12 Reviews

I grew up in a suburb of Phila. We had a German bakery called Neffles. They made this cake. My friends mom would let us eat the top off of it which was an amazing treat. I made this cake this morning and it's exactly as I remembered it. I made the dough in my bread machine. It was easy to spread it out into a 13x9 glass pan sprayed with Pam. The topping was easy to spread and it only took 20 minutes in my oven. Pure bliss! I want to thank you for the fond memory and a delicious recipe that I know I will make again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) July 15, 2007

Followed the recipe to the letter and found that maybe my oven was too hot, it was darker then your picture and the sugar made a crisp top and the gooey was not yellow but oh man the gooey was good. I am wondering did I do something wrong I will make this again and lower the temperature.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia January 03, 2007

This cake was wonderful. Just as I remembered it growing up. So easy. It didn't last long at our house. Planning to make another one tonight for breakfast tomorrow. Thanks for bringing this long time favorite back.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kpayton144_5236679 June 01, 2010

I saw this and had to quick go make it. It was like walking down to Halls Bakery on the corner of Franklin Ave. on Sunday morning with my Oma when I visited. Thank you for the memory, now if someone could find a recipe for German potato salad made with honey vinegar I will think I have died and gone to heaven!!! Thank you again, it was wonderful!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae Lin September 19, 2005

This is really good and pretty easy to boot! I love the rich yeast cake underneath the gooey buttery goodness and crunchy topping. The goo kind of reminds me of melted marshmallow... Mmm...So wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs July 29, 2011

Topping is very sweet and very scrumptious (especially if you ask the kids). I was glad the yeasted cake underneath was much less sweet because the topping was more than enough. Baked it this morning for breakfast. It's all gone. Guess I'll have to make it again. Soon. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 24, 2010

My husband wanted to give this cake more stars and says the gooey part of the cake is awesome.:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama February 14, 2006

I am a born and raised Jersey Girl. My husband is a born and raised Philly guy that used to cut out of high school in the 70's to clean Geiger's Bakery out of butter cake. While I am not a fan of butter cake, I was excited to come across this recipe to make for my husband. I made it to the "T" since I have never before baked a butter cake. While he said it tasted "okay", he was disappointed that it was a far cry from what he grew up with. He said this reminds him more of a New York Jewish Deli's interpretation of a true Philly Butter Cake. And I won't taste it. Sorry that I can't give a better review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mel0549 July 06, 2015

ABSOLUTELY DIVINE! AAA+++ all the way- thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne March 31, 2014

Easy to make in a busy kitchen! Great with coffee the next day after chilling in the refrigerator (cleaner to eat). Took it 8 x 8 to an Octoberfest and it all went - even though I was worried about the gooey mess in the pan. LOVE that it makes TWO! Co-workers smile :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
more time momma September 22, 2013
Gooey Philadelphia German Butter Cake (Butterkuchen)