Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gourmet Bangers & Mash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gourmet Bangers & Mash

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2002

      This made for a tasty, easy family dinner, and I particularly liked the light touch of nutmeg in the mashed potatoes. However, the gravy wasn't as robust as I had hoped; next time I think I will use beef stock instead of chicken, red wine instead of the white I used, and maybe add some chopped mushrooms. I baked the sausages at 350 and they were perfect after 30 minutes. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      I just made a vegetarian version of this recipe using smoked apple sage vegetarian sausage, red potatoes (smashed with almond milk and Earth Balance spread, salt and pepper. The onion gravy was really good made with a splash of beer (not wine), horseradish mustard (only choice) and Not Chick'n bouillon cubes and water. Amazing meal. My husband had regular sausage but ate the vegan gravy with no problem! Thanks for the gourmet recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      I had never had Bangers and Mash before and decided to give this recipe a try when I found Bangers at a local sausage company. It is wonderful! My family asks me to make this at least once a month now and I double the amount of the onion gravy because we all like it so well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      This is one of those recipes that is SO MUCH BETTER than you would expect from the simple ingredients. Every week our family has "International Night", where we pick a country and make new, traditional dishes from that area. Sometimes we are lucky and come across a recipe that not only represents the cuisine from an area, but adds to my collection of family friendly and healthy recipes- and this is one! Everyone in the family loved this recipe, even the picky kids.....I will make this over and over again. Thanks for sharing! P.S. I used Chicken and Apple Sausages from the Whole Foods meat counter, and used Chardonnay for the wine in the gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      After all the times I've made this, I just realised I never reviewed it. Obviously we love it! I use white wine when making this. Never really thought to go the red wine/beef stock route because I think the white goes more naturally with it. Thanks Sackville!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Wow, this was excellent! I took the red wine and beef broth route to make the gravy and although my DS did not want any part of the gravy (he stated it smelled like wine) both DH and myself enjoyed it throughly. Does remind me of our journey through England a few years ago.....miss that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      I just realized that I hadn't reviewed this recipe although I've made it a number of times now. I've made it both ways. I used chicken broth and white wine first then tried it with beef broth and red wine. I think I like it just a bit better with the red wine as the flavor reminded me of the bangers and mash I had at a pub near Trafalgar Square!!. But making it with the chicken broth is very good too. This has become a staple comfort food in our house. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      Excellent. I became a fan of bangers and mash a few years ago in London and have craved it since. Thanks for posting.I will be enjoying this often! So easy to make too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      Outstanding gravy! We picked up a couple packages of "Jolly Good" bangers from a British tea house nearby and served them with mashed potatoes and peas -- fabulous! Thank you for an onion gravy I can now rely on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      I felt like I was back in London in that Pub in Picadilly! Loved the recipe, the touch of nutmeg in the potatoes is very nice. I am lucky that we have a very special butcher that makes real English Bangers (among many other wonderful sausages). This is comfort food all I needed were English mushy peas Thanks Sackvillegirl for bringing back memories while I enjoyed a very tasty dinner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2004

      My husband & I enjoyed this very much. Didn't have dijon mustard, used honey mustard instead. Was a very easy to make. The nutmeg was a pleasant addition in the mashed potatoes. Will make again, is truly comfort food! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2004

      WOW great comfort food!!My sausages took 30 minutes in the oven and I used beef stock and red wine for a very delicious gravy! Just made half a recipe for the two of us and I had some no fat sour cream I needed to use up so I replaced the milk with it, loved the touch of nutmeg. This will become a 1st choice when we're looking for comfort food, thanks for sharing!! — posted Oct 20, 2004

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2004

      I looked for this recipe after seeing and episode of The Andy Griffith Show. Malcom Mariweather left Bangers and Mash in the fridge. I enjoyed making a new dish and the family REALLY enjoyed eating it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gourmet Bangers & Mash

    Serving Size: 1 (825 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1743.5
     
    Calories from Fat 909
    52%
    Total Fat 101.1 g
    155%
    Saturated Fat 36.2 g
    181%
    Cholesterol 255.2 mg
    85%
    Sodium 2404.4 mg
    100%
    Total Carbohydrate 145.4 g
    48%
    Dietary Fiber 18.2 g
    73%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 64.2 g
    128%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    wine

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes