Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Goulash Recipe from My Mother
    Lost? Site Map

    Goulash Recipe from My Mother

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2010

      Made for Think Pink Cancer Awareness tag 2010 and I am very glad I did...what comfort food. I changed the recipe somewhat. This is what I did. I added some sliced mushrooms, chopped green pepper, some corn (I had left over), about a 1/4 tsp. oregano and some red pepper flakes (for some zing), and some tomato sauce. DH loved this and we have enough to take down to the beach for lunch today. Definately a keeper and will go into my Favorites 2010. Thank you diner524 for a wonderful recipe that I'm sure is good as written or with the additions. Served with a green salad with Creamy French Dressing#24655 by Sharon123 and French bread. P.S. This was wonderful the next day for lunch...I did add a little more tomato sauce while it was warming up. Definately a 5 star for dinner and for lunch the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      This was a blast from my past! :) Total comfort food & one of the recipes I requested most as a child. Made just as directed until I saw there wasn't much sauce in the pan so I threw in one frozen "ice" cube of tomato paste. That gave it just enough without altering the recipe. We really enjoyed this for dinner tonight. DH ate it with saltines & I ate it with buttered bread. Yummy! Thanks for posting your mom's recipe, diner! Made & enjoyed for Zaar Stars tag game. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This was pretty good, but I felt it was missing something. Not quite sure what though. It reminded me a lot of meals from my past -- great comfort food. I used bowtie pasta instead of macaroni, because I had a half a box that was dying to be used :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Great comfort dish. Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Change the cheese from cheddar to Parmesan, and this is the Goulash Recipe from MY mother! This is delicious--everybody's favorite comfort food. Made for Think Pink.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Made this week I added a little ketchup(looked too dry) and a can of green beans

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I make this all the time--my mom called it slumgullion (she's from Minnesota). I never watched her make it so I goofed it up a few times trying to add more to it than what it was. We never put shredded cheese in ours, we used grated parmesan on top. I did start adding a can of drained and rinsed white beans to it for added protein. They blend right in with the mac. Noodles will suck up all the moisture after refrigeration but a little more tomato sauce will loosen it right up. Great economical recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      My husband asked for "real" Goulash once, and I made a slow cooked, cut up steak, tons of Hungarian paprika authentic Goulash... and he hated it. THIS is what he was talking about... a nice light tomato cheesy yum dish that goes nicely with garlic bread. I really liked this, and dear husband says this is what he wanted the whole time. The only change I made was to use Provel cheese (for those not from the St. Louis area, a mix of cheddar, swiss, and provolone). Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Great, fast meal using staple pantry items. We loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This is delicious Diner. I modified it a little bit. I added 8 ounces of sliced mushroom, 1 small orange bell pepper, and maybe a little more pasta (fusilli). So I used a whole 28 ounces can of diced tomatoes. Thanks Diner. Made for 123 hit wonders

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This is definitely delicious comfort food and a kid pleaser. My mother-in-law used to make something similar so I knew we'd all love this. I added an extra can of diced tomatoes and some chopped green bell pepper. I ate mine just with some bread and butter. It might sound strange, but my mother-in-law used to serve it over mashed potatoes and that's how the rest of my family ate theirs tonight. Thanks for posting! Congrats on your football playoff pool win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Goulash Recipe from My Mother

    Serving Size: 1 (222 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 613.5
     
    Calories from Fat 247
    40%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 106.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 260.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 37.3 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites