11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made for Think Pink Cancer Awareness tag 2010 and I am very glad I did...what comfort food. I changed the recipe somewhat. This is what I did. I added some sliced mushrooms, chopped green pepper, some corn (I had left over), about a 1/4 tsp. oregano and some red pepper flakes (for some zing), and some tomato sauce. DH loved this and we have enough to take down to the beach for lunch today. Definately a keeper and will go into my Favorites 2010. Thank you diner524 for a wonderful recipe that I'm sure is good as written or with the additions. Served with a green salad with Creamy French Dressing#24655 by Sharon123 and French bread. P.S. This was wonderful the next day for lunch...I did add a little more tomato sauce while it was warming up. Definately a 5 star for dinner and for lunch the next day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf October 18, 2010

This was a blast from my past! :) Total comfort food & one of the recipes I requested most as a child. Made just as directed until I saw there wasn't much sauce in the pan so I threw in one frozen "ice" cube of tomato paste. That gave it just enough without altering the recipe. We really enjoyed this for dinner tonight. DH ate it with saltines & I ate it with buttered bread. Yummy! Thanks for posting your mom's recipe, diner! Made & enjoyed for Zaar Stars tag game. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** July 03, 2010

This was pretty good, but I felt it was missing something. Not quite sure what though. It reminded me a lot of meals from my past -- great comfort food. I used bowtie pasta instead of macaroni, because I had a half a box that was dying to be used :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe March 01, 2010

Great comfort dish. Made for Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mightyro_cooking4u January 30, 2010

Change the cheese from cheddar to Parmesan, and this is the Goulash Recipe from MY mother! This is delicious--everybody's favorite comfort food. Made for Think Pink.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl October 05, 2009

Made this week I added a little ketchup(looked too dry) and a can of green beans

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richcat July 03, 2009

I make this all the time--my mom called it slumgullion (she's from Minnesota). I never watched her make it so I goofed it up a few times trying to add more to it than what it was. We never put shredded cheese in ours, we used grated parmesan on top. I did start adding a can of drained and rinsed white beans to it for added protein. They blend right in with the mac. Noodles will suck up all the moisture after refrigeration but a little more tomato sauce will loosen it right up. Great economical recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 June 24, 2009

My husband asked for "real" Goulash once, and I made a slow cooked, cut up steak, tons of Hungarian paprika authentic Goulash... and he hated it. THIS is what he was talking about... a nice light tomato cheesy yum dish that goes nicely with garlic bread. I really liked this, and dear husband says this is what he wanted the whole time. The only change I made was to use Provel cheese (for those not from the St. Louis area, a mix of cheddar, swiss, and provolone). Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie June 23, 2009

Great, fast meal using staple pantry items. We loved it. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cohollow April 09, 2009

This is delicious Diner. I modified it a little bit. I added 8 ounces of sliced mushroom, 1 small orange bell pepper, and maybe a little more pasta (fusilli). So I used a whole 28 ounces can of diced tomatoes. Thanks Diner. Made for 123 hit wonders

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 23, 2009
Goulash Recipe from My Mother