15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

lovely salad, left out the nuts, (allergies).
the dressing is nice and light, everyone gave it the thumbs up

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills November 30, 2012

Everything about this salad is delicious! Only change I made was to use about 1/3 c. plain non-fat Greek yogurt instead of whipping cream Still out of this world, everyone in my family agreed that it's a keeper, and that doesn't happen very often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askinnycook July 21, 2011

I used chopped walnuts instead of pecans and left out the cranberries, so it was a little creamier than I would have preferred, but this was a great chicken salad! The whipping cream makes it light, and cuts down on the flavor of the mayonnaise flavor. I will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
avonrg April 26, 2011

This is by far one of the best chicken salad recipes that I have found! To make it even easier, I grabbed a plain rotisserie chicken from the grocery and made it with that...DELICIOUS! It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassie A July 11, 2009

A truly delicious salad. I made a third portion to take to work for lunch - and to leave some with my mother for her lunch. We both greatly enjoyed this, and I'll certainly be making it again. I added some fresh thyme and used low-fat sour cream instead of the whipping cream, but otherwise made this exactly to the recipe. I used slivered almonds but I am keen to try it next time with the pecan halves. I love both of these nuts, and may make it with both in future. Loved the grapes in this! Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe! So many different and wonderful flavours and great textural variety. Made for Ali Baba's babes for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder June 07, 2009

Another hit at my house! I knew DH would love it when I saw the almonds and cranberries and I was right... I was hesitant abotu the addition of the whipping cream but it really added a nice creaminess!! Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 5...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
my3beachbabes June 04, 2009

Okay, I'm totally addicted. I used about 1/2 tsp salt, about 3/4th cup grapes and 1/2 cup of nuts, but otherwise made as posted. Wow. KEEPER!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazy gourmet June 03, 2009

Yummy. This salad is really not for simple palates. I loved the contrast of textures. I halved the recipe and used about 1/8 cup celery because I don't care much for it, almonds (chopped and toasted), and cream similar to creme fraiche instead of the mayonnaise, which I don't like. I added a small, chopped cucumber because it needed to be used up. Also reduced the amount of salt and added black pepper. I came out great! Than so much for posting! Made for the All Aboard challenge - ZWT5 & the Dining Daredevils.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J May 29, 2009

This chicken salad is so, so delicious! I wasn't sure about the whipping cream, but the creaminess it adds is amazing! I cut the salt in half like another reviewer suggested and it was just right for me. And I used pecans instead of the almonds. This is my new chicken salad recipe. Thanks for posting! Made for Zaar Cookbooks Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mailbelle March 31, 2009

Wow!! This is without question the best chicken salad I have ever had (and I love chicken salad)! I would never have thought of adding whipped cream to my chicken salad but it really takes it over the top. The crunchiness of the almonds and celery and the sweet taste of grapes and cranberries all come together to make this a real taste treat. I topped it off with a sprinkling of fresh ground pepper. Thanks for sharing your recipe which will be made again and again here. This was made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV June 27, 2008
Gourmet Chicken Salad