Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gordon Ramsay's Malaysian Chicken Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gordon Ramsay's Malaysian Chicken Curry

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2013

      I'm sorry but I find Gordon's Malaysian chicken curry is not very Malaysian at all. I'm Malaysian and I've tried various styles of chicken curries in Malaysia. Please take note that we never ever use soy sauce, fish sauce and pepper in our curries! We also don't normally use fresh chillies to spice the curry. Instead, we use either dried chillies or chilli powder. We use fresh chillies mainly for garnishing. The Malays usually use curry powder in their curries even though some, esp the Indians prefer to make their own masala. And where are the curry leaves, the essential ingredients in Malaysian chicken curries? We don't usually use kaffir lime leaves in curries too, unless we make Malaysian nyonya chicken curry, rendang and asam pedas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      This is fantastic!! I used to make it a lot but lost my printed recipe for it! Thanks for posting!! I usually add a couple less chillies as I find it a little spicy depending on what chillies I buy sometimes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Made this last night and was delighted with the result. Beautifully aromatic and fragrant with just the right amount of heat. I also parboiled some potatoes and added them half way through the cooking process. I also squeezed some fresh lime juice at the end for some extra zing. Will definately make again. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Lovely, Lovely Lovely! And I do not even like curry... Well I didn't... We went on a holiday for a week and I brought back 40 plus new spices as my gift to myself... to be honest I don't know what half of them are, I like a challenge, so looked up kaffir leaves on my beloved Recipezaar and voila! a new recipe to try out! This was so tasty, I had to use chicken breast as that is what I had defrosted and it was so succulent, it did cook a bit quicker than thighs would have so next time I will thicken the sauce a bit with corn starch. I served it with a Moroccan bean dish I made and it's mildness paired well with the curry. I love Gordon Ramsay's recipes and will use this again. Thank you for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Oh this was soooooo good. Made it about a month ago and as usual forgot to review it. Nicely balanced - fresh produce - will certainly make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! All fresh ingredients wizzed together to make the spice paste. Intense flavours and curry heat can be varied by lessening the chillies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Oh my goodness this is fabulous. Outstanding and deserves more than 5 stars. Its a subtle curry with beautiful flavors. i did cut the heat in half bc i only had thai birds eye and they are very hot. Did the paste in my spice grinder, it tastes like it took hours of work but what a snap to put together. Made for Asia forum tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Tried this recipe and it definitely was not Malaysian. It was alright but I will probably just stick to curry pastes when I make my curries in the future. I've been using the Dollee curry pastes and it hasn't disappointed me. It is a lot quicker to prepare as well! Cooked it once for my flatmates and received compliments all round the table. I don't think I'll be making my curries from scratch anymore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      Definitely not Malaysian. Very inaccurate to call it so. Closer to Thai.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      I have been tempted to make a Thai Green curry for years and never had the courage - so glad I tried it though! First attempt was gorgeous even though I had to buy a green curry paste as I had no mortar & pestle to ground spices fresh. Second was even more incredible with really vibrant flavours - huge difference in using fresh ingredients as opposed to a ready made paste for curry sauce. I would highly recommend the dish to anyone. I added a few petite pois peas as they always seem to come in dishes I order in Thai restaurants and they looked cute & tasted lovely. Definitely a recipe I am going to stick to and cook weekly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      This is not a quick meal but is worth the effort. I felt it tasted more like a Thai dish than a Malaysian but I am not expert. That is just the impression I got. I loved this dish and it had the complex flavours that I previously only experienced when eating in fine restaurants. I will be making this one again for sure. I also used chicken breast like another person mentioned and I skipped the Coriander altogether - I hate that stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Totally delicious! I would cut down on oil a bit, it was rather oily and I did have to remove a small bowl of oil from the surface. Did not have green beans, but I don't think they would contribute much to the taste. It was incredibly aromatic, really a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      That was absolutely, amazingly delicious. I used the same number of chillies but just took out half the seeds and the heat was just right for us, which was a mixture of adults and teenagers. The beans are an unusual addition but work so well in the dish. Fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      I dont normally write reviews, but this recipe was good enough to get me off my 'proverbial' and join this site.
      I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out fantastic. It had a pleasant kick to it that didn't overpower it.
      If you try a taste of the initial ingredients/spices, you may think it will be too hot, but after it has been completely 'assembled' you will find it to be incredibly flavoursome.

      I'm just trying to think of a good excuse to have it again as soon as possible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gordon Ramsay's Malaysian Chicken Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (335 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 416.5
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    59%
    Total Fat 27.7 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 112.5 mg
    37%
    Sodium 942.2 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 27.1 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemongrass

    fresh gingerroot

    kaffir lime leaves

    star anise

    light coconut milk

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes