sealed container (not that they'll last very long...) I think for Christmas this year, I'll make a big batch of these in bone shapes for the furry members of my extended family. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      Well, this just passed the picky puppy test with flying colors!! Our Sheltie just LOVED these - he kept beging for more - something he never does with dry treats. I used veggie/beef stew baby food for this batch. I also added a bit more flour to make it easier to roll. This is a definite keeper for my pooch - especially with all the news lately on dog food and treats being full of "junk" (not edible for human consumption) This recipe is easy and my sheltie adores it - I will definitly make these again and again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2002

      Woof!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      AMAZING! Our pups LOVED them! And soooo easy! I read several reviews & used most of the tips - rice cereal instead of powdered milk, 1/4 cup extra flour for the stickier ones (I made 4 different batches), canola oil instead of vegetable, used dough hook with Kitchenaid mixer (no extra kneeding!), a little olive oil on my hands when handling the dough, baked 40 minutes at 350 & left in oven after turning off to get them more crisp. Baby food jars were all sorts of sizes, I used 2 jars of the 4oz & added 1/4 cup of flour. I made a batch of beef from the 2.5oz jars, so used 3 jars. Our pups even enjoyed a taste of the raw dough :) I made 2 batches for a bake sale & they were a hit! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      I used 1 jar each of Gerber's pure meat Veal & Beef. For step 6, I cut and rolled the dough into ropes, slicing off 1/4 inch pieces ( for training treats )and made 80 treats from the batch. These baked up just fine and smelled very good. I let them oven dry 30 minutes after the baking and had 4 extremely alert dogs to taste test them on. It's a winner here. I baggied up the treats and froze them. I'll be making these often for them. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2002

      I made these treats and they are a hit with my labrador! I used Lamb and Lamb Gravy Gerber's baby food, which is pretty smelly stuff and not for the weak of nose. They're very moist so make sure you let them dry thoroughly before putting them in a tin or baggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      My dog loved these! I made a double batch to freeze half for later, and I will also be portioning out the baked treats and freezing them to keep them fresh. I liked one commenter's idea of using rice cereal instead of powdered milk, it's cheaper and better for doggies who have a little problem digesting dairy. Having said that, however, I made it with powdered milk and my dog has had no problem. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      These were very easy to make and my dog Keely loved them. I used pumpkin puree in place of the baby food. The biscuits need to bake longer than suggested. After the initial 22 minutes I lowered the temperature to 175 degrees and baked for another 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      My dogs seem to really like these! They were super easy to put together using my Kitchenaid mixer with the dough hook attachment. I used peaches as that's the kind of baby food I had on hand. I didn't do fancy shapes - I just rolled it out into a square and used a pizza cutter to cut them into small squares. Worked well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Okay, This is the only treat that Rascal feels he has to grab and run. If his sister, BeeGee, the once feral kitty gets near, he actually growls!!! I used canola oil and 4 ounce jar of sweet potatoes and chicken baby food. I did add in more flour as I kneaded. Great puppy treat! Oh, And I did have to explain to the checkout clerk why a 50 something was buying baby food...I'm not sure if she believed me. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Our puppy Zeus gives this 5 Golden Stars. DGS wanted to make something for his dog as he's been such a GOOD puppy and found this. We had so much fun making them - they were so easy and Zeus LOVED them. I used chicken & rice baby food, added half a chicken boullion cube to the water and added 1 tablespoon of honey. Before placing in the oven I used a toothpick to put 2 tiny holes in each biscuit so they'd cook solid all the way through, and left them in the oven after it was turned off to make sure they got plenty hard to give some of that chewing action that puppies need. These are so easy, my DGS did most of the work himself. Thanks Twla for a fun afternoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      40 paws way, way up (we have 10 dogs, yep, I said 10). Everyone agreed that these were quite the tastiest of treats. They seemed to know I was making something for them. My boxer laid down on my feet as I was cutting these out. He loved these treats! This dough is verrrrrrry sticky, so do use enough flour on your surface when rolling the dough out. I used baby food chicken and rice, and because powdered milk was so pricey, I used baby cereal--rice flavor. The dogs didn't mind at all. Thanks, Twyla, for a real treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      As I was making yet another batch of these today, I realized I had never rated them!! I can't tell you how much this recipe has been appreciated time and time again by many little furbabies! I whip it up without even looking at the recipe I have used it so often!! I have used many different combinations, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, bananas, applesauce, carrots, shredded cheese, beef broth, and checken broth. I would much rather give my 'kids" a homemade treat that I don't have to worry about what is in it, or where it has been made, and also not having any preservatives that can be bad for them. I can't praise this recipe enough!! I do usually refrigerate these, just to be on the safe side. Thanks Twyla!! (from Chloe, Willie, and Gussy) Thats a 12 paw and 3 tail rating right there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Even with extra flour, the dough is very sticky. I recommend putting vegetable oil or shortening on your hands before attempting to kneed the dough. I dove into my first batch with just flour, and I was immediately covered in gooey dough. After scraping off what I could, I put olive oil on my hands, and the dough was very docile afterward. The recipients all reported that their hounds approve of the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This is an easy and quick-baking recipe compared to some other dog treats out there. I have made these the last several Christmas' for my family and friends who have dogs. They (and their dogs) all love them! I always add more flour than called for until the dough becomes non-sticky and elastic. You can really pack them into the pan as they don't rise/spread. I bake them as directed and let them cool on the cookie sheet out of the oven. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      I made these for our 3 scotties and they knew they were for them as I made them! I kept tripping over them in the kitchen. I also added just a bit more flour and left them in the oven after I turned the oven off for a few more minutes. I used gerber carrots (they eat baby carrots all the time) and sweet potatoes. They loved these more than the others I've made and so these are a keeper for woofin sure! A star for each dog and 2 from me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2003

      My picky shepherd mix adores these. She won't eat her food most days or store bought treats. I gave her one and she kept coming back for more. Thanks! Now, I have something to feed her when she's refusing to eat and dropping weight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      hi Twyla... I have 2 boxers, both boys, and they LOVE this recipe..once a week I make their treats and this is going into rotation! I used pumpkin in place of the baby food for the first round..thank you so much for sharing this recipe Twyla!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Not only did my dog loved these goumet dog biscuits, my friend's dog loves them too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Thanks so much for this recipe! I don't have a dog of my own, but often have friends and their dogs stopping by! I keep these in the freezer since, due to lack of preservatives, they go bad at room temp fairly quickly considering the pace they're consumed at in my home. I just pop one in the micro on defrost for a few mins. One dog friend of mine in particular will prance around with her treat for a while before sneaking off to eat it. She doesn't do this with any other treats! I haven't had a dog yet that wasn't anxious to gobble these up. Thanks for a cheap, easy and healthy recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gourmet Dog Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.1
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    44%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 13.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 17.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    baby food

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites