13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW, what an awesome recipe! It is sooooo tasty with the spinach and cheese being such a lovely match! I loved how easy this was to prepare and how great it turned out! Mmmm, we all enjoyed it so much! :)
I made a few slight changes due to what I had on hand: I used two fresh tomatoes instead of the dried ones and simply sauteed them a tad longer to evaporate the juices. Then I only had 1 1/3 cup of milk left, so thats all I used and it turned out creamy and perfect. With the shallots I added in a clove of garlic and next time would double that.
I also reduced the butter to 1 tbs and used a light version, which was no problem at all.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this superb recipe with us, Lori! Ill certainly make it again!
Made and reviewed for Potluck Tag Game January 2011 and the Warm me up Event in the Diabetic Forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 13, 2011

Absolutely wonderful! Not only did I love it last night, it was even better today for my lunch! Instead of butter, I used some olive oil in which I had previously marinated garlic and chillies, which added a lovely little tang to this dish, and because I had cooked spaghetti in the fridge, I chose to chop it up and use instead of penne, and I'm glad to say that it worked well. I subbed one cup of cream for one of the cups of milk, calories, who needs 'em, ha ha!! Thank you for a very indulgent pasta dish that I enjoyed immensely!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth March 02, 2009

A very tasty dish. I'm not overly fond of sun-dried tomatoes, so I omitted those and in step four, sauteed a diced red pepper, and two cloves of chopped garlic with the shallots. I also added some cumin in step nine. I used low-fat milk. The blend of flavours was great. Thank you for sharing this recipe, LARavenscroft. Made for the Aussie Forum's MAKE MY RECIPE.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder October 20, 2008

Aussie Swap19: Yum - a flavorful and filling pasta!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose August 20, 2008

This was loved by all who ate it. I made this while friends were visiting from out of state and I needed a vegetarian dinner. Served with a salad and some crusty bread. Fantastic. My guests went back for seconds!! All the flavors mesh so well! Thanks for a wonderful change to the normal mac and cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 May 29, 2008

This is wonderful! Made as written. Thanks, LARavenscroft! Made for I Recommend tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees March 24, 2008

5 Star - Yum! I ate this for dinner tonight so I cut the serving size to one. I thought 1 1/3 of penne pasta may have been a small serving but it wasn't. The flavour of the sauce was rich and creamy and it had the right amount of spinach very filling. Thank you RSC #11 Chef

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer February 24, 2008

5 stars . You created a great recipe. Good luck to you in RSC! I used corkscrew noodles and that worked really good. I impressed a friend with this dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noreaster February 23, 2008

5 stars. Absolutely decedent! The flavour here is just incredible. I was surprised at how spinach-y this was but that really shows its spinach dip like quality. I really loved this. A must make recipe. Reviewed for RSC #11.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE February 23, 2008

5 stars! We enjoyed this as a side dish. I used whole wheat penne. The gouda gave it a nice cheesy flavor. We only got 4 servings out of it -- I guess it was that good! I might double the sundried tomato next time, because we love them. Made and reviewed for RSC#11.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ILuvRecipes February 23, 2008
Gouda Penne With Spinach