Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gooey Butter Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gooey Butter Cookies

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2011

      We just call these Evil Cookies! I've found I like them better when they cook just a bit longer. I make them larger too. And really, they just ain't right. They ain't right at all. Nothing should be this delicious. My friend says they call to him "Eat me. Eat me" They call to me "Make me. Make me." Don't be surprised if the church down the block starts a Gooey Butter Cookies Anonymous group to support us slaves. Just for today, I'm not going to eat any Butter Cookies... Oh shoot. I just had two for dinner! OK. Maybe tomorrow I won't have any Butter Cookies...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I have been making this recipe for years now. I normally use a golden butter cake mix or red velvet. They are not bad with a spice mix either. A cookie scoop is a great investment for this recipe. Since I make them alone I usually make the balls with the scoop, return to fridge, and just before ready to bake roll them in the powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I have been making these for years. We love them. I tend to cook them close to the 13 minute mark. If not, they get mushy quickly. They are a cookie that is softer than the normal cookie. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      I made these using a vanilla cake mix and honey nut cream cheese - they turned out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      I gave this recipe 5 stars. These were so rich and yummy! Several people really enjoyed them. These were so simple to make and baked up nicely. I used a Butter flavored cake mix when I made these and plan next time to use a chocolate cake mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      These were so good. A soft cookie with a rich taste. I used a yellow butter cake mix. I'm going to try a lemon cake mix next. Mmmmmm......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      Im kinda bummed I was expecting this gooey buttery cookie and instead got a cake cookie. It was easy to make and came out just like the photo. Maybe if I stuffed it with a cream cheese sugar concoction and put it in the middle of the ball I might like it better! :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      I went to the Nashville Farmer's Market and ate a Gooey Butter Cookie...I was determined to come home and find a competing recipe. To my delight, here it is!! This definitely didn't take me over 2 hours to make....I would say it took me not quite ten minutes to mix everything up, 10-15 minutes to roll my cookies (I used a cookie scooper as the dough was too sticky to quite roll) and then two rounds of cookies in the oven for about 15 minute a piece. I cooked them a little longer and browned them slightly. The first one I tried at the recommended time was too soft (or gooey) in the middle and I am weird about texture....at 15 minutes they were perfect for my crowd. Thank you so much for my new favorite cookie recipe!
      EDITED: I went to make this again and realized I forgot the entire chilling part the first time. No wonder it didnt take me very long! I used a cookie scoop (1 tblsp) and so the dough wasn't hard to work with it all. I skipped the step this time too (on purpose) as my daughter was nearing bed time and really wanted a cookie. They turned out great, again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      These cookies are the DEVIL! They are so amazingly good! I baked for 15 minutes and I think that was the perfect amount of time. I got 36 cookies using a medium sized cookie scoop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Everybody, including Santa, loved this cookie!!! Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Great Cookie Recipe! Family really enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      YUMMY!! I used reduced fat cream cheese and they were delicious. So easy to make. Thanks for this great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Very good recipe. I have made these already and forgot to review it. These are my husband's favorite cookies. He requested chocolate gooey butter cookies, so I am making those this evening! :) Thank you for posting an easy, but fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Oh My Gosh.....my family has gone crazy for these cookies. I've already had to make 4 batches in the last 3 weeks. THANK YOU!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      WOW....these cookies are now the family FAVORITE!!!! The recipe has to be doubled to keep this family happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      These are very easy to make. They are very good, but not quite as good as they are at the grocery store bakery. I made a substitution for low fat cream cheese and cake mix make made with spelenda. I also cooked them on parchment paper that way you can roll the entire batch into balls and just swap out the parchment paper on each pan. I would make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      These are good, but not at all what I was expecting given the rave reviews. The batter was fabulous-tasting, but it lost something in the baking. They're only marginally different from making a regular golden butter cake from a mix, and not at all gooey or buttery as I was expecting. They're still going in my holiday trays because I made a double batch, but this one isn't really a keeper for me, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

    • on October 20, 2009

      Anything gooey and buttery has to be good! Quick easy and good. Made for I Recomend game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I've eaten these cookies in St Louis, where they originate from, and I knew I needed a recipe for them. These taste exactly like the originals. Moist, thick, gooey, yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gooey Butter Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (922 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    53%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 28.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 213.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites