Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gorgeous Little Butterfly Cakes or Fairy Cakes! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gorgeous Little Butterfly Cakes or Fairy Cakes!

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2012

      For French Tart and also the person who made the adorable little white cake with sparkling sugar on top. I was so enchanted with that little white cake that I bought and rounded up what I need to make some like it (hopefully). But I wanted to ask you what those sugar circles are on top of your butterfly cakes, the short cupcakes with the raspberry-colored runny frosting with what looks like sugar crystal circles of lavendar and white. Did you make them or are they are some specialty item you bought? I fear you posted so long ago you won't see this now, but thank you for posting what you did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      I made this with my young nieces and it was so fun!!! Delicious too. We used a teeny tiny uptake pan (literally the Itty Bitty Baking Kit) cooked at 350 F for 10 minutes. Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      Lovely and light little cakes. I halved the recipe and used two 3 inch cake pans and split each one in half horizontally to make 2 adorable little layer cakes. As they are for a friend on her 21st birthday I added rum along with the vanilla both in the cakes and in the frosting, then dusted them with sugar. I had intended on topping them with sliced strawberries before sugaring them, however my DH seems to have eaten an entire pint of berries since yesterday...Thank you, French Tart, for yet another delightful recipe. -Kari

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      These remind me if when I was a child, but my mother would put a dollop of strawberry jam in the hole cut in the top, and covered it with vanilla whipped cream. I now make it myself but for variety put a spoonful of nutella instead sometimes. I have never tried it with buttercream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Ah memories, these little buns were the first things that my big sis and I made way back when we were little girls. My mum was a wonderful baker, and we baked on Sundays for tea time. I still have my Be-Ro book all the pages are dirty and torn but I can't bear to throw it out. I made them to the recipe and they look just like my mum had made them so soft snd light. Thank you for the memories and the recipe. Made for afternoon tea 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      this will be awesome for the party i am hosting !!!!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Reminds me of growing up in England.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      These were so wonderful! All I had on had were muffin pans, so I made them a little larger and used strawberry halves as the "wings". They still turned out great, and so beautiful! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      These little cakes were soooo goood!!! Loved them! My daughter said she would make them for me on my birthday. yum yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      My friend and I made these cos we made the candied angelica this chef had posted. We made them with vanilla cream and used the angelica for leaves with cherries for flowers. Good recipe and these cakes are going to a fair to be sold. Very pretty, we want to try the rose petals next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      This is a recipe from my childhood - these are very popular in Britain. I just want to say thank you to the subscriber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Wonderful, just wonderful, these decadent little gems are sooo good. We really enjoyed these little cakes, dusted with icing sugar, vanilla buttercreme icing and colored crystal sugar. I used white & dark pure vanilla essence for the flavouring. I will most definitely double the recipe next time I make these, there just weren't enough...(15). Thanks once again FT, for sharing another winner...Kudos...Kato

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      These taste as good as I remember from my childhood in the 1970's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Perfect little 'butterfly' cakes. Wonderful texture and taste. I used butter and made my own caster (superfine) sugar by whizzing regular sugar in my food processor. Couldn't find free range eggs so I used Omega eggs. Added a dash of lemon extract for flavoring, dusted the 'wings' with sifted icing sugar, and garnished with lemon zest. Delicious. Everyone loved them. Will definitely make these again. I used to make 'butterfly' cupcakes using cake mixes for the batter with lemon pie filling instead of icing. One time I made chocolate 'butterfly' cupcakes and used those individual prepared chocolate puddings for the filling, and dusted the 'wings' with sifted icing sugar and cocoa. My grandchildren loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gorgeous Little Butterfly Cakes or Fairy Cakes!

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.8
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    49%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 57.7 mg
    19%
    Sodium 112.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 18.7 g
    75%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites