Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gordon Ramsay's Tikka Masala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gordon Ramsay's Tikka Masala

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2010

      This has a very strong tomato taste to it. I was craving the Indian food of Britain, and this doesn't taste anything like what I was hoping for. It was still good, which is why it got 3 stars instead of 1, but it wasn't what I was craving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This is really amazing! So easy to put together and the flavours are just fantastic. Do not omit the yoghurt at the end; it adds a nice creaminess to the dish. I used one seeded jalapeno pepper and the dish was quite hot (which is just fine by us, but the kids got some sandwiches instead :)) I did not have curry leaves but did not miss them. We will make this recipe again for sure. Served with basmati rice cooked in chicken broth with a bit of saffron threads. Thanks for sharing! Made for PRMR

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Marvellous, made for just DH and I and I note that he has hogged the leftovers for HIS lunch, grrr!! I made it with prawns, adding them to the sauce and allowing to simmer gently until they were just cooked. An aromatic curry that complements rather than overwhelmed, I agree with Moor Driver that the sauce is divine all by itself! Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe, Noo, a new favourite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      Yummy, but you should count on that "tomatoey" taste. I like it this way, but still, I'm gonna try to balance amount of choped tomatoes and tom. puree next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      I love Indian food, but am not that huge of a fan of British-Indian food... but this was very good. It has a nice depth of flavor and was really spicy, although I used a minced habanero pepper in it. I also left out the curry leaves, but would like to try the recipe again if I can ever find them at the store. Instead of rice, I served this over your Bombay fried potatoes, and the dishes paired perfectly together! [Made & Reviewed for PRMR]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      I was looking for a sauce recipe to make paneer tikka masala, and I used this recipe for it. It had a great flavor. I did not add the yogurt since I was not looking for a creamy sauce. Blended with my immersion blender before adding my browned paneer cubes and simmering. Will definitely make again- will try it with the chicken or maybe some shrimp. It was great with the paneer! Thanks Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      I really thoroughly enjoyed this dish. Of course, I made some changes: I omitted the chicken (I'm a vegetarian) and instead used tofu. I also didn't bother with all the food processing, so just fried the onions/garlic/ginger/chilli and then added the ingredients for the sauce and just simmered with the tofu while waiting for the rice to cook. I found it to be absolutely delicious! It had a strong tomato taste, but I could also taste the spices which was good. Will definitely be making again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      This was awesome! I've been craving Indian food, and this hit the spot. I substituted curry powder for the turmeric and thighs for the breasts, and omitted curry leaves and coriander, seeing I didn't have those ingredients. Yum, yum, yum! I will be making this again :] //EDIT// I usually make this with 28 ounces of stewed chopped tomatoes; however, I was a can short this time. In order to make up for the vegetable to chicken ratio, I added a cup of butternut squash puree and it took this dish to another level! I think I will be making it with this extra ingredient from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      We did not like this at all. It tasted too tomatoey. We will not make again. sorry, I hate to give a bad review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      This was really good, but I kept thinking it was missing an element...and then I realized that I had forgot the yogurt and the cilantro!!! And I am obsessed with cilantro! I will definitely make this again now that I see and cringe at my grave oversight :) I did use fresh curry leaves because that's what they had in stock at the Indian grocer. Delicious, thanks for putting this one up Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Oh, Noo, this is such a delicious dish - I'm so glad you posted it! I made it exactly as posted, with one exception - as I'm a vegetarian, I used TVP cutlets instead of chicken, and let it marinate in the sauce for a while before serving (overnight, actually). The flavours are incredible! I used three green chilies, and will bump it up to six next time, spice freak that I am. This is a definate new favourite! Thanks so much! Made for PRMR Tag. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      We enjoyed this a lot! I didn't use the green chilies because I didn't have any on hand. I will be making this again. Made for please review my recipe tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      This is a wonderful recipe.. I will be making a lot in the future ..Thank you!! Noo for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Tastes good, very easy to make and very cheap too. Ideal for small children!! I add a lot more veggies and tha puree them into the sauce. I don't think it tastes 'fantastic' so no 5 stars but it is good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      I've made countless tikka masala recipes over the years, trying to find a decent one that tastes like something from home. This is brilliant. Thanks for posting, you've made this pregnant woman happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Me and my girlfriend made this dish a week ago, and we loved it, It was so good we made it again 3 days later, but last time we cut down on the chopped tomatoes, and we tried it with catfish and prawns instead of chicken. I think this Tikka goes with both chicken and seafood. The best thing about it is that its even better the day after, if you got leftovers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      i've had better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

    • on March 20, 2009

    • on February 17, 2009

      This was really delicious despite the fact that I inadvertently butchered it. I didn't read the directions before I started making it (at least not far enough through), so I couldn't puree the sauce because I cracked my blender. Couldn't find curry leaves anywhere so I left them out, and the "soy" yogurt we have here (milk allergy) has milk in it so I left that out as well. This is the first of Gordon's recipes I've tried...Must find more! Thanks for posting Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gordon Ramsay's Tikka Masala

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.8
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    40%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 94.7 mg
    31%
    Sodium 113.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 32.5 g
    65%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh ginger

    dried curry leaves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes