Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gouda Penne With Spinach Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gouda Penne With Spinach

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2011

      WOW, what an awesome recipe! It is sooooo tasty with the spinach and cheese being such a lovely match! I loved how easy this was to prepare and how great it turned out! Mmmm, we all enjoyed it so much! :)
      I made a few slight changes due to what I had on hand: I used two fresh tomatoes instead of the dried ones and simply sauteed them a tad longer to evaporate the juices. Then I only had 1 1/3 cup of milk left, so thats all I used and it turned out creamy and perfect. With the shallots I added in a clove of garlic and next time would double that.
      I also reduced the butter to 1 tbs and used a light version, which was no problem at all.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this superb recipe with us, Lori! Ill certainly make it again!
      Made and reviewed for Potluck Tag Game January 2011 and the Warm me up Event in the Diabetic Forum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful! Not only did I love it last night, it was even better today for my lunch! Instead of butter, I used some olive oil in which I had previously marinated garlic and chillies, which added a lovely little tang to this dish, and because I had cooked spaghetti in the fridge, I chose to chop it up and use instead of penne, and I'm glad to say that it worked well. I subbed one cup of cream for one of the cups of milk, calories, who needs 'em, ha ha!! Thank you for a very indulgent pasta dish that I enjoyed immensely!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      A very tasty dish. I'm not overly fond of sun-dried tomatoes, so I omitted those and in step four, sauteed a diced red pepper, and two cloves of chopped garlic with the shallots. I also added some cumin in step nine. I used low-fat milk. The blend of flavours was great. Thank you for sharing this recipe, LARavenscroft. Made for the Aussie Forum's MAKE MY RECIPE.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Aussie Swap19: Yum - a flavorful and filling pasta!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      This was loved by all who ate it. I made this while friends were visiting from out of state and I needed a vegetarian dinner. Served with a salad and some crusty bread. Fantastic. My guests went back for seconds!! All the flavors mesh so well! Thanks for a wonderful change to the normal mac and cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This is wonderful! Made as written. Thanks, LARavenscroft! Made for I Recommend tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      5 Star - Yum! I ate this for dinner tonight so I cut the serving size to one. I thought 1 1/3 of penne pasta may have been a small serving but it wasn't. The flavour of the sauce was rich and creamy and it had the right amount of spinach very filling. Thank you RSC #11 Chef

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      5 stars . You created a great recipe. Good luck to you in RSC! I used corkscrew noodles and that worked really good. I impressed a friend with this dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      5 stars. Absolutely decedent! The flavour here is just incredible. I was surprised at how spinach-y this was but that really shows its spinach dip like quality. I really loved this. A must make recipe. Reviewed for RSC #11.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      5 stars! We enjoyed this as a side dish. I used whole wheat penne. The gouda gave it a nice cheesy flavor. We only got 4 servings out of it -- I guess it was that good! I might double the sundried tomato next time, because we love them. Made and reviewed for RSC#11.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      I halved the recipe and had a nice dinner! I used rice milk and red onions instead of shallots. Thanks Lori!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This was very tasty. I like using Gouda cheese in "mac & cheese". I used whole wheat penne and a mixture of regular & aged gouda. I also used fresh baby spinach - chopped and cooked in the microwave for 3 minutes, although frozen chopped would be fine too. I think I would double the tomatoes next time. I would make this again, although my dh did ask where's the meat! oh well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      My 11yo son said, "the tomatoes make it perfect, and this is awesome!" It was very good. My husband was impressed. (And he often gets a little "where's the meat?!" if there isn't any.) I will definitely make this again and probably try at least double the amount of tomatoes next time. This dish is company-good! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gouda Penne With Spinach

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 389.7
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    42%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 63.0 mg
    21%
    Sodium 666.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites