Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gooey Philadelphia German Butter Cake (Butterkuchen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gooey Philadelphia German Butter Cake (Butterkuchen)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2007

      I grew up in a suburb of Phila. We had a German bakery called Neffles. They made this cake. My friends mom would let us eat the top off of it which was an amazing treat. I made this cake this morning and it's exactly as I remembered it. I made the dough in my bread machine. It was easy to spread it out into a 13x9 glass pan sprayed with Pam. The topping was easy to spread and it only took 20 minutes in my oven. Pure bliss! I want to thank you for the fond memory and a delicious recipe that I know I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      Followed the recipe to the letter and found that maybe my oven was too hot, it was darker then your picture and the sugar made a crisp top and the gooey was not yellow but oh man the gooey was good. I am wondering did I do something wrong I will make this again and lower the temperature.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This cake was wonderful. Just as I remembered it growing up. So easy. It didn't last long at our house. Planning to make another one tonight for breakfast tomorrow. Thanks for bringing this long time favorite back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      I saw this and had to quick go make it. It was like walking down to Halls Bakery on the corner of Franklin Ave. on Sunday morning with my Oma when I visited. Thank you for the memory, now if someone could find a recipe for German potato salad made with honey vinegar I will think I have died and gone to heaven!!! Thank you again, it was wonderful!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      This is really good and pretty easy to boot! I love the rich yeast cake underneath the gooey buttery goodness and crunchy topping. The goo kind of reminds me of melted marshmallow... Mmm...So wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Topping is very sweet and very scrumptious (especially if you ask the kids). I was glad the yeasted cake underneath was much less sweet because the topping was more than enough. Baked it this morning for breakfast. It's all gone. Guess I'll have to make it again. Soon. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      My husband wanted to give this cake more stars and says the gooey part of the cake is awesome.:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      ABSOLUTELY DIVINE! AAA+++ all the way- thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      Easy to make in a busy kitchen! Great with coffee the next day after chilling in the refrigerator (cleaner to eat). Took it 8 x 8 to an Octoberfest and it all went - even though I was worried about the gooey mess in the pan. LOVE that it makes TWO! Co-workers smile :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I really had the hankering for some butter cake so I went searching and searching on here trying to find one that intrigued me, and when I saw that this one was gooey and I saw the photo I was like EEE! I'm making this!! This was my first time cooking with yeast too, so I made sure I followed every instruction perfectly, and it turned out wonderfully. Unfortunately I couldn't slice it though because my topping was waaay too gooey, but that was fine, my partner and I just sat down with spoons and ate it out of the tray LOL. Thank you for a great recipe :) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gooey Philadelphia German Butter Cake (Butterkuchen)

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.4
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    42%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 69.7 mg
    23%
    Sodium 58.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 28.2 g
    113%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes