16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This made for a tasty, easy family dinner, and I particularly liked the light touch of nutmeg in the mashed potatoes. However, the gravy wasn't as robust as I had hoped; next time I think I will use beef stock instead of chicken, red wine instead of the white I used, and maybe add some chopped mushrooms. I baked the sausages at 350 and they were perfect after 30 minutes. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie March 16, 2002

Great recipe! Based on some of the other reviews I used red wine and beef bouillon instead of the chicken. I will also add mushrooms next time (even though that's probably not authentic, I bet it would taste great). I never would have thought to bake/roast the sausages and they came out perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebburtis April 03, 2015

I really enjoyed this, though I have never had Bangers and Mash before. My husband said that the potatoes were right, but that the gravy was not--though it was tasty! Thank you for a good dinner and great directions. (Following your directions, everything came together at exactly the same time!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie March 21, 2015

My British friends are always talking about Bangers and Mash, so I decided to give it a try. This recipe is absolutely the gourmet version for sure! I made a couple of adjustments. Firstly, I added a quarter cup of parmesan cheese in the mashed potatoes. Secondly, the gravy was made with onion, sliced sweet mini pepper and sliced mushroom to bring more flavor and color. Lastly, I followed Sackville's suggestion to bake my Mexican sausages and served with baby spinach. This recipe is highly recommended. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen February 08, 2015

I just made a vegetarian version of this recipe using smoked apple sage vegetarian sausage, red potatoes (smashed with almond milk and Earth Balance spread, salt and pepper. The onion gravy was really good made with a splash of beer (not wine), horseradish mustard (only choice) and Not Chick'n bouillon cubes and water. Amazing meal. My husband had regular sausage but ate the vegan gravy with no problem! Thanks for the gourmet recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kateokeydokey April 25, 2013

I had never had Bangers and Mash before and decided to give this recipe a try when I found Bangers at a local sausage company. It is wonderful! My family asks me to make this at least once a month now and I double the amount of the onion gravy because we all like it so well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tunnia July 26, 2010

This is one of those recipes that is SO MUCH BETTER than you would expect from the simple ingredients. Every week our family has "International Night", where we pick a country and make new, traditional dishes from that area. Sometimes we are lucky and come across a recipe that not only represents the cuisine from an area, but adds to my collection of family friendly and healthy recipes- and this is one! Everyone in the family loved this recipe, even the picky kids.....I will make this over and over again. Thanks for sharing! P.S. I used Chicken and Apple Sausages from the Whole Foods meat counter, and used Chardonnay for the wine in the gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise J March 06, 2007

After all the times I've made this, I just realised I never reviewed it. Obviously we love it! I use white wine when making this. Never really thought to go the red wine/beef stock route because I think the white goes more naturally with it. Thanks Sackville!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryQueen November 22, 2006

Wow, this was excellent! I took the red wine and beef broth route to make the gravy and although my DS did not want any part of the gravy (he stated it smelled like wine) both DH and myself enjoyed it throughly. Does remind me of our journey through England a few years ago.....miss that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Duncan Mahogany November 19, 2006

I just realized that I hadn't reviewed this recipe although I've made it a number of times now. I've made it both ways. I used chicken broth and white wine first then tried it with beef broth and red wine. I think I like it just a bit better with the red wine as the flavor reminded me of the bangers and mash I had at a pub near Trafalgar Square!!. But making it with the chicken broth is very good too. This has become a staple comfort food in our house. Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aimee67 October 25, 2006
Gourmet Bangers & Mash