45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We just call these Evil Cookies! I've found I like them better when they cook just a bit longer. I make them larger too. And really, they just ain't right. They ain't right at all. Nothing should be this delicious. My friend says they call to him "Eat me. Eat me" They call to me "Make me. Make me." Don't be surprised if the church down the block starts a Gooey Butter Cookies Anonymous group to support us slaves. Just for today, I'm not going to eat any Butter Cookies... Oh shoot. I just had two for dinner! OK. Maybe tomorrow I won't have any Butter Cookies...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NaughtyZute February 15, 2011

I have been making this recipe for years now. I normally use a golden butter cake mix or red velvet. They are not bad with a spice mix either. A cookie scoop is a great investment for this recipe. Since I make them alone I usually make the balls with the scoop, return to fridge, and just before ready to bake roll them in the powdered sugar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trillet December 23, 2008

I have been making these for years. We love them. I tend to cook them close to the 13 minute mark. If not, they get mushy quickly. They are a cookie that is softer than the normal cookie. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz December 24, 2008

I made these using a vanilla cake mix and honey nut cream cheese - they turned out wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Charly* March 13, 2008

I gave this recipe 5 stars. These were so rich and yummy! Several people really enjoyed them. These were so simple to make and baked up nicely. I used a Butter flavored cake mix when I made these and plan next time to use a chocolate cake mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut November 27, 2012

These were so good. A soft cookie with a rich taste. I used a yellow butter cake mix. I'm going to try a lemon cake mix next. Mmmmmm......

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetp October 25, 2012

Im kinda bummed I was expecting this gooey buttery cookie and instead got a cake cookie. It was easy to make and came out just like the photo. Maybe if I stuffed it with a cream cheese sugar concoction and put it in the middle of the ball I might like it better! :).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jayvh72 July 09, 2012

I went to the Nashville Farmer's Market and ate a Gooey Butter Cookie...I was determined to come home and find a competing recipe. To my delight, here it is!! This definitely didn't take me over 2 hours to make....I would say it took me not quite ten minutes to mix everything up, 10-15 minutes to roll my cookies (I used a cookie scooper as the dough was too sticky to quite roll) and then two rounds of cookies in the oven for about 15 minute a piece. I cooked them a little longer and browned them slightly. The first one I tried at the recommended time was too soft (or gooey) in the middle and I am weird about texture....at 15 minutes they were perfect for my crowd. Thank you so much for my new favorite cookie recipe!
EDITED: I went to make this again and realized I forgot the entire chilling part the first time. No wonder it didnt take me very long! I used a cookie scoop (1 tblsp) and so the dough wasn't hard to work with it all. I skipped the step this time too (on purpose) as my daughter was nearing bed time and really wanted a cookie. They turned out great, again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa January 28, 2012

These cookies are the DEVIL! They are so amazingly good! I baked for 15 minutes and I think that was the perfect amount of time. I got 36 cookies using a medium sized cookie scoop.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monicasheree December 20, 2011

Everybody, including Santa, loved this cookie!!! Thanks for a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Pepper Freak December 26, 2010
Gooey Butter Cookies