27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This has a very strong tomato taste to it. I was craving the Indian food of Britain, and this doesn't taste anything like what I was hoping for. It was still good, which is why it got 3 stars instead of 1, but it wasn't what I was craving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moose_kristi October 10, 2010

This is really amazing! So easy to put together and the flavours are just fantastic. Do not omit the yoghurt at the end; it adds a nice creaminess to the dish. I used one seeded jalapeno pepper and the dish was quite hot (which is just fine by us, but the kids got some sandwiches instead :)) I did not have curry leaves but did not miss them. We will make this recipe again for sure. Served with basmati rice cooked in chicken broth with a bit of saffron threads. Thanks for sharing! Made for PRMR

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini May 05, 2010

Marvellous, made for just DH and I and I note that he has hogged the leftovers for HIS lunch, grrr!! I made it with prawns, adding them to the sauce and allowing to simmer gently until they were just cooked. An aromatic curry that complements rather than overwhelmed, I agree with Moor Driver that the sauce is divine all by itself! Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe, Noo, a new favourite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth January 07, 2009

Yummy, but you should count on that "tomatoey" taste. I like it this way, but still, I'm gonna try to balance amount of choped tomatoes and tom. puree next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lukas cz July 02, 2013

I love Indian food, but am not that huge of a fan of British-Indian food... but this was very good. It has a nice depth of flavor and was really spicy, although I used a minced habanero pepper in it. I also left out the curry leaves, but would like to try the recipe again if I can ever find them at the store. Instead of rice, I served this over your Bombay fried potatoes, and the dishes paired perfectly together! [Made & Reviewed for PRMR]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer June 24, 2013

I was looking for a sauce recipe to make paneer tikka masala, and I used this recipe for it. It had a great flavor. I did not add the yogurt since I was not looking for a creamy sauce. Blended with my immersion blender before adding my browned paneer cubes and simmering. Will definitely make again- will try it with the chicken or maybe some shrimp. It was great with the paneer! Thanks Noo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzTheQ October 08, 2011

I really thoroughly enjoyed this dish. Of course, I made some changes: I omitted the chicken (I'm a vegetarian) and instead used tofu. I also didn't bother with all the food processing, so just fried the onions/garlic/ginger/chilli and then added the ingredients for the sauce and just simmered with the tofu while waiting for the rice to cook. I found it to be absolutely delicious! It had a strong tomato taste, but I could also taste the spices which was good. Will definitely be making again in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Rochelle, NZ July 11, 2011

This was awesome! I've been craving Indian food, and this hit the spot. I substituted curry powder for the turmeric and thighs for the breasts, and omitted curry leaves and coriander, seeing I didn't have those ingredients. Yum, yum, yum! I will be making this again :] //EDIT// I usually make this with 28 ounces of stewed chopped tomatoes; however, I was a can short this time. In order to make up for the vegetable to chicken ratio, I added a cup of butternut squash puree and it took this dish to another level! I think I will be making it with this extra ingredient from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny June 27, 2010

We did not like this at all. It tasted too tomatoey. We will not make again. sorry, I hate to give a bad review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef rmshill June 25, 2010

This was really good, but I kept thinking it was missing an element...and then I realized that I had forgot the yogurt and the cilantro!!! And I am obsessed with cilantro! I will definitely make this again now that I see and cringe at my grave oversight :) I did use fresh curry leaves because that's what they had in stock at the Indian grocer. Delicious, thanks for putting this one up Noo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 26, 2010
Gordon Ramsay's Tikka Masala